• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Screen Flickering

Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.49/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#51
Well its definitely not a compatibility issue since it never occurred previously. So either 1, 2 or all 3 things can be at fault. 1.Monitor , 2. GPU , 3. Cable.

I suggest you first try a different cable and then check the others. Best of luck. :)
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#52
I don't think that problem is mobo, PSU or something else. That card is too hot and I have too many problems. On new mobo and my old mobo screen is flickering.
Monitor, cable? I running 120Hz on Intel HD 3000 over then 10 hours and there is no problem on the same cable and monitor.

I try later with DVI-SL.

Confirm Is this 2.1 compliant?
I think, yes.

Did the vga card have this flickering issue when you first got it; If Not when did it start and what had happend [was it over clocked]
No. But this issue began after few months. And on the DVI-DL and 120Hz I always have a problems.

And if the problem is in the heating VRM and when I change thermal pads problem will be fixed? Or in this case my card is permanently damaged?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#53
Hi

Or in this case my card is permanently damaged?
This is possible the card is damaged; temp at 58 is no where near thermal max for the VRM; but will not know untill thermal pads are replaced [Tip: when replacing the thermal pads for the VRM's in both positions; change the pads on the memory at the same time]*Welcome to fault finding

VRM General rule of thumb
Keep these around 70~74 for everyday use and gaming
Keep these under 70~74 for everyday use using H2o water block, third partie cooling
Between 74~80 for Timed Benchmark; returning core and mem to lower clocks once finished
Between 80~90 Short Benchmark with high core and mem clocks using third partie cooling
Danger 90~100 Not for the faint harted and should be ringing alarm bells - will shorten the expected life span of the product, if used for everyday use
Possible permanent damage/degrading of the VRM or failure 100~120 [this is why thermal throttling was bought in to protect the end user from themselves]

I don't think that problem is mobo, PSU or something else. That card is too hot and I have too many problems
I understand your frustration; however the reason I have asked to check the motherboard slot and the vga card pcie blades is to rule *every possibility out. If you do not follow this format to the letter and keep deciding what is best way, it is pointless trying to assist further.
Example: This is how to trace a fault by the book

But this issue began after few months.
When *testing the drivers use a driver from a few months back when everything was working well.

Dose the vga card have a dual bios function? [if yes] move switch to position #2 while testing

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#54
Yes dual bios. I flash second.
Ok check PCIe slot when I back home.

And my max VRM temp was 109C.
Normally in gaming ~100C.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#55
Yes dual bios. I flash second.
Note: DO NOT Flash the vga card while in switch position #2 [*this is the reserve default bios]

Ok check PCIe slot when I back home.
Thank you

Edit: What application and version number; was used to monitor temps, GPU-Z?

And my max VRM temp was 109C.
how long for ? any idea!

Normally in gaming ~100C.
That is to high; replace the Thermal Pads as soon as you have time
Tripple check the vga Fansink mount If it dose this it needs some love and will require attention

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#56
tintai i dont mean to be harsh but from what it seems the cards has defected from user error.

your vrm temps have been a problem since you had the card and you also flashed the matrix bios. did you buy the card second hand? if so, the person probably knew about this and wanted rid. - my assumption.

and everything i can think of has been said a few times.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#57
Note: DO NOT Flash the vga card while in switch position #2 [*this is the reserve default bios]
I mean "I flashed" but I have a backup and I don't use bios #2.
Bios #1: 6798.15.12.0.4.AS05.U3
Bios #2: 6798.15.12.0.4.AS05.U2
Both bios are originally.

I checked and carefully cleaned PCIe slot but this didn't help.

Edit: What application and version number; was used to monitor temps, GPU-Z?
GPU-Z, AIDA64, HWiNFO64.
Newest.

how long for ? any idea!
How long I have too height temp?
I saw this first time when I tried oc my card and I saw that value of VRM is too hot. 105C when benchmark. It's was ~year after purchase.
But before I play in many games(e.g BF3 - 109C max). But in this time I didn't know about this issue.

That is to high; replace the Thermal Pads as soon as you have time
Tripple check the vga Fansink mount If it dose this it needs some love and will require attention!
I know. I must buy this 1mm and 0.5mm pads and install them.

tintai i dont mean to be harsh but from what it seems the cards has defected from user error.
your vrm temps have been a problem since you had the card and you also flashed the matrix bios
I never flashed to Matrix bios or I don't remember. Also I didn't use second bios. I use only first, original - never flashed.

did you buy the card second hand?
No. I buy it from shop but in the OEM version. Non BOX.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#58
Hi

thank you very much for all the info

I mean "I flashed" but I have a backup and I don't use bios #2.
Bios #1: 6798.15.12.0.4.AS05.U3
Bios #2: 6798.15.12.0.4.AS05.U2
Both bios are originally.
Well done; on keeping backups

I checked and carefully cleaned PCIe slot but this didn't help.
Thanks, I will make a note and tick this off the list of things to be done

I saw this first time when I tried oc my card and I saw that value of VRM is too hot. 105C when benchmark.
Benchmarks tend to push the VRM's to there limit and a temp as high as that in a benchmark would not be an issue as the benchmark is not normaly run over a prolong duration. An ingame benchmark would *under normal conditions not push the card to it's limit; saying that 109 in BF3 is I hope an exception to the rule.
;This said;
I am starting to think that the GPU Core may have been *badly binned wafer and just pumped with extra voltage to get the card stable at 1000Mhz [may have been only 50Mhz away from it true limit]

Question: How high did the core go when overclocking?

At this stage my gut feeling, is the original thermal pads on the vga card *may have been poorly fitted, dryed out and or fansink has an issue with PSB contact for the VRM to run that high in normal use.

Wayforward:
At this time is to get the thermal pads replaced, reply to this post once fitted.

atb

Law-II
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#59
Yes but on benchmark max temp is 105C on 1080MHz core(fans ~70%) and on the Battlefield 3 is ~109C on the stock core(fans auto). Idle(fans auto) ~60C.

This pads will be ok?
Memory
VRM
It's all what I need?

And thanks for your great help. I'm so glad :)
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#60
Native resolution of the monitor is progressive scan yes?
Maybe you have it set to something like 1080i instead of 1080p.
I know that can cause issues.

Try running @ 59 & 60 hz refresh rate.

PS: 105 c is not good.
No matter the system or duration. If you hit 105c something is wrong imo.

gl ^^
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#61
Hi

This pads will be ok?
Memory [No] seller is in china, nonbranded and pre-cut Note: Wrong thickness these need to be 0.5mm
VRM [Yes] this looks fine and Phobya is good brand Note: Wrong thickness these need to be 1.0mm
For thermal pad thikness refer here

Advice
two strips of 120 x 20 x 0.5mm Phobya; two strips of 120 x 20 x 1.0mm Phobya & cut to size
[Note: may not all be required; however if the Fansink dos not make good contact with the VRM's and MEM the 0.5 will be invaluable]

Edit: MX4 thermal paste and or other non-conductive thermal compound for GPU; [Note: non lint based pad or coffee filter to remove old thermal past; work from the outer edge to the middle of the GPU to aviod spreading thermal compound] use pea; or line method when placing MX4
Example:

It's all what I need?
Make sure you have the best tools for the job, ensure you have screwdrivers that fit perfectly in the *screwhead [*stripping would be a disaster]; an antistatic bag to place the vga card on with a box underneath; good light; scissors and or a sharp blade to cut the thermal pad to size; ruler or method to size the pads.

[Note: removing the old pads do these one at a time so you keep track of which is which]

When removing old pads Use a lint free pad or coffee filter to clean any excess residue from the VRM's and MEM modules.

When fitting the new pads; once they are in the correct place fit the Fansink to the card and squeeze it together [Note: place the card between an anit static bag; aviod direct contact with the PSB]
Next: remove the fansink and check the thermal pads for impression/indentations of the VRM's and MEM modules. [if you are happy that the fansink has made good contact; adjust/realine the thermal pads and proceed to fit the fansink] Note: do not over tighten the screws; *do not want to strip a thread.

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
289 (0.13/day)
Likes
23
System Name Game Raver
Processor Core i7 920 OC'd @ 4GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Zalman CNPS12X
Memory Mushkin Blackline 24GB Kit@1200
Video Card(s) 2x Club 3D R9 270Xs, Royal Queen Edition
Storage 2tb Barracuda 14, 1tb Barracuda 11
Display(s) 3x VS238H-P
Case NZXT Phantom 410 /w/ Silverstone FN121P-BL fans
Audio Device(s) AudioEngine D1 DAC via Fiber, connected to an ASUS Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Benchmark Scores UNLIMITED POWA!!!!!!
#62
I had a flickering issue that was minor compared to yours. Found that the ATX cable I used was hindered by an older extension. Switched to a whole cable and it worked.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#63
Try running @ 59 & 60 hz refresh rate.
I try everything with this and nothing worked

two strips of 120 x 20 x 0.5mm Phobya; two strips of 120 x 20 x 1.0mm Phobya
Ah ok. I need all needed tools. Thank you.

I had a flickering issue that was minor compared to yours. Found that the ATX cable I used was hindered by an older extension. Switched to a whole cable and it worked.
I don't understand. What ATX cable has to this?
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#64
Ok, so I change all thermal pads and past on core(originally were all pads).
I carefully clean all PCB and nothing. VRM1 temp is still to height. Now I waiting for flickering ;p

So this problem is not issue with thermal pads. Now everything should be better.

Here is the photo:

What is this marked on red? I should put pads on this chips? @edit: I put pads on this marked chips. I looked bad.

Now the temps are: (idle)
Diode: 37C (I think is same or similar)
VRM1: 63C (same)
VRM2: 26C (~6C better)

And I check temps in BF3.

PS. 27 minutes and I still can't see any flickering. Hm.. I'm still waiting.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#65
nooooo thats vram = video memory


see the line of capicitors and chokes with print on them.

what you have covered in a grey pad, thats vrms! they need thermal pads!


research mosfets on gpu pcb! there are also two more near to where you have highlighted in red, next to the chokes!



z8n8.jpg

that grey pad doesnt seem to be the right one if it was the asus one, hence high vrm temps, most ive seen are white or pink
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#66
I replace all pads.
This big gray I change to 1mm. Others pink I change to 0.5mm.

Ahh sorry. I looked bad. So I change this what I marked too.

And something must wrong with this VRM1. I replace this and VRM2 have better temp then had before.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#67
change them all if you need/want too.

i thought ya was just changing the vram, well change them all. make sure the heatsink and brace is down tight let it burn in for a bit.


see in my pic you want to put pads on the 2 far away from the rest next to the chokes, i believe thats vrm1.

i havent got gpuz installed so cant tell ya and ive forgotten.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#68
I know. I replace all pads and everything is fine.
This gray pad was not good.

VRM1 is next to the VRM2, yes? So now VRM1 is 63C and VRM2 is 26C. And 26C is much better then before.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#70
So there are pads too.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#72
Ok, when I back home I take off heatstick(It's relay easy) and I see again.
Thank you :)

@edit:
I opened it and I check all pads. I added one pad but this change nothing. I can't add more pads.
VRM1 temperature is still the same.

Please tell me how long my card will be live? I must prepare to buy another.

@edit2:
And I have a good news(I thing). Up time 1h, 3m and still no flickering.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#73
Hi

And I have a good news(I thing). Up time 1h, 3m and still no flickering.
Flicker Fixed, well done

Question: What temps are you getting when running BF3? [log temps with GPU-Z] thanks.

nb: had a great time at the BBQ, to much wine to answer all qestions at the moa; will be back online on Sunday

atb

Law-II
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#74
Ok, when I back home I take off heatstick(It's relay easy) and I see again.
Thank you :)

@edit:
I opened it and I check all pads. I added one pad but this change nothing. I can't add more pads.
VRM1 temperature is still the same.

Please tell me how long my card will be live? I must prepare to buy another.

@edit2:
And I have a good news(I thing). Up time 1h, 3m and still no flickering.
vrm1 sounds fishy!

but if the flickering has gone then its good, just up the fan profile/dont overclock to keep that vrm temp down.

maybe the baseplate isnt connecting properly to the vrm to make good contact for heat exchange, who knows!

come to think of it, the flickering could of been something totally unrelated, bad gold finger contact, dirt etc etc

and LAWII is too drunk?! :toast:
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#75
Flicker Fixed, well done
For now. Will see. Thanks.

Question: What temps are you getting when running BF3? [log temps with GPU-Z] thanks.
I check in AIDA64 and on my G19 monitor.
GPU Diode: 72C max (same or similar)
VRM1: 102C max (better. before was 109C max)
VRM2: 26C :)eek:)

maybe the baseplate isnt connecting properly to the vrm to make good contact for heat exchange, who knows!
Perhaps. I saw this chip from VRM1 don't touch any radiator. Pad on this chip touch only piece of baseplate. And this second chip(to the right on d1nky screen) don't touch any radiator.

nb: had a great time at the BBQ, to much wine to answer all qestions at the moa; will be back online on Sunday
:toast: