• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Setting up GPU2 on ATI cards!

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#1
(Credit for revision/changes goes to Nastyhabits....Thanks Gary!)

You can only fold on ATI 3xxx, 4xxx, and 5xxx and these instructions apply to only those cards. If you have previously attempted to run GPU2 with no success, uninstall/delete all previous installations.


1)Download and install the client from the link(s) below.

XP GPU2 Console Client

VISTA/Win7 GPU2 Console Client

2)Create a shortcut for the executable to add to your desktop. The shortcut is necessary for flag placement in the target field.

3)(This step applies to only 5xxx cards) Edit the shortcut properties and add to the existing target exactly as shown, -gpu 0 -forcegpu ati_r700 . There should be a space in-between the existing target and the argument(flags) that you are adding. Reference screen shot below.



4)Set up the clients with the following parameters in the screen shot below(enter your user name, of course). Just hit return(default) for the last 2 parameters. Client will download the latest core and you will be folding if your GPU is stable. Use Fahmon or FHM.net to track your progress.



5) Environmental variables:

Add these environment variables. They will minimize your CPU usage.

BROOK_YIELD 2
CAL_NO_FLUSH 1
CAL_PRE_FLUSH 1
FLUSH_INTERVAL 128

FLUSH_INTERVAL can be set anywhere from 128 to 256. Lower number for stability, higher for greater PPD output.
Forum members have had success with settings betweeen 128 and 200.

Please post in this thread if still experiencing issues. Good Luck and Good Folding!
 
Last edited:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
Do you possibly know what kind of PPD to expect? :)
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,741 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#3
i would expect similar ppd compared to the ati 4870/4890 in that gpu2 dosent use all the shaders of the 4x series and that means it certainly wont use all of them on the 5x series so as far as full potential we have to wait for GPU client 3 but for a rough performance idea look up the 4870/4890 ppd and u will get a rough idea its common fact nvidia offers more ppd then any ati card and with far less power needed even now

still thanks BUCK for writing this up for us ill just focus on CPU F@H for now
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#4
Do you possibly know what kind of PPD to expect? :)
5870 - 4500+ ppd
5850 - 3600+ ppd

Looking for more data right now.

i would expect similar ppd compared to the ati 4870/4890 in that gpu2 dosent use all the shaders of the 4x series and that means it certainly wont use all of them on the 5x series so as far as full potential we have to wait for GPU client 3 but for a rough performance idea look up the 4870/4890 ppd and u will get a rough idea its common fact nvidia offers more ppd then any ati card and with far less power needed even now

still thanks BUCK for writing this up for us ill just focus on CPU F@H for now
HD5xxx benefit from the increased bandwidth of the card even though GPU2 still only uses approx 320 shaders(it was designed in the hd3xxx era), thus some improvement over hd4xxx series.
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.44/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#5
Do you possibly know what kind of PPD to expect? :)
I think I saw on OCN it's ~5k for the 5870 and ~2.5k for the 5770. Pretty sad IMO, my 8800GT gets over 5K PPD :rolleyes:
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,741 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#6
yea i think GPU2 client only uses some 300shaders

so for Nvidia cards thats full power for ati cards thats a huge hit to ppd ability
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.56/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#7
I would guess as its to whether the app itself is biased towards complex shaders vs simple shaders
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,741 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#8
all i know is here in the ATi realm we are limited to 300 or so shaders out of the 1440-1600 of the 5850 and 5870

still imagine if F@H scaled linear with shaders that would mean at 320 shaders getting 4500ppd that would mean 22500 ppd if it scaled in a linear fashion granted its unlikely but id really like to see what these cards can do if allowed to stretch there legs
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
999 (0.29/day)
Likes
170
System Name Filtration tower
Processor i5 2500k@3.8ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77
Cooling Noctua14
Memory DDR3 8gbs
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX970 Extreme
Storage intel ssd 220gbs
Display(s) AOC 2560x1080
Case Thermaltake v71
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply corsair 500w
#9
true that,,, how about running a few gpu2 clients on a single card, naturally i am assuming it will use some more shaders but thats not the case isn't it
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,741 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#10
u can only run 1 client per gpu sadly so no that wont work we have to sit here and wait for GPU3 client which wont be here anytime soon
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
999 (0.29/day)
Likes
170
System Name Filtration tower
Processor i5 2500k@3.8ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77
Cooling Noctua14
Memory DDR3 8gbs
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX970 Extreme
Storage intel ssd 220gbs
Display(s) AOC 2560x1080
Case Thermaltake v71
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply corsair 500w
#11

ULJarad

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2009
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel Core i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Memory Mushkin DDR-1333 3x 2GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5970
Storage WD Raptor 150GB 2x RAID0
Display(s) Dell 2005fpw
Case Antec Ninehundred
Power Supply Corsair TX650
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#12
Hey BuckNasty, thanks for the tutorial. Is there a way to utilize the second GPU on a 5970? I'm guessing -gpu 1 would do the trick but I don't want to mess up the one running now.

Btw, for step 2 the "-" is missing before "forcegpu". I was copying/pasting for a few minutes before I realized the screenshot had it.
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#13
Hey BuckNasty, thanks for the tutorial. Is there a way to utilize the second GPU on a 5970? I'm guessing -gpu 1 would do the trick but I don't want to mess up the one running now.

Btw, for step 2 the "-" is missing before "forcegpu". I was copying/pasting for a few minutes before I realized the screenshot had it.
Fixed now and thanks for correcting my post. Dual core GPU's are a little funny as far as identifying the cores. Try -gpu 0 / -gpu 1 and see what happens. You would be our first 5970 experiment.

:toast:
 

ULJarad

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2009
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel Core i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Memory Mushkin DDR-1333 3x 2GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5970
Storage WD Raptor 150GB 2x RAID0
Display(s) Dell 2005fpw
Case Antec Ninehundred
Power Supply Corsair TX650
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#14
I tried it earlier and it gave me an error, but I just tried it and it's working. I think I might've copied the shortcut without creating a new one, so it linked back to the original folder. One core has been running since my first post at ~3400, so I'll let you know if this one's running on its own core and not cutting into the other.

edit- Nevermind, I forgot about GPU-Z's load meter. I checked it and both cores are maxed. -gpu 1 did the trick. Thanks. :D
 

JayliN

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2009
Messages
71 (0.02/day)
Likes
11
Location
NYC
System Name Unnamed
Processor Intel Core i7 860 @ 2266 (.895vcore in bios, LLC off)
Motherboard MSI P55-GD65
Cooling Xigmatek S1283 /w Bolt Thru Kit and Antec Tri-Cool
Memory 2x2GB G.Skill Eco DDR3 @ 1.175v
Video Card(s) ATI 5850 /w Accelero S1
Storage WD 640GB, 2x WD GP 1TB
Display(s) Dell 2407WFP Rev. A04
Case Antec P182 /w Front Intake Antec Tri-Cool
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic /w OPAmp Mod -> Audio Technica ATH-A900
Power Supply Antec NeoHE 500 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 x64 Professional
#15
just tested this on my 5770.
~3400ppd on a 384pt wu.
 

dies900

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
93 (0.03/day)
Likes
5
Location
Estonia
System Name 24/7 system
Processor core i7-2600 @ max turbo
Motherboard Asus p8p67 evo @103 mhz
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Kingston valueram 1333 c8 4x2 gb(low height) @ 1378 mhz
Video Card(s) club3d hd5850(975/1200)
Storage 2x samsung hd502hj (raid0)
Display(s) LG 2342p-pn
Audio Device(s) amd hdmi output
Power Supply chieftech 700-14cs
Software windows 7 64bit
#16
I have hd5850 but I have hd4870 in the closet so can I put it in the second slot and dedicate it to folding@home or thats not possible?
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,525 (0.74/day)
Likes
506
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#17
OK i have installed both clients for CPU and GPU folding. I`m very very new at this I`m sorry if I ask noob questions :D. This is what I`m getting with fahmon. Isn`t it low ?
E5200@4.0GHz and ATI 5750@stock clocks

 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
1,221 (0.34/day)
Likes
870
Location
Oakland, CA
System Name Rover
Processor Intel i5 4590S
Motherboard GigaByte Z97MX-Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i Low Profile Heatsink
Memory 8 GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 mini
Storage Samsung 840 SSD, WD 1 TB Black
Display(s) ASUS VG248
Case Corsair mATX cube. (Alas they don't make it anymore)
Power Supply SilverStone SST-ST45SF-G 450 Watt
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 ibit
#18
OK i have installed both clients for CPU and GPU folding. I`m very very new at this I`m sorry if I ask noob questions :D. This is what I`m getting with fahmon. Isn`t it low ?
E5200@4.0GHz and ATI 5750@stock clocks

http://forums.techpowerup.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=32746&stc=1&d=1265150372
It looks like you have them reversed. A 384 is a typical (indeed smallest and fastest) ATI job. Alas, your PPD is not atypical. The ATI client does not use anywhere near the full capacity of the card. It probably uses 1/3 of the shaders available on a 5750. You're getting about 500 to 600 more PPD than I do on my 4850.

Don't be discouraged. When the GPU3 client comes out for ATI cards you'll win the PPD per watt race hands down with your 5000 series card. I estimate that you'll at least get 8000 PPD from that card while burning half the electricity that a similar performance Nvidia card will.
 
Last edited:

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.44/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#19
It looks like you have them reversed. A 384 is a typical (indeed smallest and fastest) ATI job. Alas, your PPD is not atypical. The ATI client does not use anywhere near the full capacity of the card. It probably uses 1/3 of the shaders available on a 5750. You're getting about 500 to 600 more PPD than I do on my 4850.

Don't be discouraged. When the GPU3 client comes out for ATI cards you'll win the PPD per watt race hands down with your 5000 series card. I estimate that you'll at least get 8000 PPD from that card while burning half the electricity that a similar performance Nvidia card will.
What sort would I get from my HD 5670? 4000?
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.80/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#20
I'm interested to see if someone can figure this out for the 5970. I tried to install F@H with my new card, but I was told it was not supported on my card.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
1,221 (0.34/day)
Likes
870
Location
Oakland, CA
System Name Rover
Processor Intel i5 4590S
Motherboard GigaByte Z97MX-Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i Low Profile Heatsink
Memory 8 GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 mini
Storage Samsung 840 SSD, WD 1 TB Black
Display(s) ASUS VG248
Case Corsair mATX cube. (Alas they don't make it anymore)
Power Supply SilverStone SST-ST45SF-G 450 Watt
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 ibit
#21
What sort would I get from my HD 5670? 4000?
We can only guess what would happen with the GPU3 client. We can, however, get a good idea what we can get if ATI and Nvidia cards of roughly equal power would get if they could fold equally well in GPU2.

For example a 4850 and a GTS 250 are roughly equivalent. One similar easy F@H jobs - 353 for Nvidia, 384 for ATI - the 250 gets @7000 PPD, the 4850 gets @2400. That's roughly a 3 to 1 ratio.

According to a TPU review of the 5670, it's roughly equivalent to a 9600 GSO. Rig number 4 in my sig has been down for a while now, but if memory serves me well (and it sometimes doesn't), my best 9600 GSO would just about hit 4000 PPD on a 353 on a good day with a tail wind.

Therefore, when the GPU3 client comes out, (alas the Nvidia version will be first), just apply that 3 to 1 ratio to what people are getting on their Nvidia G92 based cards, and I would hope that you would do as well with your 5670.

I've got my fingers and toes crossed that the GPU3 client for ATI will give it similar performance to the Nvidia version. The 5xxx series ATI cards have moved the power usage meter in a more economic (and green) direction. Also, it seems to me that we have a heck of a lot more ATI users on TPU. That way we can have some sort of contest to lure huge numbers of TPU's ATI using members to our cause, and finally kick some Canadian butt! :toast:
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#22
OP has been revised. Thanks to Nastyhabits for the revision material and Bluebumblebee for "prodding" him into writing it:laugh:. Now lets get some more ATI cards folding!
 

cauby

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2009
Messages
121 (0.04/day)
Likes
18
Location
Brazil
System Name The New One
Processor Intel Core i5 750@2.67 GHz
Motherboard MSI-P55-CD53
Cooling Intel HSF
Memory Kingston 4GB (2x2GB) 1333MHz DDR3 CL9 Value
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5770 1GB GDDR5 Vapor-X
Storage WD 1TB Green 64MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2233 1920x1080 21,5"
Case CoolerMaster CM 690
Power Supply 500W OCZ SXS
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Edition 64-bit
#23
thanks for the tutorial!now my 5770 can finally do some heavy folding!!
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,287 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,207
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
#24
If you don't know WHERE to enter the Environmental Variables in step 5 of the OP:
XP: Computer=>Properties=>Advanced=>Environmental Variables
Vista: I don't have/know, but should be in a similar location
Win7: Computer=>Properties=>Advanced System Settings=>Environmental Variables

As to whether to enter them under the user or system heading, I don't think it matters unless you intend to log into the computer under a different user name and still intend to Fold.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,125 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,559
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#25
does this work with crossfire yet?