• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Set up, intel or amd

To do or not to do

  • Change platform to older, but "faster" I5.

    Votes: 7 25.9%
  • Stay with your Fx 6300 and build the I5 into a system for your nephew

    Votes: 11 40.7%
  • sell the I5, Fx6300/mobo, and buy an I7

    Votes: 9 33.3%

  • Total voters
    27
Joined
Apr 3, 2013
Messages
62 (0.04/day)
Likes
8
#1
Guys, I'm in need of some expertise.

Processor: AMD FX(tm)-6300 Six-Core Processor (6 CPUs), ~4.5GHz
Memory: 16384MB RAM ~933Mhz
Card name: AMD Radeon HD 7950 Series, ~980/1400 (I've had it at 1.150Ghz, but it over heats due to my home made cooling solution).

I'm playing BF4 complaining right now, and I get about 60fps, and it dips hard to 40. I've been watching my CPU usage in BF4 and 5 of my 6 cores fire at about 50-70% capacity. Makes me wonder if the I5's 4 cores, even though are more efficient, would be bottle necking further GPU upgrades.


I have beside me an i5 2500k and a P8Z68 v pro gen3

would you update/downgrade (since I lose on Pcie3, which doesn't matter since I use a 1gpu solution) to the I5 2500k. I would, of course, OC the I5 to the max of my H50 cooler.

Attached is my current dxdiag
 

Attachments

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#2
If you overclock the i5 it will be better than the 6300, but not by much. I am not sure if it will smoothen the frame rates either. You will not feel the lack of PCIe 3. Your VRAM on your graphics card might be holding things back too, but I am not sure.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#3
I'd stay with that FX-6300 but you can experiment, if you want, with that i5 and try it out. That VRAM shouldn't hurt that much considering the resolution you game at (unless it's high). You could try the RAPTR app from AMD to help optimize game settings and see if that helps.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#4
I also have a 6300 BE in my server. First allow me to say its 6 cores with 3 FPUs so its note a true 6 core CPU. BUT. in BF on my current machine (ATM stock) I was pulling 50% CPU usage and maintaining great frames. I would honestly have to say its graphics related if you are having some sort of issue.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#5
Id experiment. Try out the i5, if it performs better switch to it and sell off what you don't use. I mean you have the hardware in your possession, so why not play around with it?
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,633
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#6
Stay with what you have. Your frame rates are normal for BF. Its not that big a difference to worry about. How about sell the i5 and buy another 7950
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2013
Messages
62 (0.04/day)
Likes
8
#7
with another 7950, would my cpu usesage go up?

Id experiment. Try out the i5, if it performs better switch to it and sell off what you don't use. I mean you have the hardware in your possession, so why not play around with it?
because i only have one computer and to dismantle without good reason is a pain in the butt.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,633
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#8
with another 7950, would my cpu usesage go up?
Dont worry about your CPU usage. BF4 is GPU intensive. If you switched to the i52500K and oc it to 4.5 you would see a jump in frame rates. But not enough to justify switching. Maybe 5-10 fps. Now if you got another 7950 your FPS will double
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#9
Dont worry about your CPU usage. BF4 is GPU intensive. If you switched to the i52500K and oc it to 4.5 you would see a jump in frame rates. But not enough to justify switching. Maybe 5-10 fps
WTF. If I already had the hardware in my possession, for that increase, id switch.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2013
Messages
62 (0.04/day)
Likes
8
#10
Id experiment. Try out the i5, if it performs better switch to it and sell off what you don't use. I mean you have the hardware in your possession, so why not play around with it?
I know the i5 compatible mobo will be bettter then the asrock one I have now. no cooling fins on the vrms.

Dont worry about your CPU usage. BF4 is GPU intensive. If you switched to the i52500K and oc it to 4.5 you would see a jump in frame rates. But not enough to justify switching. Maybe 5-10 fps. Now if you got another 7950 your FPS will double
5-10 frames is like 20-25% more then what I am getting.

It seems to me that mantle will have heavy CPU optimization. So wouldn't that benefit a more efficient CPU more then a non efficient CPU?

Merged by Tatty_One
 
Last edited by a moderator:

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,434 (2.32/day)
Likes
4,740
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher / Cruncher 2
Processor i7 6900K / E5 2683 v3
Motherboard X99A Gaming Pro Carbon / ASRock X99 Extreme 4/3.1
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO Elite 2011-3 / EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200 / G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified / ATI 3650
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / TT Core V51
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 / EVGA 500W
Software Win 10 Pro/ Win 10
Benchmark Scores Always changing~
#11
Pinscher - double and triple posting in a thread is not allowed. Please use the "Edit" feature to add remarks.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,633
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#12
WTF. If I already had the hardware in my possession, for that increase, id switch.
But its a Z68 board. But ether way is fine. Then switch
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,261 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,363
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#13
Your not max'ing out your CPU. The FPS drop is not because of your CPU. If your CPU was at 100% load, then yes, I would agree it's the CPU. You need a GPU upgrade to prevent the drops.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#14
Your not max'ing out your CPU. The FPS drop is not because of your CPU. If your CPU was at 100% load, then yes, I would agree it's the CPU. You need a GPU upgrade to prevent the drops.
That's assuming the application can fully utilize all of the cores on the CPU. This blanket statement isn't always true.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#15
WTF. If I already had the hardware in my possession, for that increase, id switch.
I know the i5 compatible mobo will be bettter then the asrock one I have now. no cooling fins on the vrms.


5-10 frames is like 20-25% more then what I am getting.

It seems to me that mantle will have heavy CPU optimization. So wouldn't that benefit a more efficient CPU more then a non efficient CPU?

Merged by Tatty_One

There is no guarantee you'll get 5-10 FPS increase. You might even get a 5-10 FPS decrease. It might stay the same. You might get 10FPS increase in one map, and on another map get 11 FPS decrease. You might get lower averages but higher minimums, you might get higher minimums and lower averages. You might see the benefit on BF4, but when the more intensive expansion pack come out or when BF5 comes out the you might lose performance on the quad core in favour for the hexacore.

There is no correct answer.

From what you said about 60fps, and it dips hard to 40, that seems normal for BF4. You'd get more performance selling the CPU/motherboard beside you and buying a beefier single GPU or duplicate GPU for crossfire. But BF4 is so intensive even a new GPU might yield disappointing results. BF4 isn't known for high FPS even on the best hardware.

If you must buy CPU drop in the FX 8300, but again GPU will yield best results, or best disappointing results due to BF4 being...BF4.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,042 (0.91/day)
Likes
1,852
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i7 3770k @ 4.5 GHz /1.25 volt
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H with Beta Bios F20e
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, 1xDelta EFB1212VH, 2xYate Loon 140 PWM, 2xCorsair 120 PWM
Memory Samsung 30nm Green MV3V4G3D DDR3 16 GB (4x4GB) @ 1800 MHz CL9 1.35 volt
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB @ Core 1254 MHz / Ram 1800 MHz
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD (Boot) + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05 (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD USB Audio Dongle
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A, Corsair MM600, inateck 900mm x 300mm Mat
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL and Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key (Cherry Browns)
Software Win7 64 Pro
Benchmark Scores Wprime 32 5.758 http://www.wprime.net/Scores/19988/View
#16
Would disabling core parking in windows help with the fx 6300? It really improved my gameplay on bf4 with the i7 in signature. Before it was choppy, even on an i7 3770k at 4.5 @ 1.2v (daily driver setting).

I would think going to a 4 core from a 3 module might improve overall system speed, the 2nd gen i5 is only about 5-10% slower than haswell and clocks much higher, which more than makes up for IPC improvements. This would suggest it could be faster than the 6300. I have seen a lot of charts that show the core load works well with the AMD architecture and BF4 however.

You might not notice a difference in bf4. Runs bad on everything. I set it to ultra on my rig and it can run it like glass but then it randomly chops for no reason.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 3, 2013
Messages
62 (0.04/day)
Likes
8
#17
That's assuming the application can fully utilize all of the cores on the CPU. This blanket statement isn't always true.
His comment was directed at the information i gave him so it's not a blanket statement.


okay, so this has all been really good. I'm going to wait for mantle to drop, then test the FX6300 system out. At that point I'll decided to try the I5 out, but it seems like the I5 and FX6300 difference is negligible for my situation.

Thanks guys.

oh, and a great site http://www.techspot.com/review/734-battlefield-4-benchmarks/
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,197 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#18
id suggest turning off core parking, disable any antivirus programs too and turn off any unnecessary services,
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#20
what are you talking about?
As a moderator, he removed the extra posts and consolidated them into one post. You can edit posts you've made and if no one has replied, you should edit the last post instead of replying to a thread again.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,911 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,004
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#21
I also have a 6300 BE in my server. First allow me to say its 6 cores with 3 FPUs so its note a true 6 core CPU. BUT. in BF on my current machine (ATM stock) I was pulling 50% CPU usage and maintaining great frames. I would honestly have to say its graphics related if you are having some sort of issue.
This. The CPU is only bottlenecking if one of the cores hit 100% and the subsequent core use falls because it is waiting on that 100% loaded core to catch up. You are complaining about frame rates and the solution to frame rate problems is almost always the GPU, not the CPU.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
55 (0.03/day)
Likes
17
System Name Silenty
Processor AMD FX-8350@stock (turbo off) undervolted
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory ADATA GS 2 x 4GB DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 660 DirectCU II TOP
Storage WD Black 1TB + some others
Display(s) iiyama ProLite E2473HDS LED
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 1
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X-750 KM3
Software 8.1 Pro
#22
Try windows 8 before anything else, it fixed my BF4 fps problems. Check this out

 
Joined
Sep 4, 2009
Messages
967 (0.32/day)
Likes
221
System Name El Superbeasto V1.2
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 5.0 ghz
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55
Cooling XSPC Raystorm CPU + 2 RX360 radiator + xspc Razor R9-290 w/ backplate
Memory 16gb G.skill Sniper 1866 ddr3 (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290 w/ XSPC Razor full cover block and backplate
Storage Hyper-X 120gb-OS, WD Caviar black 2TB-Steam, Plextor M5S 256gb - MMOs+RTS games
Display(s) Samsung 23" 120hz 3d LCD w/ 3d glasses, using 'lightboost' trick
Case NZXT H630 white watercooling case
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX + Sennheiser HD 598
Power Supply XFX Pro 850 XXX semi-modular
Software Windows 10 Pro (Had some mystery error on Win7 and decided to go W10)
#23
id suggest turning off core parking, disable any antivirus programs too and turn off any unnecessary services,
+1 for turning off core parking in Windows. Many people have disabled it and gotten smoother gameplay + more consistent cpu usage in games and such.
It's easy to do and free, so it's worth giving it a try before spending any more money.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#24
+1 for turning off core parking in Windows. Many people have disabled it and gotten smoother gameplay + more consistent cpu usage in games and such.
It's easy to do and free, so it's worth giving it a try before spending any more money.
I actually disabled core parking and I'm getting better performance in GTA IV.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2014
Messages
37 (0.03/day)
Likes
7
Location
United States
Processor Intel i5-3570k @ 4.2
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Formula
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 FTW
Storage Seagate Momentus XT 750GB Hybrid SSD | Seagate Barracuda 250GB
Display(s) 24" 144hz ASUS VG248QE
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ASUS OnboardFX
Power Supply Seasonic SS-1050XM
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#25
I don't think unparking cores on AMD's does anything at all... I just read a big article about that the other day, but can't find it. Just because you have more cores doesn't automatically mean it's going to be better, or that you're going to get a lot more performance. Double check to make sure you have the newest graphics card drivers, and lower your settings ingame. Ultra mesh and 4xAA is all you need. Turn the rest down to Low or Off. You should see a big performance jump with no visual change to the game.