• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

server build help

Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
299 (0.09/day)
Likes
12
System Name Build 1
Processor i5 2500k
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Cooler Master 212
Memory Corsair DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX750
Software Windows 7 Professional
#1
Hi guys im wanting to do a server build rack at my house.

it will be used to backup 2 small businesses. does anyone suggest where i start? never had a dedicated server before
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#2
Can you give us a little more information?

If it's just to store files for backup it doesn't matter what you have as long as there is sufficient disk space. You could use a couple of USB hard drives for that.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#3
Well, first of all, I would point out that's it's impossible to realize/appreciate just how loud a rackmount server is until you get one in your house. Secondly, you don't need all that for such. You could build an Atom combo rig with a NAS or just a ton of storage or buy something like an HP Microserver.

Though if you really wanna go rackmount maybe can find one used or buy a Super Micro case w/ PSU and board.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,270 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,077
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#4
at least dual core 4 gb ram good network

4 2tb drives

acronis from newegg

decent skill at making directory trees


bam server
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
299 (0.09/day)
Likes
12
System Name Build 1
Processor i5 2500k
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Cooler Master 212
Memory Corsair DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX750
Software Windows 7 Professional
#5
Can you give us a little more information?

If it's just to store files for backup it doesn't matter what you have as long as there is sufficient disk space. You could use a couple of USB hard drives for that.
i want to do an all in one thing, i don't think it will take up that much storage maybe 10tb+, the problem is i want this to be located at my house and the 2 business locations will backup to it.

business 1: 3 desktop computers that need backed up daily, plus 12 ip cameras

business 2: 2 desktops computers that need backed up daily, plus 10 ip cameras

home use: 1,000 dvd isos plus backing up all the computers too.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#6
All the data from the last 15 years of our small business (about 50 employees) fits in under 200GB and I back it up on pocket sized 500GB USB hard drives.

Oh ... 1000 dvds lol nevermind

Assuming you are going to be backing up data and not everything (executables, OS, etc) the computers should not use much.
I would also think that the camera data is going to be for a current period and not forever kind of thing?
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#7
Well, first of all, I would point out that's it's impossible to realize/appreciate just how loud a rackmount server is until you get one in your house. Secondly, you don't need all that for such. You could build an Atom combo rig with a NAS or just a ton of storage or buy something like an HP Microserver.

Though if you really wanna go rackmount maybe can find one used or buy a Super Micro case w/ PSU and board.
I can second this. Being a lab engineer at Microsoft and in labs every day. We wear ear plugs while in them haha! When you don't its almost unbearable. Given theres over 50 machines per lab, but still.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
299 (0.09/day)
Likes
12
System Name Build 1
Processor i5 2500k
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Cooler Master 212
Memory Corsair DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX750
Software Windows 7 Professional
#8
All the data from the last 15 years of our small business (about 50 employees) fits in under 200GB and I back it up on pocket sized 500GB USB hard drives.

Oh ... 1000 dvds lol nevermind

Assuming you are going to be backing up data and not everything (executables, OS, etc) the computers should not use much.
I would also think that the camera data is going to be for a current period and not forever kind of thing?
yea the cameras will store for 30 days. The cameras will take up alot since they're HD. The movies are around 7gb
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#9
Is the camera data stored and then transferred or will it be streamed directly to the server?
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
299 (0.09/day)
Likes
12
System Name Build 1
Processor i5 2500k
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Cooler Master 212
Memory Corsair DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX750
Software Windows 7 Professional
#10
Is the camera data stored and then transferred or will it be streamed directly to the server?
id want to have it stored directly.

i have all the cameras being delivered this week and will install them as i have time to
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#11
Will the cameras be sending data over the internet to the server?

Sorry for all the questions but it's the only way to get a good idea of what you are trying to accomplish. :)
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
299 (0.09/day)
Likes
12
System Name Build 1
Processor i5 2500k
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Cooler Master 212
Memory Corsair DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX750
Software Windows 7 Professional
#12
Will the cameras be sending data over the internet to the server?

Sorry for all the questions but it's the only way to get a good idea of what you are trying to accomplish. :)
no worries im overwhelmed anyway lol.

i want the cameras to backup to the server over the internet as they record. I want to place the server at my house, to backup both business locations and my house stuff, i want it centralized pretty much.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#13
Well to backup all the data all you need is lots of HDD space.
What is the bandwidth requirement for the cameras? Will your internet connection handle all those cameras (24/7 I assume) AND the backup data transfers at the same time?

For storage I would make 3 RAID1 arrays.
One for the computer data, one for the DVDs and one for the camera data.
If you lose a HDD RAID1 will hold it up while you replace a disk.

If the camera data is more than a single large HDD can hold, go with RAID5 or 10 as needed.

Interesting project !! :toast:
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
299 (0.09/day)
Likes
12
System Name Build 1
Processor i5 2500k
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Cooler Master 212
Memory Corsair DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX750
Software Windows 7 Professional
#14
Well to backup all the data all you need is lots of HDD space.
What is the bandwidth requirement for the cameras? Will your internet connection handle all those cameras (24/7 I assume) AND the backup data transfers at the same time?

For storage I would make 3 RAID1 arrays.
One for the computer data, one for the DVDs and one for the camera data.
If you lose a HDD RAID1 will hold it up while you replace a disk.

If the camera data is more than a single large HDD can hold, go with RAID5 or 10 as needed.

Interesting project !! :toast:
will be awesome when its done, my problem is i've never had a server before or built one. That is one thing that I need major with help. If you could point me in a direction to get going on that.

I'm assuming just use whs? pick out parts like im building a computer but use server parts is that it or am i way off?
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#15
If it's going to be a stand-alone machine you don't need a server OS, you just need somewhere to send the data.
The hardware, other than redundancy, is not real critical either as even low-end, low power components will easily manage backups.
My only concern is do you have the bandwidth at home to handle the incoming data?
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
4,090 (1.17/day)
Likes
766
Location
Iowa, USA
System Name FUTURE CUBE!
Processor intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE BK
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 3000 Mhz C15 32GB 2x16GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti
Storage 2x M.2 Samsung Evo 250GB/500GB / WD Blue 500GB / 2x RAID1 Toshiba P300 3TB
Display(s) Samsung C24FG70 1080p 144hz Quantum Dot/ASUS VH226H 1080p 21.5"
Case "THE CUBE" Custom built, pure Red Alder wood
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D/ Logitech Z-2300 200 watts/ Beyerdynamic DT 880
Power Supply Seasonic X Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 Pro
#16
You won't need a "server", but a computer with many sata plugs and a case with many slots. I would get many of these drives.
Computers 2TBx2
Cameras 2TBx4
ISOs 2TBx4
something like this should work, will want a raid
Western Digital Red WD20EFRX 2TB IntelliPower 64MB...
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
299 (0.09/day)
Likes
12
System Name Build 1
Processor i5 2500k
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Cooler Master 212
Memory Corsair DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX750
Software Windows 7 Professional
#17
If it's going to be a stand-alone machine you don't need a server OS, you just need somewhere to send the data.
The hardware, other than redundancy, is not real critical either as even low-end, low power components will easily manage backups.
My only concern is do you have the bandwidth at home to handle the incoming data?
we have comcast business at each location at home i get 24 download 4 upload
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#18
Do you have any download limitations? Like a data cap?
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
299 (0.09/day)
Likes
12
System Name Build 1
Processor i5 2500k
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Cooler Master 212
Memory Corsair DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX750
Software Windows 7 Professional
#19
Do you have any download limitations? Like a data cap?
i think 250gb, i will have to upgrade to comcast business at home which i believe is 0 data cap
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#20
250GB/month is not a lot if you are going to do daily backups, but that can be mitigated if you manage the backups right (only backup what's new or has been changed).
The cameras are a different story. Do you have any idea on what kind of data size you would be looking at on a daily basis?

Gotta go, Sean. Be back later to check to see what's up with this thread.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#21
I have a PC setup as a CCTV server and the 5 work PCs backup to it (in a separate HDD). Every weekend I take an external HDD and copy the backup and then I copy that to my home server. The backup takes about 10GB and we have been operating for 4 years. Heck, most of those 10GB are catalog photos, our main work database weights 15MB and the accounting DB takes about 150MB. Also each PC has a 16GB USB stick that serves as a secondary backup (I have an xcopy batch file set to copy all the work directories at logon).

I'd say taking back and fort a large USB stick might be a better option.


EDIT: NVM, didn't read that you need to backup the camera data. I think that bandwidth and infrastructure might be your biggest problems. A trip to the store will get you a server (which is just a PC after all) but it won't solve the issue about setting a VPN and the setup needed to backup automatically (it'd be a PITA to do that manually I'd say).
 
Last edited:

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
9,614 (2.89/day)
Likes
8,489
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine
Processor Intel 4790K
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX
Cooling Corsair H100i and video card custom loop
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer
Video Card(s) Dual liquid cooled HD7970's (Thanks to Norton!!!)
Storage Crucial M4 256 gig SSD
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro
#22
A trip to the store will get you a server (which is just a PC after all) but it won't solve the issue about setting a VPN and the setup needed to backup automatically (it'd be a PITA to do that manually I'd say).
Agree 100% Your probably going to want to set up a company domain and have the systems back up automatically.
 

_Zod_

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
172 (0.06/day)
Likes
37
System Name Zim
Processor AMD FX-6300
Motherboard GA-970A-UD3 (rev. 2.0)
Cooling AMD Stock with heat pipes
Memory Corsair CMV8GX3M2A1333C9 2x 8GB Kit DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti FPB
Storage Western Digital WD RE4 1TB - Main
Display(s) HP LP2465 1920x1200
Case COOLMAX CS-480
Audio Device(s) Intergrated VIA VT2021
Power Supply hec X-Power Pro 600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#23