• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Should I make a server?

Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
70 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
#1
Hi

I just upgraded my desktop. My old one was a low power AMD ITX build. I was thinking about building a server. Who really needs a server and why would anybody need one?

Also, if I were to build a server, would RAID be necessary?

Thanks
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,027
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
I guess the question is, do you need a server?
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
70 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
#3
Yeah. At first I thought only businesses had servers for loading their database, websites, etc but right now with so much consumer-oriented servers, I'm trying to see if I would benefit from having one
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,888 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#4
Well you can build a home file server/streaming server. Store music, movies etc on that and you have access to it everywhere. Or you can use it as a firewall, a webserver (if you have a website), mailserver, printer server.. There are numerous options.

In a server I would recommend RAID if you can afford the extra harddrives as you don't have to worry about your data as much then.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
70 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
#5
I'm probably going to go with a home file server...do I need a domain provider? Also, should I get RAID with a home file server?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
No you don't need a domain provider. I would use RAID for redundancy.