• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

seagate expansion 1tb external harddisk

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#26
Model no. is st910004exm101.
1. Both the HDD i tried on my pc are seagate,could that be the case??
2. i am trying to arrange some other brand HDD.
3. changing the PSU is a big expenditure,how can i be certain that it is the cause??
4. and my mobo has awful lot of usb,atleast 8,can that be the cause??
1. no. WD greens might use less power and function, but that doesnt solve your problem, just delays it.
2. see 1.
3. you already have. these drives work on everything except your system, and on multiple USB ports. the only thing in common is the power source for all those USB ports.
4. no. unless you've got heaps of power sucking devices connected all at once you never told us about.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,251 (0.39/day)
Likes
166
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
#27
My mobo doesnt have the junper setting,checked.
Is there any other way,except psu change.
It crashes only when the system is idle,not when i m using it,n it crahed only when i was uploading that video.

EDIT : tried the HDD on a similar syste(core i7 950,6950 2gb,6gb ram,650w psu)
works great,transfered around 50gigs of data,no problem.
so the problem indeed is my psu.
would b getting a spare psu in the evening,would report to u guys soon.
thanks for all the help till now.
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#28
My mobo doesnt have the junper setting,checked.
Is there any other way,except psu change.
It crashes only when the system is idle,not when i m using it,n it crahed only when i was uploading that video.

EDIT : tried the HDD on a similar syste(core i7 950,6950 2gb,6gb ram,650w psu)
works great,transfered around 50gigs of data,no problem.
so the problem indeed is my psu.
would b getting a spare psu in the evening,would report to u guys soon.
thanks for all the help till now.
If it is crashing when you system is idle, you may have large fluctuations in voltage coming off your PSU. This isn't always the PSU but it is most likely to be. I just looked at your system specs, if you're already running the GTX 580, your 600-watt PSU is too small. I bought a single 6870 (which uses much less than the 580,) and my 550-watt wouldn't even boot the system. I would recommend something a little bigger, and if you plan on running another one eventually, I would get a big one.

Keep in mind that the PSU powers your entire system and is responsible for giving each component the proper amount of voltage, so you don't want to skimp on it. If you are stressing your PSU a lot, try reverting your CPU overclock back to stock and see if it makes a difference, but I highly recommend trying out another PSU if you have one available.

Last time I asked what the voltages were, you said they were okay, could you actually provide the numbers? +12v +5v and +3.3v.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,251 (0.39/day)
Likes
166
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
#29
cpu core 1.144v
+3v 3.136
+5v 4.834
+12v 12.320
the cpu core is at 1.144v because i reverted my CPU to stock clocks,sorry didnt update

and i removed bluetooth dongel and webcam from my usb ports,and then tried my HDD,it got detected,copied 40gb data and it took around 30mins with avg speed aroound 25mbps.
now copying a full drive(180gb) to hdd,will report back soon.
PSU would be arranged till tomorrow only,till then i am trying to copy data.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#30
cpu core 1.144v
+3v 3.136
+5v 4.834
+12v 12.320
the cpu core is at 1.144v because i reverted my CPU to stock clocks,sorry didnt update

and i removed bluetooth dongel and webcam from my usb ports,and then tried my HDD,it got detected,copied 40gb data and it took around 30mins with avg speed aroound 25mbps.
now copying a full drive(180gb) to hdd,will report back soon.
PSU would be arranged till tomorrow only,till then i am trying to copy data.
Were those voltages the same with the over-clock and how do they vary under load? It may be the USB controller if they're consistant. 5% variance is safe on +12, 5 & 3.3. ATX spec allows for 10% but I wouldn't trust that.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,251 (0.39/day)
Likes
166
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
#31
the cpu core voltage was 1.010 when i overclocked,i think they were around same levels.
i tried all the stress test i have,with gpu and cpu both at 100% at the same time,my system didnt crash then.

the copying is still in progress,no problems yet!!
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#32
the cpu core voltage was 1.010 when i overclocked,i think they were around same levels.
i tried all the stress test i have,with gpu and cpu both at 100% at the same time,my system didnt crash then.

the copying is still in progress,no problems yet!!
A computer might not crash with improper voltage because the VRMs might be able to compensate for it, when they can't you will know and it is possible you could fry hardware in the process. Also 1.010 is very low voltage for an overclock.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,251 (0.39/day)
Likes
166
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
#33
I reverted back to normal clocks long time back.
since then my system has been on default clocks,then i got gtx580 to replace my 4870,and did stress testing on default clocks,no crash.
when i was uploading a gameplay video on youtube,it crashes twice,then i stated upload again,and did some work side by side,it didnt crash.
so are my voltages in the required range??
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#34
he's reading from software.

software voltage readings are pure guesswork, and should not be used.


unplugging other USB devices and getting the drive working is a give-away, the mobo must be using the 5VSB (5 volt standby) rail, and its weakening/failed/not good enough.


make sure you buy a quality branded PSU, do NOT go by wattage alone. get some advice before leaping in on this one (example: a 430W corsair is better than a 600W generic)
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#35
he's reading from software.

software voltage readings are pure guesswork, and should not be used.


unplugging other USB devices and getting the drive working is a give-away, the mobo must be using the 5VSB (5 volt standby) rail, and its weakening/failed/not good enough.


make sure you buy a quality branded PSU, do NOT go by wattage alone. get some advice before leaping in on this one (example: a 430W corsair is better than a 600W generic)
I personally have had great luck with Corsair (350-watt and 800-watt) and Seasonic (550-watt, and 1kW). I had a good BFG power supply (550-watt) a number of years ago, but they went out of business.

Never skimp on the PSU, people never seem to believe me when I say it is one of the most important parts for your computer, even more so since there are a lot of poor quality PSUs on the market.

Mussels is right, it sounds like your +5Vsb could be struggling. Do your USB ports still provide power even when the system is powered off?

Edit: If you want to take the risk that your PSU might fry your computer, a powered USB hub might solve your problem but I highly recommend a new PSU.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,251 (0.39/day)
Likes
166
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
#36
he's reading from software.

software voltage readings are pure guesswork, and should not be used.


unplugging other USB devices and getting the drive working is a give-away, the mobo must be using the 5VSB (5 volt standby) rail, and its weakening/failed/not good enough.


make sure you buy a quality branded PSU, do NOT go by wattage alone. get some advice before leaping in on this one (example: a 430W corsair is better than a 600W generic)
i cant find jumper setting for usb on my board :( , so that i can get it to work on 5v if it is working on 5vsb.
can u help in finding it?
i will first check with another spare psu,and if that works,i will buy new psu for my system.
are tagan PSUs any good(which i have)??
I am asking this because,if they are not good,then I will not buy from this company again,and not recommend to my friends too.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,251 (0.39/day)
Likes
166
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
#37
Mussels is right, it sounds like your +5Vsb could be struggling. Do your USB ports still provide power even when the system is powered off?

Edit: If you want to take the risk that your PSU might fry your computer, a powered USB hub might solve your problem but I highly recommend a new PSU.
never tried it,will try it now.
and sorry i couldnt understand your last line.

EDIT:my HDD was getting power with my system turned off,but not my mouse,which also connects to USB
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#38
that means its running off 5VSB for sure. if any device has power, it means its on the standby rail.

the reason some devices power off and some dont is the option in windows device manager 'allow windows to turn off this device to save power' checkbox.


just remember that if you use a low quality spare, the problem may still exist. no idea on tagan build quality, it comes down to the *model* more so than the brand. corsair have had a few flops before as well, but overall they're excellent - even the worst companies (thermaltake comes to mind for me) have had a few stellar units (they had one 750W model that rivaled corsair)
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#39
never tried it,will try it now.
and sorry i couldnt understand your last line.

EDIT:my HDD was getting power with my system turned off,but not my mouse,which also connects to USB
A powered USB hub, you know a hub that takes in external power from a 5v adapter?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/USB_hub
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,251 (0.39/day)
Likes
166
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
#40
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,476 (0.54/day)
Likes
607
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro
#41
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,251 (0.39/day)
Likes
166
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
#42
I cant arrange the PSU :(.
so i am testing my system for few weeks,and see if a problem occurs.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,251 (0.39/day)
Likes
166
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
#43
Hi guys,
I am bumbping up my old thread because the problem strikes again
even after me buying corsair tx750w new PSU.
currently trying to backup my data, but i dont think now PSU is the problem, PSU is new and i dont think it would weaken so early.
so please help guys
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,251 (0.39/day)
Likes
166
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
#44
BUMP, please help guys, the problem is not yet solved :(
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#45
so to clarify the problem:

hard drives that work in other systems, that are powered by USB are still not working on your system even after a PSU change?

I cant remember if this was discussed, but have you also changed the motherboard jumpers so that your USB is powered by 5V, and not 5VSB (if applicable)?
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,251 (0.39/day)
Likes
166
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
#46
yup you are correct, i bought new TX750 PSU, but still the problem persist.
and yes the jumper settings were discussed, but my mobo doesnt have jumper settings for USB
i looked for it .
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#47
yup you are correct, i bought new TX750 PSU, but still the problem persist.
and yes the jumper settings were discussed, but my mobo doesnt have jumper settings for USB
i looked for it .
does the problem exist on the USB ports on the motherboard (not the case!), with no other USB devices connected?

Hell, disconnect the USB ports on the case from the motherboard while you're at it. one of them could be screwing things up.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,251 (0.39/day)
Likes
166
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
#48
Done both the things, but the problem still shows up after some time
removed case usb , extra usb , other usb devices, but still problem shows up, formatted HDD , still also the problem is there
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#49
Done both the things, but the problem still shows up after some time
removed case usb , extra usb , other usb devices, but still problem shows up, formatted HDD , still also the problem is there
if nothing else is connected to the USB, then it has to be a fault with the motherboard.


once you rule out the USB ports themselves, the power to them, and the device - all thats left is the USB controller itself.


Hmmm. would you have a PCI USB card lying around? trying one of those in the system should resolve the problem, with its ports. if it doesnt, then it could narrow it down more (say, to some kind of short on the 5V rail in general, since it gets its power elsewhere)
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,251 (0.39/day)
Likes
166
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
#50
I have asked my friend to bring a USB HUB , when i googled the problem it was most recommended solution.
we have to connect all the device to the hub so that only one USB port on motherboard is in operation, that way only one port would get power