• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Should I make a server?

Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
70 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
#1
Hi

I just upgraded my desktop. My old one was a low power AMD ITX build. I was thinking about building a server. Who really needs a server and why would anybody need one?

Also, if I were to build a server, would RAID be necessary?

Thanks
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,459 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,126
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#2
I guess the question is, do you need a server?
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
70 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
#3
Yeah. At first I thought only businesses had servers for loading their database, websites, etc but right now with so much consumer-oriented servers, I'm trying to see if I would benefit from having one
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,908 (3.43/day)
Likes
5,425
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#4
Well you can build a home file server/streaming server. Store music, movies etc on that and you have access to it everywhere. Or you can use it as a firewall, a webserver (if you have a website), mailserver, printer server.. There are numerous options.

In a server I would recommend RAID if you can afford the extra harddrives as you don't have to worry about your data as much then.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
70 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
#5
I'm probably going to go with a home file server...do I need a domain provider? Also, should I get RAID with a home file server?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,549
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
No you don't need a domain provider. I would use RAID for redundancy.