• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb 3.5" Sata Hard Drive 32m

philoxus

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
London, UK
#1
Hi all,

first post to the forum. Here goes.........

I'm running a 2008 24" imac OS 10.6.3, I have recently bought a SEAGATE BARRACUDA 1.5TB 3.5" SATA HARD DRIVE 32M to put into a LaCie Cinema Bridge. The Cinema Bridge needs it's drive to be formatted in FAT 32, I've done this through my mac but it doesn't seem to want to allow me put any files onto the drive........


I was wondering if I had done anything wrong or if there was something I'm missing?

Any help would be most appreciated.

ThanQ in advance.

Phil:)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,112 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#2
what kind of files are you trying to put on there, and how? (are you copying from the mac, or another source)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,112 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#4
how large are the files?
 

philoxus

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
London, UK
#5
Generally between 700mb and 1.5 gb.

It's weird, when I initially drag the folder to the drive I get an error saying they already exist in that location, but they don't. Then I drag the actual file and they move without problem!?!

Phil
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,112 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#6
hmm.

fat32 has a limit of 4GB per file, which is why i asked.

not being a mac user myself my advice here is going to be vague - is there another method to copy them? instead of clicking and dragging, do you have a copy-paste equivalent via the keyboard, or menu options?
Does this media device come with its own software or another method to copy the files?
 

philoxus

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
London, UK
#7
I should be able to try and transfer them another way, I'll have a go this afternoon when I get home from work.

The 'bridge' does come with some software but only regarding the firmware I believe...


I have actually successfully managed to put a couple of movies on the drive but the bridge doesn't recognise them.......


Thanks for your support Mussels


Phil
 

philoxus

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
London, UK
#8
Does this media device come with its own software or another method to copy the files?



Nope, drag and drop is all.


I've reformatted the drive and it now accepts 'drag and drop' movies however the cinema bridge can't see them....


Phil
 
Last edited: