• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Should i upgrade?

Lillebror

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
719 (0.17/day)
Likes
88
Location
Denmark
Processor Intel Core2Duo e8400 @ 3.6ghz
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro w/ mBios
Cooling Xigmatec something with a orange fan
Memory Kingston HyperX 4 gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire hd4870
Storage 320 gb Maxtor 750gb samsung f11 250gb hitachi
Display(s) IIyama e1900s
Case CoolerMaster Ammo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2/PM Pci
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 7 x64
#1
Hey guys 'n girls!

I was wondering - Should i upgrade my cpu, motherboard and ram? I do alot of 3d rendering and picture editing, and im begging to feel the system isent fast enough :\

But ive looked around and saw that intel is gonna release a new platform - Should i wait for that or get something now?
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,481 (1.60/day)
Likes
3,620
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2
Processor i7 3930k@4.2ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 /MSI HD7770
Storage 500GB WD Blue SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD/ WD Caviar Blue 160gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14508101
#2
personally, I would wait. But if you really feel your system is lacking, you can get a q6600 for under $200 which would be a nice upgrade considering you do 3d rendering and video editing. Your RAM and mobo are fine for now.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (1.88/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#3
If you can wait till around christmas, it may be best to do that, but it could still be expensive. $250 CPU, $200 mobo, $200 DDR3 (at least).

Or if it was me, I'd get another lot of the same ram you have to have 4gb of ram, get a q6600 (great for 3d and editing) and go to vista 64.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,915 (3.71/day)
Likes
5,223
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX630 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#4
No, and why do you need a new PC ?. Like BarbaricSoul said wait till end of year. IMO wait another year or so at least.

INTEL's next mobo sounds like it be good but people generly do not need a new comp every year and to see the best gains it's best left at ;;east 3+ well thats if you want value for money that is. Maybe a new v card + PSU(if needed) on the way thats it.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,481 (1.60/day)
Likes
3,620
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2
Processor i7 3930k@4.2ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 /MSI HD7770
Storage 500GB WD Blue SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD/ WD Caviar Blue 160gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14508101
#5
Or if it was me, I'd get another lot of the same ram you have to have 4gb of ram, get a q6600 (great for 3d and editing) and go to vista 64.
he already has 4 gigs of pc6400 RAM, read beside memory in his system spec-

Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400
2X2048= 2*2gig sticks
 

Lillebror

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
719 (0.17/day)
Likes
88
Location
Denmark
Processor Intel Core2Duo e8400 @ 3.6ghz
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro w/ mBios
Cooling Xigmatec something with a orange fan
Memory Kingston HyperX 4 gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire hd4870
Storage 320 gb Maxtor 750gb samsung f11 250gb hitachi
Display(s) IIyama e1900s
Case CoolerMaster Ammo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2/PM Pci
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 7 x64
#6
I just dont really think my cpu is up for it anymore.. I got around 11k points in 3dmark06 with my 3870, i get around 12k with my 4870. If i up the cpu to 3.6 at 1.43v it gets really really hot, but i do get a increase in my 3dmark and in my render speed.

Edit: Hehe, no i dont have 4 gig ram :) Only 2 gig :)They are just called Twin2x - Its just 2x 1024 sticks
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,481 (1.60/day)
Likes
3,620
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2
Processor i7 3930k@4.2ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 /MSI HD7770
Storage 500GB WD Blue SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD/ WD Caviar Blue 160gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14508101
#7
Edit: Hehe, no i dont have 4 gig ram Only 2 gig They are just called Twin2x - Its just 2x 1024 sticks
my bad
 

MoeDaKilla

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2008
Messages
84 (0.02/day)
Likes
14
Processor Intel Q9450 @ 3.53 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5E (modded to Rampage Formula)
Cooling Zerotherm Nirvana NV120
Memory Corsair XMS2 DHX (2x2 GB) @ 445 MHZ 5-5-5-12
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Geforce 9800 GTX @ 800-2000-1200
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1 750 GB
Display(s) Samsung 245BW
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Silverstone Strider ST75F
Benchmark Scores 3dMark06: 16812
#8
I would probably wait for now, but you can always get a Q6600 like the other guys have said. I would personally save up for Nehalem, or at least wait until it comes out so the older gen parts will be less expensive.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (1.88/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#9
I would probably wait for now, but you can always get a Q6600 like the other guys have said. I would personally save up for Nehalem, or at least wait until it comes out so the older gen parts will be less expensive.
q6600 @ only $200? Worth it even of only for now. Will make a hell of a difference for 3d rendering and picture editing!
 

flashstar

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
743 (0.18/day)
Likes
56
System Name Einstein IV
Processor 1090t @ 3.8 Ghz
Motherboard Fatal1ty 990FX Professional
Cooling Swiftech H20 Cooling Kit w/ Apogee XT Rev. 2
Memory 32 GB DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI 260 XT 216 edition
Storage 2x 120gb Sandisk Extreme SSDs, 1x 120 gb Corsair Force 2
Display(s) Samsung BW206
Case Lian-li Lan-cool
Audio Device(s) M-Audio Profire 610
Power Supply Corsair TX-750
#10
I just dont really think my cpu is up for it anymore.. I got around 11k points in 3dmark06 with my 3870, i get around 12k with my 4870. If i up the cpu to 3.6 at 1.43v it gets really really hot, but i do get a increase in my 3dmark and in my render speed.

Edit: Hehe, no i dont have 4 gig ram :) Only 2 gig :)They are just called Twin2x - Its just 2x 1024 sticks
Lol. Cpu not able.

My cpu is 1/2 the speed of yours and I can play every game including Crysis fine. You won't see any speed boost with any current generation cpu.
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
124 (0.03/day)
Likes
12
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 Windsor @ 2.81 (Artic Cooling Freezer 64)
Motherboard ECS Black 780G
Cooling 4 case fans, AC 64 Pro on Proc.
Memory 2 GB Kingston Ram
Video Card(s) Diamond Radeon 3850 stock (OC 740/930)
Storage 250 GB Segate SATA 2, 160 Samsung
Display(s) BenQ T705 17", SynchMaster 19"
Case generic
Audio Device(s) Something that makes sounds...by IDT
Power Supply 550W Corsair
Software XP Pro
Benchmark Scores 13000 3DM05
#11
I'd say to get more ram. Ram is super valuable for stuff like video editing and photo editing. Rendering will naturally be helped out too. What OS are you running? If its 64 bit, def get at least another 2 gigs. Hell, get 2 gigs anyway. For gaming, I dont know if getting a quad will help you so much but it will for renders. It's up to you and what youdo more of.
 

Lillebror

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
719 (0.17/day)
Likes
88
Location
Denmark
Processor Intel Core2Duo e8400 @ 3.6ghz
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro w/ mBios
Cooling Xigmatec something with a orange fan
Memory Kingston HyperX 4 gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire hd4870
Storage 320 gb Maxtor 750gb samsung f11 250gb hitachi
Display(s) IIyama e1900s
Case CoolerMaster Ammo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2/PM Pci
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 7 x64
#12
I think i will look into getting a cheap q6600 till the new stuff gets out :) Thanks for the help everyone :)
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,069 (2.36/day)
Likes
1,142
System Name Ball Smacker
Processor Intel I7 3770K 4.3ghz 1.15v 24/7 (9) fans and totally silent ahhh!!!
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth P67 1155 TUF Motherboard with Armor Assist Fan
Cooling Pro Meg 79CF 120mm x2 fans, 200mm front intake fan, 200 mm top fan, 120mm rear fan, 140 mm PSU fan
Memory Adata DDR3 1600 case 9 1.5v Overclocked to DDR3 2400+ Case 11 1.65v
Video Card(s) PowerColors Radeon RX 470 Red Devil Core 1390 Memory 7000 (Overclocked Additon) 4gb
Storage Samsung SSD 750 EVO 500GB /2 x 64Gb Western Digital Black Drives 1TB each 10,000 rpm
Display(s) LG Ultra Wide 21.9 2560 x 1080 2k 29 inch Monitor similar to retina display
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 650D Black Brushed Aluminum and steel case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 24 bit 7.1
Power Supply Corsair 600 watt
Mouse Logitech M315
Keyboard Microsoft Contour
Software Windows 10 Ultimate 64
#13
Hey guys 'n girls!

I was wondering - Should i upgrade my cpu, motherboard and ram? I do alot of 3d rendering and picture editing, and im begging to feel the system isent fast enough :\

But ive looked around and saw that intel is gonna release a new platform - Should i wait for that or get something now?
yes for rendering a quad core will help you a bunch pick up a Q6600 sell your cpu and the upgrade should cost you around 100.00 you will see a big difference once you overclock it to 3.0/3.6ghz.
 
Top