• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Setting up RAID 0

Joined
Feb 18, 2010
Messages
1,715 (0.60/day)
Likes
408
System Name Eldritch
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1500X
Motherboard MSI B350 PC Mate
Cooling Satan's butthole after going to Taco Bell
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Flare X
Video Card(s) nVidia (Gigabyte) GT 740 2GB
Storage 80 GB IBM, 2 TB WD Green
Display(s) Dell 2007WFP
Software Debian Buster
#26
Yes and its faster BUT be warned there is NO redundancy involved with Raid0, which means if something goes wrong there is NO mirror of the drive. Just a heads up..Also I run Raid0 and never really had an issue but that doesn't mean there wont be!
Set up a backup drive (just use some backup utility), and you should be fine.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#27
Yeah, that I know, one drive goes down and the info is gone. Also forgot to mention, I don't need much storage on this comp, as the point of this RAID, was to take away my 2TB HDD and move it to my new HTPC, which will have 4TB worth of storage on it.

Just don't understand with 32bit works perfectly, but can't get 64 to work :/
somethings up with the drivers, clearly. hunt around for the right drivers in x64
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#28
Yeah, I got 4 or 5 different drivers I have tried so far, I'm going to see how many others I can find. Sucks, messing around with this, with 4 hard drives hooking and unhooking I got mixed up and formatted my 2TB storage drive that was almost completely full :/
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2009
Messages
89 (0.03/day)
Likes
27
System Name littlek
Processor Ryzen 1600X
Motherboard Asrock B350M Pro 4
Cooling NH-U12S
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 2X8GB 3200MHz
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 FE
Storage Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
Display(s) Dell U2913WM
Case Jonsbo VR2
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX 850
Software Windows
#29
ez raid

download the raid drivers from amd game site from motherboard/integrated video drivers.
choose ur windows version then optional downloads tab ull c raid drivers.
to copy the driver onto usb u need to extract the files by running the installer.
remember where it is extracted to then cancel the installation, browse to extracted folder then copy to usb drive.
take no notice of the bullshit u read or hear about raid 0 being risky. been runnin raid 0 for donkey years and i have yet to xperiance any issues. if a drive fails regardless of which mode its being run in, it fails. have no feer, enjoy ur raid 0 speed
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#30
I'll have to try that, wasn't sure that I could use the files from the installer on a usb stick.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.76/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#31
Don't know if this will be of any use but I was just surfing the web and seen something about RAID problems on a MSI board and it made me think of you :D

Well anyway's some guy wrote this, I quote "My RAID was a nightmare to set up, basically use the 32bit drivers off the included CD to get the RAID rolling, Then windows will update the 32bit drivers to the required 64bit ones"

Can that actually work? If so then maybe it's worth a shot for you?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2009
Messages
89 (0.03/day)
Likes
27
System Name littlek
Processor Ryzen 1600X
Motherboard Asrock B350M Pro 4
Cooling NH-U12S
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 2X8GB 3200MHz
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 FE
Storage Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
Display(s) Dell U2913WM
Case Jonsbo VR2
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX 850
Software Windows
#32
I'll have to try that, wasn't sure that I could use the files from the installer on a usb stick.
\11-1_win7_32-64_raid\Packages\Drivers\SBDrv\SB8xx\RAID
\w7 for 32bit \w764a for 64bit

this of course implies catalyst 11.1 and sb8 for 800 series ull c 6 & 7 there 2
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#33
Don't know if this will be of any use but I was just surfing the web and seen something about RAID problems on a MSI board and it made me think of you :D

Well anyway's some guy wrote this, I quote "My RAID was a nightmare to set up, basically use the 32bit drivers off the included CD to get the RAID rolling, Then windows will update the 32bit drivers to the required 64bit ones"

Can that actually work? If so then maybe it's worth a shot for you?
Sadly no, thats what I actually tried by accident on my first attempt. It does allow me to install Windows, but when it restarts and tries to get to the finalization where I make my account name and such, it just fails.

\11-1_win7_32-64_raid\Packages\Drivers\SBDrv\SB8xx\RAID
\w7 for 32bit \w764a for 64bit

this of course implies catalyst 11.1 and sb8 for 800 series ull c 6 & 7 there 2
Awesome, got to give this a go right now I think, really want to get my HTPC up and running, but need to get this done before I can.

**EDIT**

Tried that, didn't work either. It just fails to see 64 drivers period, says there is nothing there, this is very aggravating, why does it see 32 drivers, but not 64.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#34
it has to be a problem with the board making it see the wrong drivers like that.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.76/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#35
Sorry if I see like the annoying guy with all the wrong suggestions here, but are you running the latest BIOS for your board, if not maybe it would be worth updating as there may be better support for RAID on your board on one of the newer or newest drivers.
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#36
Well, I'm back at it again. Updated the bios, tossed in the 2x WD 750GB Blacks, changed it to RAID in bios and restarted. And it detects both RAID drives, says old RAID is functional. But thats it, it will not progress any farther, it will not let me enter the RAID config, it will not let me enter the bios, the only way I can get any farther is to disconnect both HDDs. It seems my old RAID is paired and I can't find a way to unpair it since I can't enter the RAID config utility. Even formatted both drives, tried just running 1 of them and putting Windows on it, but it doesn't even find the drive. Any ideas how to break this RAID?
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#37
Just ran into this today at a reinstallation of my own personal OS. Install using the 32 bit drivers but once you are into Windows, do a clean install of x64 drivers.
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#38
Can't, after the bios update I can't enter my RAID config. I downloaded a program called KillDisk and I am attempting to wipe the array with that, but it says 4 hours remaining...
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#39
I HAVE SLAIN THE BEAST! After much brain wracking I moved back 2 bios versions and finally the RAID util worked and I deleted my old RAID, made a new one. Then tried Windows again, and once again it would not see 64bit drivers, so once again I used 32 bit drivers, and it did install, but then crashes right before the Windows loading screen finishes.

So I sat here just looking at it, thinking why it wouldn't work. Why 32 bit drivers worked and why 64's didn't, everyone online was always asking others if they were sure they had 64 bit drivers or selected 64 bit Windows, which made no sense to me, as you select x86 or x64 after you select your RAID drivers. Then it dawned on me, it must assume you are just going to use x86 right off the bat and x86 can't recognize 64 so it doesn't see them. So I select the x86 drivers, Then I select x64 Windows. then on the next screen where it shows my HDD RAID, on the bottom left is an option to "Load Drivers" so I click it, find my USB stick, find the x64 folder and wouldn't you know it, all of a sudden it finds my x64 drivers... freaking stupid, maybe in the next Windows they will have the Load Driver prompt be after you select your Windows version.

There was literally no answers like this anywhere I could find online, so hopefully this helps some people.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#40
I HAVE SLAIN THE BEAST! After much brain wracking I moved back 2 bios versions and finally the RAID util worked and I deleted my old RAID, made a new one. Then tried Windows again, and once again it would not see 64bit drivers, so once again I used 32 bit drivers, and it did install, but then crashes right before the Windows loading screen finishes.

So I sat here just looking at it, thinking why it wouldn't work. Why 32 bit drivers worked and why 64's didn't, everyone online was always asking others if they were sure they had 64 bit drivers or selected 64 bit Windows, which made no sense to me, as you select x86 or x64 after you select your RAID drivers. Then it dawned on me, it must assume you are just going to use x86 right off the bat and x86 can't recognize 64 so it doesn't see them. So I select the x86 drivers, Then I select x64 Windows. then on the next screen where it shows my HDD RAID, on the bottom left is an option to "Load Drivers" so I click it, find my USB stick, find the x64 folder and wouldn't you know it, all of a sudden it finds my x64 drivers... freaking stupid, maybe in the next Windows they will have the Load Driver prompt be after you select your Windows version.

There was literally no answers like this anywhere I could find online, so hopefully this helps some people.
wait, so the problem was that it auto-loaded the x86 drivers before you chose the x64 OS?
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#41
This issue I think is only possible if you made an All-in-One Win 7 disc, I made mine a long time ago as the kid loves to destroy CD's so the less there is the better. If you are using an All in One disc it prompts you about RAID drivers before you select x86 or x64 Windows. And you have to select something before continuing, so you have to select the x86 drivers, then select x64 Windows at the next step, then the next step you click "Load Drivers" and load the x64 drivers and it works.

So I guess not really MS's fault since they originally give you 2 different discs. Either way, seen quiet a bit of people out there with this issue, so hopefully they see this.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#42
no wonder i never understood how people had trouble with this. interesting.
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#43
Yeah, I seen people mentioning that they installed with x86 drivers, then repaired Windows, but closed a bunch of boxes and then jumped through more hoops to start their install again. Then I realized that all those hoops were unnecessary.

But now it's up and running, posting from it now while I setup my HTPC. Doign updates and driver installs and getting ready to do the same to the HT.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#44
easiest solution then, make seperate x86 and x64 install disks/flash drives
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#45
Eh, now that I got it figured out it's not a pain at all, just the path to figuring it out made me very angry.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2009
Messages
89 (0.03/day)
Likes
27
System Name littlek
Processor Ryzen 1600X
Motherboard Asrock B350M Pro 4
Cooling NH-U12S
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 2X8GB 3200MHz
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 FE
Storage Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
Display(s) Dell U2913WM
Case Jonsbo VR2
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX 850
Software Windows
#46
Eh, now that I got it figured out it's not a pain at all, just the path to figuring it out made me very angry.
:laugh:

for the life of me i cud not replicate ur issue
glad u remembered where ur problems really started and got it sorted
welcome 2 da d64kside
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#47
:laugh:

for the life of me i cud not replicate ur issue
glad u remembered where ur problems really started and got it sorted
welcome 2 da d64kside
Yeah, you would have needed a disc with x86 and x64 Win7 on it to duplicate it :p