• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

SeaSonic X750 Low 5v, 12v Drops Gaming

Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
1,190 (0.32/day)
Likes
579
System Name Firebird
Processor Intel i7 2600K @5.0'ish 24/7 stock core Voltage {5.2 w/102 bCLK}
Motherboard Intel Extreme DZ68BC SkullTrail Z68 Cougerpoint, Excellent MCH !
Cooling Scythe NINJA PLUS Rev.B[skt478] Modded to 1155 Scythe SH12 fan
Memory Samsung 32nm 16Gb 4x4 (@19xxmhz} low profile[ better than 2133 banwidth]
Video Card(s) @Norton F@H Kreij GigaByte 7950 ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme III / XFX HD5870-XXX Edition
Storage Toshiba 3Tbx2,Hitachi 320,1TBx2,'Cuda 400 7200.10, WD1TBUSB,moved to SATA
Display(s) Acer K272HUL 1440 27" WQHD, Samsung 226W, Vizio M60C3 4K 60",Vizio XVT3D554SV
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Intel 10ch[9+1] HD Audio X540> Pioneer VSX39TX[copper chasis,Rosewood sides 5x6LCD remote
Power Supply Seasonic X750 @ 24/7
Mouse Logictech G300s
Keyboard Saitek Cyborg v7
Software Windows 7 ROG E3 X64 by Neuropass/tweakscene
Benchmark Scores 4642@665/1600 220/GAT F1 4544 220/667strap 2.5/3/2/6 Bliss 650/1500 6490 Q6700 Bliss 690/1500
#1
I thought my FSP FX700GLN was nearing EOL so I got the Seasonic X750 to start fresh, but I'm very disapontied that the 5v rail is never at 5v, it stays at 4.9530-4.9915.

Now the 12v drops to 11.9540 when gaming.
I really thought it was going to have "better" output than this, ie atleast the "rated voltages"

The FSP NEVER dropped below "Rated", but was starting to have more devaition,ripple what ever it's called.

I get a Lemon???:wtf:
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
1,785 (0.47/day)
Likes
897
Location
TEXAS
System Name Hexy
Processor i5 4690K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus Z97 Pro Gamer
Cooling custom parallel loop with direct die mounts & liquid metal
Memory 32gb Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Founders Edition + shunt mod
Storage 480GB Intel 750 PCIE + 256GB Plextor M5S SSD + 2TB WD Red HDD
Display(s) Pixio PX325c & ASUS MX279H
Case Lian Li PC-V1000L + "NZXT Hue+ Lighting"
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX + Sennheiser Game Zero's
Power Supply Seasonic x850 Gold
Mouse Nixeus Revel + Dechanic control XL mouse mat
Keyboard Royal Kludge RC930-87 + Grifiti Pad
Software Windows 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Heaven Extreme 1080p,2336 | Valley, Extreme 1080p, 3899 | SuperPosition, Extreme 1080p, 3455
#2
I would contact seasonic and RMA it, the X series gold have very high rated reviews and my x650 has been running under a high ambient for 2 years now, still hasn't failed me
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,908 (0.65/day)
Likes
656
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#3
You do realize that software voltage monitoring is not very accurate hence the reason high end motherboards have voltage test points now.
That amount of voltage drop has no impact whatsoever except in extreme circumstances ie LN2 world record attempts.

I say its fine my 12v and 5v have always fluctuated ± .100v~.200v since the day i got this PSU 4 years ago.
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,905 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,117
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
#4
A fraction of a % drop under load is well within normal operating range for that PSU. I don't see a problem.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,894 (0.45/day)
Likes
432
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#5
And, those voltages are well within accepted tolerances.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
1,190 (0.32/day)
Likes
579
System Name Firebird
Processor Intel i7 2600K @5.0'ish 24/7 stock core Voltage {5.2 w/102 bCLK}
Motherboard Intel Extreme DZ68BC SkullTrail Z68 Cougerpoint, Excellent MCH !
Cooling Scythe NINJA PLUS Rev.B[skt478] Modded to 1155 Scythe SH12 fan
Memory Samsung 32nm 16Gb 4x4 (@19xxmhz} low profile[ better than 2133 banwidth]
Video Card(s) @Norton F@H Kreij GigaByte 7950 ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme III / XFX HD5870-XXX Edition
Storage Toshiba 3Tbx2,Hitachi 320,1TBx2,'Cuda 400 7200.10, WD1TBUSB,moved to SATA
Display(s) Acer K272HUL 1440 27" WQHD, Samsung 226W, Vizio M60C3 4K 60",Vizio XVT3D554SV
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Intel 10ch[9+1] HD Audio X540> Pioneer VSX39TX[copper chasis,Rosewood sides 5x6LCD remote
Power Supply Seasonic X750 @ 24/7
Mouse Logictech G300s
Keyboard Saitek Cyborg v7
Software Windows 7 ROG E3 X64 by Neuropass/tweakscene
Benchmark Scores 4642@665/1600 220/GAT F1 4544 220/667strap 2.5/3/2/6 Bliss 650/1500 6490 Q6700 Bliss 690/1500
#6
But why did my "4" Rail FSP never go under 12v, and always had 5.xxx volts where as I'm under 5v constantlly never at or over 5v.

Is this possable the way the "Gold" standard works?
In the SS litiature it states this is "Pull" unit ie the system Pull's the power from it??????

I guess I was expecting a "Higher{?}" voltage output from this newer technology.

I'm kind freaking out here :confused::twitch::eek:
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
#7
How are you measuring the voltages?
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
1,190 (0.32/day)
Likes
579
System Name Firebird
Processor Intel i7 2600K @5.0'ish 24/7 stock core Voltage {5.2 w/102 bCLK}
Motherboard Intel Extreme DZ68BC SkullTrail Z68 Cougerpoint, Excellent MCH !
Cooling Scythe NINJA PLUS Rev.B[skt478] Modded to 1155 Scythe SH12 fan
Memory Samsung 32nm 16Gb 4x4 (@19xxmhz} low profile[ better than 2133 banwidth]
Video Card(s) @Norton F@H Kreij GigaByte 7950 ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme III / XFX HD5870-XXX Edition
Storage Toshiba 3Tbx2,Hitachi 320,1TBx2,'Cuda 400 7200.10, WD1TBUSB,moved to SATA
Display(s) Acer K272HUL 1440 27" WQHD, Samsung 226W, Vizio M60C3 4K 60",Vizio XVT3D554SV
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Intel 10ch[9+1] HD Audio X540> Pioneer VSX39TX[copper chasis,Rosewood sides 5x6LCD remote
Power Supply Seasonic X750 @ 24/7
Mouse Logictech G300s
Keyboard Saitek Cyborg v7
Software Windows 7 ROG E3 X64 by Neuropass/tweakscene
Benchmark Scores 4642@665/1600 220/GAT F1 4544 220/667strap 2.5/3/2/6 Bliss 650/1500 6490 Q6700 Bliss 690/1500
#8
Same as before, Intel XTU.
And please before the "software" battle insues, as Dave has said it is really one of the best program's avaiable for the Intel board's.

With the ONLY factor being changed, the PSU, it clearly shows that it is "outputing" less voltage than the FSP, BUT it IS more STABLE. With that said

I'm just worried that it's "under" volting to some extent on 2 rails ........................
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#9
ATX spec says all rails must be between +/- 5% of their rated values. That means 12v can't be less than 11.40v or greater than 12.60v, 5v can't be less than 4.75v or greater than 5.25v, and 3.3v can't be less than 3.18v or greater than 3.46v.

Your "deviation" is less than 1%. Your worries are pretty much pointless considering you're using the motherboard's sensors to measure voltage and you don't have an oscilloscope to measure the waveforms of the DC output. Being worried about this is like being worried that a Sandy Bridge CPU is going to prematurely fail because the base clock is running at 99.8MHz instead of 100.0MHz.

If anything, the deviation in your home's AC line voltage would probably scare you if you're concerned about your PSU's rails being a fraction of a percent under perfect voltages that you aren't measuring with professional equipment.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
1,190 (0.32/day)
Likes
579
System Name Firebird
Processor Intel i7 2600K @5.0'ish 24/7 stock core Voltage {5.2 w/102 bCLK}
Motherboard Intel Extreme DZ68BC SkullTrail Z68 Cougerpoint, Excellent MCH !
Cooling Scythe NINJA PLUS Rev.B[skt478] Modded to 1155 Scythe SH12 fan
Memory Samsung 32nm 16Gb 4x4 (@19xxmhz} low profile[ better than 2133 banwidth]
Video Card(s) @Norton F@H Kreij GigaByte 7950 ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme III / XFX HD5870-XXX Edition
Storage Toshiba 3Tbx2,Hitachi 320,1TBx2,'Cuda 400 7200.10, WD1TBUSB,moved to SATA
Display(s) Acer K272HUL 1440 27" WQHD, Samsung 226W, Vizio M60C3 4K 60",Vizio XVT3D554SV
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Intel 10ch[9+1] HD Audio X540> Pioneer VSX39TX[copper chasis,Rosewood sides 5x6LCD remote
Power Supply Seasonic X750 @ 24/7
Mouse Logictech G300s
Keyboard Saitek Cyborg v7
Software Windows 7 ROG E3 X64 by Neuropass/tweakscene
Benchmark Scores 4642@665/1600 220/GAT F1 4544 220/667strap 2.5/3/2/6 Bliss 650/1500 6490 Q6700 Bliss 690/1500
#10
So as in my post #6, is this the way the new PSU's act?

Stress testing dont effect the same as Gaming.............

I'm just stating the obvious differance noted after getting a "Gold" vs old ATX2.2 PSU

I expected more I guess, I mean I got a High-End PSU, you would think it would at least keep the "stated" voltages better than an old unit?!?!?!?!?!?!:mad:
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,908 (0.65/day)
Likes
656
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#11
So as in my post #6, is this the way the new PSU's act?

Stress testing dont effect the same as Gaming.............

I'm just stating the obvious differance noted after getting a "Gold" vs old ATX2.2 PSU

I expected more I guess, I mean I got a High-End PSU, you would think it would at least keep the "stated" voltages better than an old unit?!?!?!?!?!?!:mad:

The more likely case then the old psu being better is that it was actually worse, and by that i mean it was less capable of regulating the voltage and was actually feeding your board more power then it needed.

Throwing the software not being accurate argument off the table, the voltage loss that you are seeing is such a small amount that the only way to truly see if the new one is "worse" then the old one would be to bust out a scope and test them both.

Also if you want to run a stress test that will use more power then any game try OCCT's psu test on infinite,DX9 1024x768 64bit and use all logical cores, if you see major swings in voltages or errors there then your Concern/RMA may be justified.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
1,190 (0.32/day)
Likes
579
System Name Firebird
Processor Intel i7 2600K @5.0'ish 24/7 stock core Voltage {5.2 w/102 bCLK}
Motherboard Intel Extreme DZ68BC SkullTrail Z68 Cougerpoint, Excellent MCH !
Cooling Scythe NINJA PLUS Rev.B[skt478] Modded to 1155 Scythe SH12 fan
Memory Samsung 32nm 16Gb 4x4 (@19xxmhz} low profile[ better than 2133 banwidth]
Video Card(s) @Norton F@H Kreij GigaByte 7950 ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme III / XFX HD5870-XXX Edition
Storage Toshiba 3Tbx2,Hitachi 320,1TBx2,'Cuda 400 7200.10, WD1TBUSB,moved to SATA
Display(s) Acer K272HUL 1440 27" WQHD, Samsung 226W, Vizio M60C3 4K 60",Vizio XVT3D554SV
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Intel 10ch[9+1] HD Audio X540> Pioneer VSX39TX[copper chasis,Rosewood sides 5x6LCD remote
Power Supply Seasonic X750 @ 24/7
Mouse Logictech G300s
Keyboard Saitek Cyborg v7
Software Windows 7 ROG E3 X64 by Neuropass/tweakscene
Benchmark Scores 4642@665/1600 220/GAT F1 4544 220/667strap 2.5/3/2/6 Bliss 650/1500 6490 Q6700 Bliss 690/1500
#12
So OCCT PSU test with the Graphic did just as gaming except since it stress the entire system all 3 rails dropped.

Thing is NOW my 3.3v rail is flucuating, whereas before the OCCT test it was steady?????

FWIW XTU still is a stronger CPU stress test, at least on my board and from what Dave as mentioned XTU has a better way to load the CPU system.

So in a nut shell, CPU testing has no effect on 12v but when using GPU the unit is at least supplying a more stable output, even if at a slightly lower voltage.

OCCT PSU testing 2x



After the testing, 3.3v still bouncing????? ....................What the heck has gone wrong now???

 
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
377 (0.18/day)
Likes
35
Location
Rizal, Philippines
System Name Poor Man's Build
Processor Intel i7 3960X 4.9Ghz Sandy Bridge E
Motherboard MSi X79A-GD65 8D
Cooling XSPC 240mm and 360MM (External) Rad
Memory 64Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX770 SC ACX SLI (non water cooled yet)
Storage Intel 520 240GB SSD x2 /x2 WD Caviar Black 3TB 7200RPM 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS 27" 2560X1440 x3
Case Corsair 900D (upgraded from my lvl 10 gt and 600T)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i 80PLUS Platinum
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (FPP)
#13
well you can keep it as it is not much different, but you can also RMA it and just pay the 15% restocking fee or so depending on where you are and which shop or something if nothings wrong is found, but imo this is an interesting subject always wanted to open up a psu.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#14
nothing is wrong here move along. as has been stated the volts are WELL WITHIN limits.


there is also a lot of factors that have been changed when you swap PSU. to name some,

Different efficiency, different power draw from the wall, different cables with different resistance. all these things will affect volts, not to mention the PSU itself.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
1,190 (0.32/day)
Likes
579
System Name Firebird
Processor Intel i7 2600K @5.0'ish 24/7 stock core Voltage {5.2 w/102 bCLK}
Motherboard Intel Extreme DZ68BC SkullTrail Z68 Cougerpoint, Excellent MCH !
Cooling Scythe NINJA PLUS Rev.B[skt478] Modded to 1155 Scythe SH12 fan
Memory Samsung 32nm 16Gb 4x4 (@19xxmhz} low profile[ better than 2133 banwidth]
Video Card(s) @Norton F@H Kreij GigaByte 7950 ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme III / XFX HD5870-XXX Edition
Storage Toshiba 3Tbx2,Hitachi 320,1TBx2,'Cuda 400 7200.10, WD1TBUSB,moved to SATA
Display(s) Acer K272HUL 1440 27" WQHD, Samsung 226W, Vizio M60C3 4K 60",Vizio XVT3D554SV
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Intel 10ch[9+1] HD Audio X540> Pioneer VSX39TX[copper chasis,Rosewood sides 5x6LCD remote
Power Supply Seasonic X750 @ 24/7
Mouse Logictech G300s
Keyboard Saitek Cyborg v7
Software Windows 7 ROG E3 X64 by Neuropass/tweakscene
Benchmark Scores 4642@665/1600 220/GAT F1 4544 220/667strap 2.5/3/2/6 Bliss 650/1500 6490 Q6700 Bliss 690/1500
#15
:wtf: I didnt see in any of the reviews having this kind of shit, or for that matter really none of the Silver & Gold PSU's doing this crap so YEA it makes me want to find out why my money was spent to get something to just "move along"

So every one in this thread has a PSU that drops under 12v,when Gaming with a 5870 or eqv. and wont even output 5v ?
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
273 (0.13/day)
Likes
35
Location
Lithuania
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.5 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z68A G43 G3
Cooling Enermax ETS T40-TA CPU cooler
Memory 2*4GB Patriot G2 Series RAM
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 7790 Dual-X
Storage WD Caviar Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung SA 300 24" Full HD
Case Thermaltake Spacecraft VF-I +2x Noctua S12B FLX
Audio Device(s) Creative SB0770 X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Power Supply Enermax Modu 87+ 900W 80+ Gold
Benchmark Scores IT CAN RUN MINECRAFT
#16
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
4,014 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,832
System Name Abacus
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard ASRock p67 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X, EK HF Copper, 2.120 rad, 3.120 rad
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Sniper 1600
Video Card(s) 2 Zotac GTX 770 4GB w/ FC EK Blocks
Storage WD 640BG x2/WD 250GB/Samsung 2TB
Display(s) QNIX 27" PLS
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply EVGA G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MX Brown
Software Windows 10
#17
Joined
Oct 5, 2010
Messages
858 (0.33/day)
Likes
218
System Name FragBox
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 5.0GHz/1.45 volts
Motherboard Asus P8Z77 WS
Cooling Custom CPU loop
Memory Kingston 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 680/Zotac GTX 680 in SLi/EVGA GTX 650Ti
Storage 2 Vertex 3 120's, raid 0, 2 Seagate Momentus XT 500GB's in raid 0, 1 Hitatchi 2TB for backup
Display(s) 3 Acer S232HLX2 in nvidia surround
Case Corsair C70 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win 7 x64 Pro
#18
Everything seems to be in check... Get a multimeter on those v-check points if you have them, anything else is rather worthless.

Thats a known-good model of power supply, if you're really worried, rma/exchange it.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,884 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,414
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#19
Ok, you're reading with software which is almost pointless. This is what my old system looked like in software:



You CANNOT use software to do this kind of testing.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,894 (0.45/day)
Likes
432
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#20
I had a similar concern with my PSU and ADIA64, which I believe is the best software monitoring application.

During normal operation (idle at desktop), AIDA64 reported 12.068V on the 12V rail.

Under load, AIDA64 reported 11.888V.

However, I used my voltmeter to measure the 12V at idle and load and found that both were 12.06V.

If you are concerned your PSU is defective, RMA it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
1,190 (0.32/day)
Likes
579
System Name Firebird
Processor Intel i7 2600K @5.0'ish 24/7 stock core Voltage {5.2 w/102 bCLK}
Motherboard Intel Extreme DZ68BC SkullTrail Z68 Cougerpoint, Excellent MCH !
Cooling Scythe NINJA PLUS Rev.B[skt478] Modded to 1155 Scythe SH12 fan
Memory Samsung 32nm 16Gb 4x4 (@19xxmhz} low profile[ better than 2133 banwidth]
Video Card(s) @Norton F@H Kreij GigaByte 7950 ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme III / XFX HD5870-XXX Edition
Storage Toshiba 3Tbx2,Hitachi 320,1TBx2,'Cuda 400 7200.10, WD1TBUSB,moved to SATA
Display(s) Acer K272HUL 1440 27" WQHD, Samsung 226W, Vizio M60C3 4K 60",Vizio XVT3D554SV
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Intel 10ch[9+1] HD Audio X540> Pioneer VSX39TX[copper chasis,Rosewood sides 5x6LCD remote
Power Supply Seasonic X750 @ 24/7
Mouse Logictech G300s
Keyboard Saitek Cyborg v7
Software Windows 7 ROG E3 X64 by Neuropass/tweakscene
Benchmark Scores 4642@665/1600 220/GAT F1 4544 220/667strap 2.5/3/2/6 Bliss 650/1500 6490 Q6700 Bliss 690/1500
#21
XTU is a FAR superior program for Intel M/B's

As in my #6 post I wasnt clear if the design of these newer PSU make them "seem" that they are putting out less power:confused:

In The reviews, even jhonnyguru's they all have higher 12v&5v readings at full and low power, which made me nervious when mine was off.

Any higher psu as the 1Kw dont behave the same so thats not a comparision.

My multimeter was destroyed in the passenger door:mad: so I gotta get another after we get the truck back and i'm up to getting out more. Just again eairlier this mo. we got rear ended in my wifes car on the way to my Dr. just not having too good of luck. [Makes me wonder If I finish the Firebird if I should even drive it lol]
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#22
It's not really the software, it's the chip measuring the voltages that can be the problem. Considering the expensive Vernier scientific computer interfaces that I used in my college physics class has up to +/- 3% error range, how is the $1-2 chip on your motherboard supposed to give precision results? I bet it's not even calibrated to measure precise voltages. Plus, anything on your motherboard is subject to vdroop because of limited power inputs, trace lengths and resistances, load on the limited inputs, and probably even varying trace resistance due to board heat.

You're overthinking this too much. Measure the voltage out of your wall and gripe at the power company for giving you 118.2v instead of 120.0v. We've all told you this is not a problem. Any man made object is different and falls within a certain % tolerance that determines whether the product is correctly manufactured or defective.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
1,126 (0.29/day)
Likes
651
Location
Repentigny, QC, CANADA
System Name CTG Computer
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.3ghz 1.264v
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 2x 8gb Mushkin Blackline 2133mhz@2400mhz 11-13-13-31-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 4GB
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256gb (OS) | Crucial MX100 256gb (games) | Silicon Power S55 240gb (Games)
Display(s) Asus vg248qe
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster Z PCI-E
Power Supply eVGA SuperNova 750w G2
Mouse CM Mizar
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#23
XTU is a FAR superior program for Intel M/B's

As in my #6 post I wasnt clear if the design of these newer PSU make them "seem" that they are putting out less power:confused:

In The reviews, even jhonnyguru's they all have higher 12v&5v readings at full and low power, which made me nervious when mine was off.

Any higher psu as the 1Kw dont behave the same so thats not a comparision.

My multimeter was destroyed in the passenger door:mad: so I gotta get another after we get the truck back and i'm up to getting out more. Just again eairlier this mo. we got rear ended in my wifes car on the way to my Dr. just not having too good of luck. [Makes me wonder If I finish the Firebird if I should even drive it lol]

well, look at this instead:

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story2&reid=169

or

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&file=print&reid=185

or this platinum Seasonic: http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&file=print&reid=264

ATX SPEC are +/- 5%, like others said. You can have a less than 3.3v, 5v or 12v, like you can get more... By the way, software reading can be Wrong. I've tested a Sirtec HighPower 560w, old of 5 years of my brother.. Software and bios says 11.4v, but when plugged into my PSU tester, the 12v1 and v2 are at 12.1 at idle....

Your PSU is fine, that's it..
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,894 (0.45/day)
Likes
432
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#24
XTU is a FAR superior program for Intel M/B's
OK, I will have to take your word for it, as the last Intel board I had was a 915 and I have never used XTU.

As in my #6 post I wasnt clear if the design of these newer PSU make them "seem" that they are putting out less power:confused:

In The reviews, even jhonnyguru's they all have higher 12v&5v readings at full and low power, which made me nervious when mine was off.
OK, the review sample may have been overvolting, or the reviewer was actually using a meter to measure voltages, rather than software?

Any higher psu as the 1Kw dont behave the same so thats not a comparision.
What?

My multimeter was destroyed in the passenger door:mad: so I gotta get another after we get the truck back and i'm up to getting out more. Just again eairlier this mo. we got rear ended in my wifes car on the way to my Dr. just not having too good of luck. [Makes me wonder If I finish the Firebird if I should even drive it lol]
Sorry to hear about your misfortune, I hope everything it alright?

Anyway, once you get a new meter, post back with the results.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
655 (0.26/day)
Likes
751
Location
Greece
#25
always check your PSU with a multimeter and do not trust any software solution since all read from the same crappy IC of the mainboard. Even the cheapest multimeter will be way more accurate.

Also here is mine (really old) review of the X-750 to get an idea.

http://www.thelab.gr/power-supplies-reviews/seasonic-x-750-go-for-gold-efficiency-78356.html

And another thing, a PSU must keep its rails close to the nominal voltages. Higher voltages are equally bad with lower ones..