• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

should I 12gb of ram?

Which ram 6gb or 12gb

  • HX3X12G1600C9 (6gb)

    Votes: 29 82.9%
  • TR3X6G1866C9DF (12gb)

    Votes: 6 17.1%

  • Total voters
    35
  • Poll closed .
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
538 (0.12/day)
Likes
31
Processor Intel i7 920
Motherboard ASUS RAMPAGE II Extreme
Cooling CM v10
Memory Corsair 3 x 2GB TR3X6G1866C9DF
Video Card(s) Nvidia XFX 8800GT Stock
Storage Seagate ST3500320AS, 2 x Samsung HD103UJ
Display(s) 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
#1
Hi guys
I am currently building a new I7 rig and was stumped on which ram to get.

So far I have decided to get

Asus Rampage II Extreme
I7 920
and I'll be using my old bits and pieces to make up the rest.

*EDIT*
Sorry forgot to mention I am getting a Hx750w Corsair PSU


I have broke it down to these 2 kits from Corsair.

TR3X6G1866C9DF
DDR3-1866 (Dominator-15000C9*XMP*3CH)
6GB Kit (3 x 2GB) 1.65v
9-9-9-24-2T

or

HX3X12G1600C9 around $400
DDR3-1600 (XMS3-12800C9*XMP*3CH) HX
12GB (6 x 2GB) 1.6v
9-9-9-24-2T
 
Last edited:

MKmods

Case Mod Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
5,697 (1.58/day)
Likes
1,735
Location
Nevada
System Name Crossflow III
Processor AMD 965 (4.04Ghz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III
Cooling Air
Memory 4 gigs Mushkin 7-7-7-20@1T
Video Card(s) single 9800GT
Storage Raptor 150's in Raid0
Display(s) LG Flatron 24"
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) AuzenTech X-Raider W/OP637
Power Supply Custom modded Corsair 750HX
Software Win 7 64/Solaris Utility
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06--21963 so far
#2
I use 6 now and cant tell any dif over 2gigs.
(and if you dont have a 64bit OS just use 3 gigs)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
1,129 (0.34/day)
Likes
128
Location
Christchurch New Zealand
System Name My Computer!
Processor AMD 6400+ Black @ 3.5
Motherboard Gigabyte AM2+ GA-MA790X DS4
Cooling Gigabyte G-Power 2 pro
Memory 2x2 gig Adata 800
Video Card(s) HD3870x2 @ 900gpu and 999mem
Storage 2x wd raid edition 120gig + 1 samsung 320 + samsung 250
Display(s) Samsung 40inch series6 full HD 1080p
Case NZXT Lexa
Audio Device(s) ALC889A HD audio with Enables a Superior Audio Experience (on board)
Power Supply Vantec ION2+ 550w
Software Vista Home pream 64
#3
12gb would be premo :)
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
5,105 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,249
Location
Kansas
Processor Core i5 3570K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Pro4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Extreme
Memory 2x4GB GSkill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming
Storage 240GB OCZ ARC 100, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Antec P100
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Edge 750W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64
#4
Do you do anything where you'll even scratch half of 12 gigs? Unless you're a graphic designer or need the e-peen extension, I'd go with 6.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
1,129 (0.34/day)
Likes
128
Location
Christchurch New Zealand
System Name My Computer!
Processor AMD 6400+ Black @ 3.5
Motherboard Gigabyte AM2+ GA-MA790X DS4
Cooling Gigabyte G-Power 2 pro
Memory 2x2 gig Adata 800
Video Card(s) HD3870x2 @ 900gpu and 999mem
Storage 2x wd raid edition 120gig + 1 samsung 320 + samsung 250
Display(s) Samsung 40inch series6 full HD 1080p
Case NZXT Lexa
Audio Device(s) ALC889A HD audio with Enables a Superior Audio Experience (on board)
Power Supply Vantec ION2+ 550w
Software Vista Home pream 64
#5
Youll definitley be wanting 12gb for that setup!
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,265 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,452
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#6
Get the 6GB kit. You can set the clock rate to 1600 Mhz and lower the timing to really, really low levels to help boost response time and speed.

Also, your poll as the wrong part number for the kits.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#7
Youll definitley be wanting 12gb for that setup!
WTF why would he ?..

6GB be just fine if your a gamer. 12GB is just overkill so get 6GB and get some thing else
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,897 (0.56/day)
Likes
676
System Name Star Citizen Enabler
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Triple 120 rad WC with EK-Supreme LTX CSQ waterblock
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866MHz C9
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming 6G GTX 980Ti
Storage Corsair Force 3 120GB, Kingstone V300 240GB, Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1tb
Display(s) Oculus Rift DK2 + 24" 1920x1200 HP LP2475w(H-IPS panel)
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X (pci-e) with optical into logitech z-5500 speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit [full retail]
#8
I'd get the 6gb kit - i never need more than the 6 i have in my setup. If you needed 12gb you'd already know it and wouldn't be asking this question.

Also with the money you save get a better PSU than that 430w one in your sig, if that's the one you intend to use and you have enough money to get a better one that is.
 

WOOKZ

New Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2009
Messages
112 (0.03/day)
Likes
5
Location
SYD AUS
System Name WOOKZ_KRAIT
Processor i7 920 DO STEP
Motherboard RAMPAGE 2 EXTREME
Cooling THORS HAMMER X DUAL FANS
Memory 6 GIG G SKILL 1600 Trident
Video Card(s) GTX 295 DUEL PCB
Storage 2X 150 GIG WD RAPTORS{OS} [WD 1 TB STORAGE] USB 500 Gig Ex FOR Backup
Display(s) 27'' HD
Case ANTEC 1200
Audio Device(s) CARD WITH BOARD
Power Supply CORSAIR HX 1000Watt MODULAR
Software WIN 7 ULTIMATE 64
#9
I'd get the 6gb kit - i never need more than the 6 i have in my setup. If you needed 12gb you'd already know it and wouldn't be asking this question.

Also with the money you save get a better PSU than that 430w one in your sig, if that's the one you intend to use and you have enough money to get a better one that is.
IMO For an upgrade path 6 gig kit and improve your psu with money saved it makes sense.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
162 (0.04/day)
Likes
20
Location
North of Iran
System Name Main system
Processor Intel Core-i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus H87M-E
Memory 20 Gig Geil DDR1333-CL9
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 Gaming
Storage Western Digital Blue Cavier 500 and 1 Terabyte + one Green Cavier 1Terabyte
Display(s) ASUS ML238 LED Monitor
Case Green Viper X3
Audio Device(s) Onboard-Realtek
Power Supply Green 700watt (Its a rebranded psu from highpower/kolink I guess)
Software Windows 10 /Ubuntu 14.04
#10
By the way guys, would a 530 W PSU suffice for a CI7 system?(6g of ram 1600! , Ci7920,and 1Tb HDD and so on! )
 

MKmods

Case Mod Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
5,697 (1.58/day)
Likes
1,735
Location
Nevada
System Name Crossflow III
Processor AMD 965 (4.04Ghz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III
Cooling Air
Memory 4 gigs Mushkin 7-7-7-20@1T
Video Card(s) single 9800GT
Storage Raptor 150's in Raid0
Display(s) LG Flatron 24"
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) AuzenTech X-Raider W/OP637
Power Supply Custom modded Corsair 750HX
Software Win 7 64/Solaris Utility
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06--21963 so far
#11
By the way guys, would a 530 W PSU suffice for a CI7 system?(6g of ram 1600! , Ci7920,and 1Tb HDD and so on! )
depending on the GPU..(and of course the quality of the PS)

I use a Seasonic 500 for my backup comp (24/7)
W3503, X58, 6 gigs, three 1TB Hdds, and a pair of 4770s.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
2,866 (0.82/day)
Likes
697
Location
South Carolina
System Name KILLER
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x4GB Gskill 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780TI
Storage SSD Kingston 240GB
Display(s) 24" Asus 144hz
Case Cooler Master HAF
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec 1200 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage 51342
#12
Theres not much need for 12 gig at this time.
Just get 6 gig.
You wont even use half of that most of the time.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,874 (0.38/day)
Likes
256
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
#13
get 6GB and a Radeon HD 5850 or 5870 ;) and sell your 8800 GT
this will bring ALOT better performace ;)
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#14
get 6GB and a Radeon HD 5850 or 5870 ;) and sell your 8800 GT
this will bring ALOT better performace ;)
He'll definitely need a better PSU.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.89/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#15
I love how some people still think more ram = faster computer.....

6GB is plenty more than enough.
Realistically 4GB if more than enough.
3GB eh, it still works pretty much perfectly fine 99% of the time.
2GB, that can be a bit low with a few games these days, a FEW, and generally only under x64 bit Vista.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.38/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#16
Ive got 4GB of DDR2-800 and its Just as good as some of the 8GB kits ive seen so i dont see the diffrence
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
538 (0.12/day)
Likes
31
Processor Intel i7 920
Motherboard ASUS RAMPAGE II Extreme
Cooling CM v10
Memory Corsair 3 x 2GB TR3X6G1866C9DF
Video Card(s) Nvidia XFX 8800GT Stock
Storage Seagate ST3500320AS, 2 x Samsung HD103UJ
Display(s) 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
#17
I cant get my hands on a 5870 yet, and I can only pre-order it.

*EDIT*
Sorry forgot to mention I am getting a Hx750w Corsair PSU
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#18
I love how some people still think more ram = faster computer.....

6GB is plenty more than enough.
Realistically 4GB if more than enough.
3GB eh, it still works pretty much perfectly fine 99% of the time.
2GB, that can be a bit low with a few games these days, a FEW, and generally only under x64 bit Vista.
He's going Triple-channel so he's going to have at least 3GB, but yes, I agree with you. :)
 

MKmods

Case Mod Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
5,697 (1.58/day)
Likes
1,735
Location
Nevada
System Name Crossflow III
Processor AMD 965 (4.04Ghz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III
Cooling Air
Memory 4 gigs Mushkin 7-7-7-20@1T
Video Card(s) single 9800GT
Storage Raptor 150's in Raid0
Display(s) LG Flatron 24"
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) AuzenTech X-Raider W/OP637
Power Supply Custom modded Corsair 750HX
Software Win 7 64/Solaris Utility
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06--21963 so far
#19
Os?..
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
538 (0.12/day)
Likes
31
Processor Intel i7 920
Motherboard ASUS RAMPAGE II Extreme
Cooling CM v10
Memory Corsair 3 x 2GB TR3X6G1866C9DF
Video Card(s) Nvidia XFX 8800GT Stock
Storage Seagate ST3500320AS, 2 x Samsung HD103UJ
Display(s) 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
#20
I love how some people still think more ram = faster computer.....

6GB is plenty more than enough.
Realistically 4GB if more than enough.
3GB eh, it still works pretty much perfectly fine 99% of the time.
2GB, that can be a bit low with a few games these days, a FEW, and generally only under x64 bit Vista.
Don't get me wrong i know what ram does and doesn't do, but i was once in this position before when i built my last setup i spent 350 bucks on 2 x 512mb ram and after about 6 7 months I could of used more ram.

Now the reason why I am asking is because I'm comparing it by their price, I'll be paying an extra 100 for twice the amount of ram. Also a future proof computer is always nice.


Os?.. Win7 soon
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.89/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#21
Don't get me wrong i know what ram does and doesn't do, but i was once in this position before when i built my last setup i spent 350 bucks on 2 x 512mb ram and after about 6 7 months I could of used more ram.

Now the reason why I am asking is because I'm comparing it by their price, I'll be paying an extra 100 for twice the amount of ram. Also a future proof computer is always nice.


Os?.. Win7 soon
Well I would consider it this way then..

Most games played currently you wont see a difference from 2gb-3gb, Crysis and Supreme Commander *the only two I know of* that will give you a minor boost having 3gb, on a rare occasion in a long game with a lot of AI players 4gb helps, honestly who plays that.

Ok so, if most games are barely using 3gb, I think with 2x that you should be pretty solid for the lifetime of the rest of your computer.
 

MKmods

Case Mod Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
5,697 (1.58/day)
Likes
1,735
Location
Nevada
System Name Crossflow III
Processor AMD 965 (4.04Ghz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III
Cooling Air
Memory 4 gigs Mushkin 7-7-7-20@1T
Video Card(s) single 9800GT
Storage Raptor 150's in Raid0
Display(s) LG Flatron 24"
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) AuzenTech X-Raider W/OP637
Power Supply Custom modded Corsair 750HX
Software Win 7 64/Solaris Utility
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06--21963 so far
#22
(and if you dont have a 64bit OS just use 3 gigs)
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,154 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,221
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.7Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#23
I have 4 gigs and run out of memory all the time. Even multi-gig file operations can eat my ram up fast. Remember when Gates said 640k should be enough? If he can afford 12gig, why not? He could put a game install into a ram disk, hella fast!
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
415 (0.12/day)
Likes
40
Location
Pakistan
System Name Mean Machine
Processor Intel Core i5 2400 at 3.1 GHz
Motherboard Asus can't remember the model
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 103
Memory Kingston 4GB 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 6850 1 GB
Storage WD Cavier SEII 3200AAKS 320 GB and Seagate 500 GB
Display(s) HP X22 LED
Case Generic
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy
Power Supply Cooler Master Real Power Pro 650W
Software Pro/E, Delcam Powermill, These things just for work.
#24
Get 6 Gigs it ll be more than enough for ya.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,154 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,221
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.7Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#25
Hmmm, thought this was a Hardware forum, not a "buy the prebuilt off the shelf" forum! Put 12 in it, and rock. I'd find ways to use 12gigs of ram, wouldn't most of you?