• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Screen/PC dying from time to time

Joined
Jun 10, 2013
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
So I've had this problem for a while. From time to time, my monitor goes pitch black. I can hear stuff going on in the background, but im not able to get a signal from my graphics card. Only way i can fix that is to get my PC into sleep mode using my keyboard, and when i get it back up, scren is fine. Other than that someties it just freezes; screen is black and you can hear sound stuttering. Nothing i can do then but force restart. So i thought the problem is graphics card. But i got a new one which worked fine for about a month when problems appeared again. Both cards are low end so problems could be with the cards (first card fos Nvidia and the other one is ATI). But i was just wondering is it possible that something else is causing the problems ? I'm running a bunch of tests atm. Any clue ??
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,202 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,390
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#2
give your full system configuration.

i suspect that the power supply is too weak.

have you checked for loose connections?
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#3
i suspect that the power supply is too weak.
This. Sporadic blackscreen with stuttering sound means the power jumped out a little mid load (sounds like a CD skipping).
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2013
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#4
guys i think you're right, it's only a 450 W PS , and the test i just ran indicated the same problem. I never suspected the PS to be the problem. Even tho 450 W should be enough for the current setup, it's an old piece which i was planning to replace. ( "skipping CD sound" that describes it perfectly :)) ). Anyways , checking the cords again and then i'm on my way to the store, thank you guys ! You just saved alot of my nerves :)
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#5
guys i think you're right, it's only a 450 W PS , and the test i just ran indicated the same problem. I never suspected the PS to be the problem. Even tho 450 W should be enough for the current setup, it's an old piece which i was planning to replace. ( "skipping CD sound" that describes it perfectly :)) ). Anyways , checking the cords again and then i'm on my way to the store, thank you guys ! You just saved alot of my nerves :)
Most welcome! I can only relate because of the same issue.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2013
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Hellbourne, Australia
System Name Wardz FX
Processor AMD FX-8320 8core 3.5ghz
Motherboard Asus M5A78L-M-LX-USB3
Cooling COOLERMASTER V8
Memory 8gb DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) nVidea 8600GTS
Storage 1TB Seagate 7200rpm, 2tb WD 7200rpm
Display(s) TV/Projector
Case Coolermaster
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Coolermaster 600w silent pro
Software Win7/Win8 64bit dual boot
#6
In some cases (fairly rare) when the pc tries to Hibernate STR stuffs up and can hang.. ive had this issue before, but yeah i agree id check PSU first
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#7
Post your System Specs so we can see what you have
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2013
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#8
OS : Win 8 64-bit
4 Gb RAM
MB: EP35-DS3
GPU : Ati Radeon HD 5670
CPU : Core 2 Duo E8200 2.66 Ghz
PSU 450 W Chieftec

I can post more detailed stuff if you guys would like.

I don't know if it's the main reason, but this could be the main problem. It seems my electrical grid has a lot of voltage sugs ( potential drops ) which used to affect my old router to restart. I'm not sure if it can cause problems with my PSU. Atm i have no overvoltage protection on my outlet. I'll go buy one in about an hour and see how that works. The more i think of it, it seems liek a logical thing to do.

PSU unit is a bit old, but it should have enough power to sustain everything, seeing as HD 5670 takes only about 60 W.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,482 (0.54/day)
Likes
607
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro
#9
So I've had this problem for a while. From time to time, my monitor goes pitch black. I can hear stuff going on in the background, but im not able to get a signal from my graphics card. Only way i can fix that is to get my PC into sleep mode using my keyboard, and when i get it back up, scren is fine. Other than that someties it just freezes; screen is black and you can hear sound stuttering. Nothing i can do then but force restart. So i thought the problem is graphics card. But i got a new one which worked fine for about a month when problems appeared again. Both cards are low end so problems could be with the cards (first card fos Nvidia and the other one is ATI). But i was just wondering is it possible that something else is causing the problems ? I'm running a bunch of tests atm. Any clue ??
This sounds like tired or dying caps in the monitor.
Two sections: logic board and power board.
You need to take the back off and inspect for bulging caps, most likely on the power board.
Take pictures.
Had same issue on dads 5-6 year old Samsung 22" and replaced 6 caps with better rated ones.
Works fine now.


THESE FOUR plus 2 others. Note soft rounding of tops, they should be perfectly flat.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 10, 2013
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#10
Monitor is not the problem, at least i think so. I got a new 24 " Samsung a month ago, still having the same problem like i did with the old one :(
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,482 (0.54/day)
Likes
607
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro
#11
Monitor is not the problem, at least i think so. I got a new 24 " Samsung a month ago, still having the same problem like i did with the old one
When is the last time you did a fresh OS install?

You've now mixed nvidia and amd drivers.

Check motherboard for bad caps.

These are cheap psu's, so try another one. What's the age of the PSU.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 10, 2013
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#12
Drivers are fresh , so no problem with that. On the other hand PSU is already 4-5 years old. I've got the overvoltage protetction now, no problems so far. Also i'm getting a new PSU tomorrow. That should solve things. I'll let you know what was the problem. Just need some time for error to reappear now, if it's going to.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,202 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,390
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#13
sometimes dust accumulation in th psu causes it to overheat and the thermal protection to kick in.

happens to me sometimes .
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2013
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#14
Ok , just got a Cooler Master B500 (500W) PSU. I'll give it a go and see how it turns out, so far no problems. Let's hope it stays that way.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2013
Messages
33 (0.02/day)
Likes
11
Location
UK
System Name Niblolkik
Processor i7 4930k 4400mhz (1.285v)
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
Cooling Corsair H80, 6x NF-F12, 2x Gentle Typhoon
Memory 4x4 16gb G-Skill 2133mhz
Video Card(s) 780 SLi
Storage Samsung 840 500gb
Display(s) Asus Swift
Case Antec
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster ZX
Power Supply 850watt Antec QuattroTP
Mouse Corsair m65
Keyboard Tt
Software Windows 10 64bit
#15
i've had this problem with a new faulty u3011 dell screen that would cut out. RMA'd it. there was no discernable way other than that to fix it
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,202 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,390
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#16
Ok , just got a Cooler Master B500 (500W) PSU. I'll give it a go and see how it turns out, so far no problems. Let's hope it stays that way.
umm...
if you had asked us we would have suggested a better PSU. CM PSUs arent that good now.
should have got yourself a seasonic one. they last a lifetime.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2013
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#17
The problem persists... new PSU and no change, could it be the motherboard problem ???

Edit : only having the black screen / stuff still going on in the background problem now. Able to get the screen back with sleep mode. The black screen with stuttering sound isn't occuring atm.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
832 (0.46/day)
Likes
138
Location
California
System Name Primary/Secondary/HTPC/Server
Processor i5-4590/i3-3220/A4-5300 APU/Pentium G3258
Motherboard MSI Z97S Krait/Biostar TH67+/ASRock FM2A75Pro4-M/MSI Z87M-G43
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S/Stock Intel/Stock AMD/Stock Intel
Memory 16GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/10GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX760 2GB/Radeon HD5870 1GB/Radeon HD7480D/Intel
Storage 480GB SSD+ 3TB HDD/240GB SSD/60GB SSD/2x 2TB HDD Intel RAID1
Display(s) 3x Samsung 23" 1080P/Acer 24" 1080P/LG TV 32" 720P
Case Fractal Design/Corsair (it was free)/Silverstone ML03/Antec VSK3000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W/Cougar 550W/Antec 380W/In Win 350W
Mouse it moves the pointer, clicks, and scrolls
Keyboard CM Storm MX Blue/Logitech/Logitech
Software Win7 Pro/Win7 Pro/Win10 Pro/Win7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Buy American - Choose Chevrolet/GMC Trucks!
#18
Perhaps you should not buy crap PSU's :)
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#20
My mate has had a problem on win 8 pro 64bit with the screen going black, I believe its quite a common problem.

Have you got avast installed? if so uninstall it, I believe there is a compatibility problem.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#22
Is the monitor set to turn off after 30 mins of inactivity? try setting it to never turn off, see if it fixes it.

Just throwing ideas into the mix here bud.