• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Server adventure fun time with ID-10-T moments

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
5,959 (2.97/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Volt // Dualie
Processor i7-4790k // E5-2680v2 x2
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower // S2600IP4
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60 // Hyper 212 x2
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8GB // 16x4GB ECC
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X // GT 7800
Storage 250GB NVME boot + 5 HDDs (2x RAID1) // 240GB SSD + 300GB HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W + Dell 2007FP // Dell 2007FP
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 6 // Gutted case
Audio Device(s) LucidSound LS30 // None
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w // EVGA NEX650G
Mouse Logitech G602 // IBM J85845R
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches) // Logitech M100
Software Windows 10 Professional // Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Technical term is PEBCAK issue, which stands for Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard
VERY long post.

I've got a buddy who ordered a Dell T7600 for running virtual machines for a game. We were looking at about 11 virtual machines (VMs from here on) with 1-2 threads, 3-4GB memory, 20-30GB disk space per VM. We went with two E5-2687w chips (8 core 16 thread/ea) and 128GB ram (16x8GB). Our first issue was shipping, as the package got to my friend's damage, with some cosmetic and fan mounting issues. All of the shipping issues worked out, and fans put back in properly, we started to get it going. Do mind the board is original to the T7600.

This is where our first issue starts as installing Windows 10, as the target drive wasn't showing up. We tried multiple drivers for the board with no avail, and resorted to plugging in directly to the sata ports to the board. There our first ID-10-T issue was the SAS cables were plugged into nothing so of course nothing was gonna show up. We did get the SSD to show but couldn't get Windows Installer to see or use it. We went through AHCI, RAID, SATA settings in the BIOS and leaving AHCI and RAID on, the BIOS sees the drive but no install.

Next morning he tried again and somehow got Win7 to install, with PLENTY of driver issues and missing drivers. He launched the Win10 install and bam, Win10 is going on the SSD, on the SATA1 port on the board. Progress!

Now the HDD that's on the SAS line that's from the board? Nothing until he went through the Dell driver thing and voila! SSD and HDD works off the SAS now (in the proper drive locations) however now we're having issues transferring files, more so doing anything above one task at a time. He can move 100GB of files but as soon as he opens another Explorer window it restarts hard, and yes Windows Update says we were updated fully by this point. We also switched out the CMOS battery thinking maybe that was the issue; BIOS settings not being saved.

So we got back into it and now it can't boot. We ran BIOS tests and ram was fine, but it can't test the drives because "they're not there" yet, they are. Again, somehow, it allowed us back into Windows and now we get ghosty, as in he will delete files off the desktop, and they come back. When clicked on it just, kinda, sits there.

Next day, with the SSD and main HDD in the proper slots and the second HDD sitting there, he wedged some items to limit the vibration and lo and behold the file transfers do their thing and no crashing. Possibly a vibration issue? We have no clue. At this point we were looking to replace the GTS 8800 as he wanted to maybe game on it. Why not? He has the extra resources so let's have some game time fun! We get that ordered, second CPU, and two Scythe Shuriken 3s for the coolers, GPU being a R9 380x. He has a 1300w PSU so everything should be good power-wise. At this point we have the VMs running smoothly after the wedges and everything is good.

Second CPU comes in, with coolers, and GPU. I forgot to mention ram came in too, so each white slot gets one stick per manual. 1866mhz 8x16GB DDR3 ECC. Yes the board goes to 1600mhz but it worked.

Now here's where sh1t gets bad. He gets everything in and splits the ram up. He gets a "correctable memory issue on DIMM4 CPU0" from nowhere, and can't get past the "press F1 to continue" because it blackscreens. He moves tick from DIMM4 to DIMM6 and the error is in DIMM4, even though there is nothing there. We stick all the ram into CPU0 and the error is STILL in DIMM6. We clear error messages, reseat CMOS battery, moved ram back and moved DIMM6 stick from CPU0 to CPU1 DIMM1. Didn't work so he put them all back in the white spots and got this:


Now mind BIOS sees all 8 sticks, and all sticks are in the correct spots, again, 1-4 on each CPU. Diagnostics go to a black screen and with another reboot, CPU1 now has issues in DIMM3 and 4. Next:


I tell him to remove all but one stick per CPU, and errors on 3 and 4 persisted. After a few reboots it clears and he gets back into Windows.

Our new issue is Windows Home is on the drive, not Windows Pro, so we can only see one CPU. We get all that mess ready to go and he decides to stick some ram back in. This is the result:
It's just easier to screenshoot this.

He gets to boot with three sticks of ram on CPU0, and two sticks on CPU1 with all of them in the correct white spots and per number. Now we can't reinstall Windows because of the same issue as before. He wipes the hell out of the SSD, gets Win7 back on it, He launches the 10 installer from inside 7 and gets to the "making Windows.old files" where it says ‘we couldn’t create a new partition or locate an existing one.’ He at this point found out he's gotta remove all other internal drives to install 10, and yep, it worked. ID-10-T for earlier.

So now we are at the point of:

Not all RAM is installed, and I'm not sure what all is left in the system as it was sleepy time for him and I was getting off work. We've spent weeks on this thing and I had to dig through our chat logs to compile this massive post. Forgive my scattered writing as I'm tired, it's been a long day, and it's too late for coffee. We just need to figure out what we gotta do. We DO have the PERC card, though not installed yet.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,281 (6.33/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Have you updated the board BIOS to the latest version?
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
5,959 (2.97/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Volt // Dualie
Processor i7-4790k // E5-2680v2 x2
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower // S2600IP4
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60 // Hyper 212 x2
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8GB // 16x4GB ECC
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X // GT 7800
Storage 250GB NVME boot + 5 HDDs (2x RAID1) // 240GB SSD + 300GB HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W + Dell 2007FP // Dell 2007FP
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 6 // Gutted case
Audio Device(s) LucidSound LS30 // None
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w // EVGA NEX650G
Mouse Logitech G602 // IBM J85845R
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches) // Logitech M100
Software Windows 10 Professional // Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Technical term is PEBCAK issue, which stands for Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,117 (3.15/day)
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro,
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master CK550 RBG
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit // Windows 10 Pro 64bit with Kodi
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
8,319 (2.40/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
if it said RAM err on slot and there's no RAM there, could be err from the board
what about test one processor and one ram for each socket
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Messages
1,115 (0.55/day)
Location
Alabama, USA
System Name Desktop || XPS 15 9560
Processor i5 4670k || i5 7300HQ
Motherboard MSI Z87-G41 || OEM
Cooling NZXT Respire T40 || OEM
Memory 16GB 1866Mhz DDR3 || 8GB DDR4
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 FTW || GTX 1050
Storage Ultra 2 480GB + WD Black 2TB || 1TB Crucial SSD
Display(s) ASUS VS228 1080p || Dell InfinityEdge 4k
Case NZXT Source 210 White || OEM
Power Supply Corsair CXm 750w || OEM
Mouse Corsair SABRE RGB || Logitech 720 Triathlon
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RGB || OEM
I probably wont be much help here but at this point is has to be a physical problem right? Either a flaky connection somewhere in the board, or maybe an issue with mounting pressure for the CPUs?
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
5,959 (2.97/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Volt // Dualie
Processor i7-4790k // E5-2680v2 x2
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower // S2600IP4
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60 // Hyper 212 x2
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8GB // 16x4GB ECC
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X // GT 7800
Storage 250GB NVME boot + 5 HDDs (2x RAID1) // 240GB SSD + 300GB HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W + Dell 2007FP // Dell 2007FP
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 6 // Gutted case
Audio Device(s) LucidSound LS30 // None
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w // EVGA NEX650G
Mouse Logitech G602 // IBM J85845R
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches) // Logitech M100
Software Windows 10 Professional // Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Technical term is PEBCAK issue, which stands for Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard
if it said RAM err on slot and there's no RAM there, could be err from the board
what about test one processor and one ram for each socket
So it firstly worked all banks in CPU0. He took CPU1 out, all banks CPU0, and errors came up. He thinks it might be board.
I probably wont be much help here but at this point is has to be a physical problem right? Either a flaky connection somewhere in the board, or maybe an issue with mounting pressure for the CPUs?
I asked him about that and he says he mounted them perfectly fine.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
8,319 (2.40/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
have you checked the slots, the sockets. looks right? clean it up?
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
5,959 (2.97/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Volt // Dualie
Processor i7-4790k // E5-2680v2 x2
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower // S2600IP4
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60 // Hyper 212 x2
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8GB // 16x4GB ECC
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X // GT 7800
Storage 250GB NVME boot + 5 HDDs (2x RAID1) // 240GB SSD + 300GB HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W + Dell 2007FP // Dell 2007FP
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 6 // Gutted case
Audio Device(s) LucidSound LS30 // None
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w // EVGA NEX650G
Mouse Logitech G602 // IBM J85845R
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches) // Logitech M100
Software Windows 10 Professional // Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Technical term is PEBCAK issue, which stands for Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard
UPDATE: He removed CPU1, and has two ram errors even though before it worked just fine. Possibly board has issues?

have you checked the slots, the sockets. looks right? clean it up?
All clean.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,353 (4.06/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.3.0 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
Try swapping the CPUs between the two sockets (carefully!) Do the same DIMMs show errors or do they "move"? If the "failing" DIMMs move, then it's the CPU. If the errors remain the same and you can move DIMMs to different sockets and they work, then it's definitely the motherboard. If the failures move with the DIMMs, it's the memory (obviously.)
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
1,498 (1.72/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Biostar X370GTN
Cooling Custom CPU+GPU water loop
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-3200 C16
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury X
Storage 500GB 960 Evo (OS ++), 500GB 850 Evo (Games)
Display(s) Dell U2711
Case NZXT H200i
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Lenovo Compact Keyboard with Trackpoint
Software Windows 10 Pro
If the server was damaged in shipping I wouldn't be surprised at all if the motherboard got some invisible damage too. Doesn't take much of a break to kill RAM traces, after all.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,295 (8.66/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
could be a CPU error, the ram slot issues sound like when you have dirty pads on a CPU, or when a CPU cooler is too tight
 
Top