• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Should i add another HD7970

adiboy212

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello guys,
I have a plan to upgrade my gaming PC.
I saw that the prices of AMD cards dropped so i was thinking,should i buy another Ati Radeon HD7970.
My current system:
CPU-i7-3770 3.4 GHz
GPU- Sapphire Dual-x HD 7970
RAM-Patriot Viper 2133 MHz
Motherboard- Gigabyte Z77-DS3H
SSD-Samsung 840 Series 120 GB(boot drive)
HDD-1 TB Western Digital Blue 64 MB
CASE- Coolermaster HAF 922

Also i was thinking about a CPU cooler. I was in my local computer shop and they said that i should get the Coolermaster Seidon 240, is it a good cpu cooler?
Thanks.
 
Joined
May 1, 2012
Messages
1,024 (0.50/day)
Likes
170
Location
New Jersey, USA
System Name Current Rig
Processor Intel i7 920 oc to 3.5ghz
Motherboard MSI x58 Platinum
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory G.Skill 6gb ddr3 1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 OC WindForce 3X GV-N670OC-2GD
Storage Samsung EVO SSD
Display(s) Viewsonic 1440x900 5ms
Case CoolMaster HAF 932
Power Supply Coolmax 950w
Software Win 7 64bit
#2
I have the Seidon 120M and it's great. I get 25-30 lower C on my CPU.

What's your monitor situation? Are you finding games to be running sluggish to necessitate another 7970?
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,260 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,361
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#3
what resolution do you use?

do you have a 3770 or a 3770k CPU? If you only have a 3770, or have a 3770K but don't overclock, there is no need for the Seidon as your stock heat sink is enough for a 3770K at stock speeds.
 

adiboy212

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
Well my current monitor is 22" 1680x1050, sometimes i game on my tv with my friends at 1080p.
I dont see alot of fps problems, i can run BF3, BF4 at ultra with 60fps+
Also its an i7-3770(non k).. When i ran prime i got up to 90 C on one core and on another it was 82C.. I think that is thermal paste problems..
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,725 (4.24/day)
Likes
26,163
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
#5
I love my 7970 cfx but I wouldn't bother with it for a resolution of 1680.1050. Upgrade the monitor first to 2560.1440, then add another 7970 on the cheap, and you'll be in good shape! :)
 

adiboy212

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Well we got the GPU thing sorted out.. I might but one in a couple of months if i see that i need it..
Now for the cpu Cooler. I heard that water colling even the single radiator fan is superior to air cooling. Is that right?
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,260 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,361
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#7
Well my current monitor is 22" 1680x1050, sometimes i game on my tv with my friends at 1080p.
I dont see alot of fps problems, i can run BF3, BF4 at ultra with 60fps+
Also its an i7-3770(non k).. When i ran prime i got up to 90 C on one core and on another it was 82C.. I think that is thermal paste problems..
If you don't have issues with lag in any games you play, you really don't have a need to buy the 2nd 7970 (let's not get the term "need" and "want" confused here). If you really are feeling the upgrade itch (want to upgrade), I suggest saving up for a R9 290 or 290X when they are released(speculation is release will be synced with BF4's release).

90'c is hot, very hot in fact. But then again, Prime can push hardware harder than it normally runs at. Again, "need" and "want". There's no reason not to invest in a inexpensive aftermarket heat sink. Lower temps are always better. Personally, I'd suggest a AIO water cooling unit like my H60. It keeps my 2600k OC'ed to 4.5ghz running at full load on all 8 processing threads between 60-70'c, depending on the temp in my room (68-75'f).
 

adiboy212

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
If you don't have issues with lag in any games you play, you really don't have a need to buy the 2nd 7970 (let's not get the term "need" and "want" confused here). If you really are feeling the upgrade itch (want to upgrade), I suggest saving up for a R9 290 or 290X when they are released(speculation is release will be synced with BF4's release).

90'c is hot, very hot in fact. But then again, Prime can push hardware harder than it normally runs at. Again, "need" and "want". There's no reason not to invest in a inexpensive aftermarket heat sink. Lower temps are always better. Personally, I'd suggest a AIO water cooling unit like my H60. It keeps my 2600k OC'ed to 4.5ghz running at full load on all 8 processing threads between 60-70'c, depending on the temp in my room (68-75'f).
Well thanks dude. I sorted some things with this. :)
I might get the cpu cooler if i feel the need.
Thanks again :)
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,570 (2.08/day)
Likes
3,905
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
Well thanks dude. I sorted some things with this. :)
I might get the cpu cooler if i feel the need.
Thanks again :)
Since you have a non "K" CPU, then I wouldn't even bother with an AIO water cooler. It's just a waste of money for a CPU you can't overclock. I'd just get something cheap like this or nothing at all. :toast: Save the money for a better GPU down the road. :toast:

EDIT: With those temps you probably don't have the Heatsink mounted correctly or you could try some better paste. :toast:
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
377 (0.18/day)
Likes
35
Location
Rizal, Philippines
System Name Poor Man's Build
Processor Intel i7 3960X 4.9Ghz Sandy Bridge E
Motherboard MSi X79A-GD65 8D
Cooling XSPC 240mm and 360MM (External) Rad
Memory 64Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX770 SC ACX SLI (non water cooled yet)
Storage Intel 520 240GB SSD x2 /x2 WD Caviar Black 3TB 7200RPM 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS 27" 2560X1440 x3
Case Corsair 900D (upgraded from my lvl 10 gt and 600T)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i 80PLUS Platinum
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (FPP)
#10
actually I don't advice you to crossfire your 7970.

normally when people build a system they think they will get this gpu and maybe crossfire down the road. this doesn't happen (Normally) when a new gpu after a few years later, people tend tgo just get the new one again and think they will crossfire/sli down the road.

if you want to get a 7970 crossfire now just grab it. if not then skip this gen and go next get and get sli or crossfire so you won't have to worry about thinking should I xfire/sli down the road.

whether you need it or want it. if you can afford it go buy it, and regret later.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#11
Sure you should add another 7970...if you also decide to buy a 1440P or 1600P monitor. Otherwise, hell no. Really, past time to upgrade that display.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
410 (0.11/day)
Likes
44
System Name Komputor
Processor 2500k
Motherboard p5b d
Cooling stock
Memory 8gigs ddr 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Turbo GTX 970 4 gig
Storage sata II 500 gig
Display(s) 30inch Dell ultrasharp
Case Haf 922
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Power Supply 600w OCZ stealthxtream
Mouse Razer Death Adder
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Win 7 home premium 64 bit.
#12
Just put that extra money into a nice monitor, 1440 p 27 incher. Make that 7970 work man!
Its begging for high res! I think its kind of a waste to add a second. I have a 1600p monitor and my old 5870 used to do pretty darn good on that thing. Now my gtx660 is better and a 7970 would be sweet. It should rock a 1440 p monitor all day long. So ya I say monitor then buy some sweet games to rock that monitor and make that 7970 earn its keep! :)
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
343 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
Ft Stewart
System Name Queen Bee
Processor 3570k @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte UD3 Z77
Cooling Water Loop by EK
Memory 8GB Corsair 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming WaterCooled
Storage 1x Western Digital 500GB Black 1x Intel 20GB 311 SSD
Display(s) BenQ XL2420G
Case CoolTek W2
Power Supply Corsair 650Watt
Software Windows 7 Pro
#13
I love my 7970 cfx but I wouldn't bother with it for a resolution of 1680.1050. Upgrade the monitor first to 2560.1440, then add another 7970 on the cheap, and you'll be in good shape! :)
I agree with this I have no problems with a 7870 at 1080p which is a higher resolution.
Now as far as getting 1 more card, personally no. Not just because of your monitor, but the few multi GPU solutions I've done were less then stellar, and more then not frustrated me at points. Also your super driver dependent, I've gotten excellent FPS, updated my drivers , and problem's persist. Before you say I'm bias my AMD solution was 2 X1950 Pro's, and my NVIDIA solution was a 9800 GX2. Anyway that's my input.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2013
Messages
25 (0.02/day)
Likes
11
Location
Greenland
System Name Nanoq Black
Processor i5-4670K @ 4.6GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 4x8GB Kingston HyperX 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x GTX 670's in SLI
Storage Crucial M4 128GB & Kingston HyperX 3K 256GB
Display(s) Achieva Shimian 2560x1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX w/ AKG 701
Power Supply XFX ProSeries 750w
Software Windows 8
Benchmark Scores i5-4670k @ 4.6GHz w/ NH-D14
#14
If your performance is fine with your current setup, there's honestly little point in upgrading.

Save the money towards a new monitor. :)
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
1,393 (0.77/day)
Likes
941
Location
south korea
System Name budget gaming / MSI gs70 6qe silver
Processor i7 4770k 4.0 ghz / i7 6700hq
Motherboard Asus Z87m-plus / msi h97
Cooling Zigmatek Janus LP / stock
Memory G.Skill TridentX 16gb 2666 mhz CL11 / Samsung ddr4 2133
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1060 6gb AMP / gtx 970m
Storage 750gb Seagate (OS); 1x 1tb WD; 1x2tb Seagate
Display(s) 2x crossover 30x-p driver + crossover 3020mdp 1600p eyefinity / HP elitedisplay E231 1080p
Case BRAVOTEC DEFY R50
Audio Device(s) Onboard / onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750W gold/ Powertex 500w
Mouse Logitech G100S
Keyboard Steelseries Mechanical keyboard
Software Windows 10
#15
I love my 7970 cfx but I wouldn't bother with it for a resolution of 1680.1050. Upgrade the monitor first to 2560.1440, then add another 7970 on the cheap, and you'll be in good shape! :)
This is the answer.....

no point having another gpu for that resolution.... I have 1050p before and 1 7970 should be enough cause I have 7950. I dont even have to OC much my gpu before..... When I upgrade my monitor to 1600p, then I bought a 2nd gpu..... only mistake I had was I bought 7950 again :banghead::banghead::banghead: but they look like a "giant towers" in my case... lol....

even if you play @ 60" 1080p, you wont notice much difference playing a 22" 1050p or 1080p monitor....

If you upgrade your monitor to higher res like 1600p, you would see much difference....

I will never go below 1600p again :rockout:

If you are really itching for upgrade, you can buy another card now, somewhere down the road, upgrade your monitor... but prepare to upgrade your cpu as well to a K version... at some point your CPU will hold back your GPU's later after upgrading to 2 gpu's and higher res monitors....


or save your money after a year of saving, you can build another rig :nutkick:
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,570 (2.08/day)
Likes
3,905
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#16
I would not suggest cfx with a non "K" series CPU either. You'll want to overclock your CPU to push both GPU's to get the best out of your cfx. So, even if you upgrade your monitor you'll still be held back by your CPU. I'm not saying your CPU is bad, but from my cfx experience the higher the CPU clocked the better. :toast:
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,434 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,050
Location
Clifton Park, NY
System Name [Uber Noober Setup]
Processor [i7 3770K]
Motherboard [MSI P67A-G45(B3)]
Memory [32GB Corsair Vengeance (8GBx4)]
Video Card(s) [EVGA GTX 1080]
Storage [128GB OCZ VTX4 SSD, 2TB Internal HDD]
Display(s) [2x 27" ASUS at 1920x1080p - 1x 34" Samsung at 1440p]
Case [Coolermaster CM 690]
Audio Device(s) [X-Fi XtremeGamer]
Power Supply [CORSAIR 850W]
Software [Windows 10 64-Bit]
#17
Hell one 7970 is overkill with that monitor. 2 you might as well just light money on fire because youd be getting the same value
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
1,393 (0.77/day)
Likes
941
Location
south korea
System Name budget gaming / MSI gs70 6qe silver
Processor i7 4770k 4.0 ghz / i7 6700hq
Motherboard Asus Z87m-plus / msi h97
Cooling Zigmatek Janus LP / stock
Memory G.Skill TridentX 16gb 2666 mhz CL11 / Samsung ddr4 2133
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1060 6gb AMP / gtx 970m
Storage 750gb Seagate (OS); 1x 1tb WD; 1x2tb Seagate
Display(s) 2x crossover 30x-p driver + crossover 3020mdp 1600p eyefinity / HP elitedisplay E231 1080p
Case BRAVOTEC DEFY R50
Audio Device(s) Onboard / onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750W gold/ Powertex 500w
Mouse Logitech G100S
Keyboard Steelseries Mechanical keyboard
Software Windows 10
#18
Hell one 7970 is overkill with that monitor. 2 you might as well just light money on fire because youd be getting the same value
aw... of course he will gain something....

A higher score on benchmarks :p

plus good looks :p

but performance? no..... :shadedshu