• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Seagate Momentus XT Solid State Hybrid Drives

Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
405 (0.12/day)
Likes
47
Location
Bulgaria
System Name HAF
Processor i5 3570k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 EXTREME 4
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-SD964
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengance 1600MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX670 FTW
Storage Seagate 250GB
Display(s) LG 24' + Samsung 22'
Case HAF 922
Power Supply CoolerMaster GX750W
Software Windows 7 x64
#1
Seagate may have delayed the funeral of traditional hard drives with the release of the Momentus XT, a marriage of a hard-disk drive (HDD) and a solid-state drive (SSD). The hybrid delivers impressive performance at a low price. Here's a rundown of the Momentus TX.

The Momentus XT is a 7200-rpm serial ATA (SATA) hard-disk drive combined with 4GB of SSD capacity and 32MB of DDR3 cache memory. Seagate claims the Momentus XT is 80 percent faster than traditional 7200-RPM drives. The Momentus XT works on PCs and Macs.
Speed tests yielded impressive results. Seagate conducted a test against three other industry-leading drives, including a pure-SSD, a 10,000-rpm Western Digital Velociraptor hard drive, and its own 7200-rpm Momentus hard-disk drive. "We booted within five seconds of a SSDs boot time, and we were 15 seconds faster than a 300GB Velociraptor and 36 seconds faster than our 7200-rpm [Momentus] drive," Mark Wojtasiak, senior product marketing manager at Seagate, told Computerworld.
SOURCE

I was just browsing my local pc shop website and found the drives. Are they worth it, faster than regular HDD?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
There have been a few threads about this here. The 4GB SSD is used as a big cache. IIRC, in the end it does become faster than a WD Black once the cache learns what programs you use the most.

But I think most of use would like to see a 3.5" version with a bigger SSD.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
2,184 (0.64/day)
Likes
1,027
Location
Minnesota, USA
System Name TIGRAlpha4
Processor i5 750 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard ASRock P55 Deluxe
Cooling S1283 + FFB1212VHE
Memory 16GB DDR3 1800, 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) 560 Ti
Storage 128GB Kingston SSD + 16TB RAID 6
Display(s) Dell P1130 + Samsung 275T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Power Supply Silverstone OP1000-E
#3
Joined
May 5, 2009
Messages
2,261 (0.72/day)
Likes
171
Location
the uk that's all you need to know ;)
System Name not very good (wants throwing out window most of time)
Processor xp3000@ 2.17ghz pile of sh** /i7 920 DO on air for now
Motherboard msi kt6 delta oap /gigabyte x58 ud7 (rev1.0)
Cooling 1 green akasa 8cm(rear) 1 multicoloured akasa(hd) 1 12 cm (intake) 1 9cm with circuit from old psu
Memory 1.25 gb kingston hyperx @333mhz/ 3gb corsair dominator xmp 1600mhz
Video Card(s) (agp) hd3850 not bad not really suitable for mobo n processor/ gb hd5870
Storage wd 320gb + samsung 320 gig + wd 1tb 6gb/s
Display(s) compaq mv720
Case thermaltake XaserIII skull / coolermaster cm 690II
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply corsair hx 650 w which solved many problems (blew up) /850w corsair
Software xp pro sp3/ ? win 7 ultimate (32 bit)
Benchmark Scores 6543 3d mark05 ye ye not good but look at the processor /uknown as still not benched
#4
:mad: dam i was hoping it was a pata drive, as i could have used it in my cctv's dvr unit

i recently tried a pata to sata converter which was rubbish, and although it worked in my old pc on a sata 3 western digital 1tb transfering old files (my old pc could only see upto 320gb :twitch::wtf::shadedshu:cry:) it had terrible recording quality (flickering stuttering bad picture in the cctvs dvr)

still interesting news though:D
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2008
Messages
2,191 (0.66/day)
Likes
1,068
Location
Texas
System Name Behemoth-6700k
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.7Ghz 1.37v
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z170 Mark 1
Cooling D5 Vario w/ EK X-Top; EK 240 PE, EK 420 PE; EK RES X3 150; HeatKiller IV Pro
Memory 32Gb (4x8Gb) GSkill Ripjaws 3000Mhz @ 15/16/16/35 1.35v
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080ti Amp Extreme
Storage Crucial M500 240GB; Mushkin 1TB SSD x 2; WD Blue 2TB; WD Black 1TB x2
Display(s) Acer XR341CK 34" 3440x1440; LG 27" 1920x1080
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo; Phanteks F140SP Fans x 12 (6 x Top Rad); Noctua IPPC-2000 x4 (Bottom Rad)
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1350
Mouse MS Trackball Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB; Razer Tartarus Chroma
Software Windows 10 Pro
#5
This is a good idea IMO, but the cost of SSDs are dropping quick, so I think this is just a waste. For $100 you can now grab a Sandforce driven 40GB SSD, which will only drop in price in the next few months. In the end I would just grab a pair of these for RAID 0 and have more space and run circles around this drive...for the same price as the 250GB model.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
2,184 (0.64/day)
Likes
1,027
Location
Minnesota, USA
System Name TIGRAlpha4
Processor i5 750 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard ASRock P55 Deluxe
Cooling S1283 + FFB1212VHE
Memory 16GB DDR3 1800, 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) 560 Ti
Storage 128GB Kingston SSD + 16TB RAID 6
Display(s) Dell P1130 + Samsung 275T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Power Supply Silverstone OP1000-E
#6
:mad: dam i was hoping it was a pata drive, as i could have used it in my cctv's dvr unit

i recently tried a pata to sata converter which was rubbish, and although it worked in my old pc on a sata 3 western digital 1tb transfering old files (my old pc could only see upto 320gb :twitch::wtf::shadedshu:cry:) it had terrible recording quality (flickering stuttering bad picture in the cctvs dvr)

still interesting news though:D
I don't think this would make a difference for DVR anyway, which doesn't have much of a spread between frequently and infrequently accessed portions of the storage medium, so the SSD cache wouldn't really have a place.

This is a good idea IMO, but the cost of SSDs are dropping quick, so I think this is just a waste. For $100 you can now grab a Sandforce driven 40GB SSD, which will only drop in price in the next few months. In the end I would just grab a pair of these for RAID 0 and have more space and run circles around this drive...for the same price as the 250GB model.
Question—any idea how the SSD cache in these drives would work in a RAID array (off to Google I go)?
 
Last edited: