• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Screen goes dark... fan goes nuts.

yuntrips

New Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2009
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Under Construction
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965 Black Edition 3.4GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev 2 CPU Cooler; Case Fans: 2 x120 F; 1x120 R; 1x120 S; 1x200 T
Memory G.Skill 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1600 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD5850
Storage WD Caviar Black 500GB (2) 7200RPM RAID 0; WD Caviar Blue 320Gb 7200RPM Backup
Display(s) Dell E228WFP 22" (1680X1050)
Case Antec 902
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06: 18145 (all stock) 3DMark Vantage: P12616 (all stock)
#1
I'm posting this here because I don't know if it's a problem with my VGA, or something else but it's annoying and a bit alarming:

Occasionally (like maybe somewhere between once every one to three days), my screen goes dark like the system was going into sleep mode and the fan on my GPU revs up to full speed and will not stop. I cannot recover from the display loss with keystrokes or mouse movements, so the whole system ends up needing to be rebooted.

I worry because I leave my computer on all the time and it happened today while I was not home... so who knows how long that fan was screaming. Don't want to damage anything.

I can't isolate any type of activity that causes it to happen.. I can say that each time it's happened when I was around, I could hear a brief click on my UPS (like a momentary power loss), but my old system never had a problem with that sort of thing. Although I do think the UPS is probably woefully underpowered for my new setup (350volt-amps, ~210 watts capacity... ugh).

I'm not happy about the prospect of replacing things like the UPS/PSU, etc. without having a clue what the problem is.

Anyone seen this sort of thing?

See the drop down for my system specs.

Thanks
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
861 (0.28/day)
Likes
117
Location
Manteca, Ca
System Name Rebirth
Processor Intel i5 2500k @4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Megahalem 120x25 x2 GT AP-15 Push/Pull
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X + MSI HD7950 TF3
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 120 SSD + Seagate 7200.12 1TB + 500gig WD + 3TB Hitachi
Display(s) X-Star Glossy DP2710
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar STX
Power Supply Antec CP-850
Software Microsoft Windows 8 Pro x64
#2
Get a better Powersupply my bet is on that, The Card dosent have the power so it turns off then turns back on thats why the fan goes highspeed, this is what happens on the MSI GD70 board when something on it is under powered it will do that to the video card. I know this because i have the same board and it happens to me when i try to overclock and it dosent pass POST.
 

Flyordie

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
1,870 (0.55/day)
Likes
246
System Name Shay's Revenge
Processor Phenom II X2 550 @ 4,012Mhz 1.488V
Motherboard DFI LANParty 790GX-M2RS
Cooling ThermalTake V1 "Black Widow"
Memory 2x2GB OCZ Reapers 4-4-4-12-1T @ 1.8V
Video Card(s) BBA HD5770 Crossfire @ 900Mhz Core 5.6Gbps VRAM
Storage 3x SATA (320GB/ 160GB/160GB Seagates)
Display(s) Westinghouse L1916HW 1680x1050 VGA/DVI/HDCP
Case ThermalTake Element V
Audio Device(s) RealTek Onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-550HT Active PFC F3 80PLUS Bronze
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 w/ SQL Hack
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 13,200 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=495939
#3
Thats not his PSU... 750TX Corsair is very good.

Anywho- It might be your PCIe frequency, check that it is running async of your FSB (if OC'd).
--
EDIT-
If its not OC'd, yeah, check that its not the UPS by removing it from the circuit. If it still drops like that, check the card.
 

mdsx1950

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2009
Messages
2,064 (0.69/day)
Likes
408
Location
In a gaming world :D
System Name Knight-X
Processor Intel Core i7-980X [4.2Ghz]
Motherboard ASUS P6T7 WS
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro H70 + 2x CM 2000RPM 120mm LED Fans
Memory Corsair DOMINATOR-GT 12GB (6 x 2GB) DDR3 2000MHz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon HD6970 2GB CrossFire [PhysX - EVGA GTX260(216SP) 896MB]
Storage 2x Corsair Perf. 512GB | OCZ Colossus 1TB | 2xOCZ Agilities 120GB SSDs
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp™ 3008WFP [2560x1600]
Case Cooler Master HAF-X + NZXT Temp LCD
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D2X | ONKYO HTS9100THX 7.1
Power Supply Silverstone ST1500 1500W [80 PLUS Silver]
Software Windows 7 Ultimate X64 (Build 7600)
Benchmark Scores Heaven 2.0 with Extreme Tessellation at 1080p - 96FPS
#4
I'm posting this here because I don't know if it's a problem with my VGA, or something else but it's annoying and a bit alarming:

Occasionally (like maybe somewhere between once every one to three days), my screen goes dark like the system was going into sleep mode and the fan on my GPU revs up to full speed and will not stop. I cannot recover from the display loss with keystrokes or mouse movements, so the whole system ends up needing to be rebooted.

I worry because I leave my computer on all the time and it happened today while I was not home... so who knows how long that fan was screaming. Don't want to damage anything.

I can't isolate any type of activity that causes it to happen.. I can say that each time it's happened when I was around, I could hear a brief click on my UPS (like a momentary power loss), but my old system never had a problem with that sort of thing. Although I do think the UPS is probably woefully underpowered for my new setup (350volt-amps, ~210 watts capacity... ugh).

I'm not happy about the prospect of replacing things like the UPS/PSU, etc. without having a clue what the problem is.

Anyone seen this sort of thing?

See the drop down for my system specs.

Thanks
Hey ive had your same problem with my x1950GT. The fan goes to 100% speed and nothing gets displayed on screen. Well for me it was a loose connection with the motherboard...

So just remove the card and fix it again.. and see that its tightly fixed. Im not sure whether it will work for you.. But it did work for me. :cool:

Hope you get your card working again :)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,692
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#5
i'd say test without the UPS - sounds like you could be overloading it.
 

yuntrips

New Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2009
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Under Construction
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965 Black Edition 3.4GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev 2 CPU Cooler; Case Fans: 2 x120 F; 1x120 R; 1x120 S; 1x200 T
Memory G.Skill 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1600 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD5850
Storage WD Caviar Black 500GB (2) 7200RPM RAID 0; WD Caviar Blue 320Gb 7200RPM Backup
Display(s) Dell E228WFP 22" (1680X1050)
Case Antec 902
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06: 18145 (all stock) 3DMark Vantage: P12616 (all stock)
#6
i'd say test without the UPS - sounds like you could be overloading it.
I did that and it's been running for several days now, problem-free. This UPS has been a little twitchy for the last several months. It's a 350VA unit which worked well for all my other (less powerful) setups, but it looks like my current build has taxed it far beyond its capacity, and the system reacts badly if there are any power interruptions. It probably needs a new battery, but if I'm going to spend $30-40 on one of those, I may as well upgrade the whole unit.

Thanks to all for responses and advice.