• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Should I use 1280x960 or 1280x1024

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#1
Which one is the same aspect ration as my 1024x768 monitor?
 

TheMonkey

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
119 (0.03/day)
Likes
21
Location
Olympia WA
System Name Space Heater/BitPerfect
Processor E8500@4.5 1.42V
Motherboard DFI Blood Iron P35
Cooling Xigmatek "Thor's hammer" HDT-S126384
Memory 2x2GB Mushkin PC2 6400 (996557) 5-4-4-11
Video Card(s) ATi 5870
Storage Samsung F1 1tb x2
Display(s) Hanns*G HG-281DPB (1920x1200)
Case Lian-Li PC-6070A PLUSII
Audio Device(s) AuzentechXplosion-->SPDIF-->TubeMagicD1 DAC/PRE-->MCS 3865 dual-mono Integrated Amp-->DCM QEDs
Power Supply PCP&C 750
Software Win7/XPsp3/Win2k3Serverx64
#2
1280x1024= 5:4

1280x960= 4:3

4:3 is the native aspect ratio of non-wide CRT's.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#3
Hm, according to the calculator 1024x768 = 1.3333333... and so does 1280x960. Besides with 1280x960 I get 72hz.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#4
1280x960 is kinda good for WS but stink for normal aspect. It makes everything look stretched vertically, but with that said it may be easier on the graphics card with with close to lossless in image quality.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#5
Is this an lcd monitor hat? If so, run it at it's native resolution. Everything else needs to be scaled and looks like ass. Don't worry about aspect ratios.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
1,192 (0.30/day)
Likes
128
Location
scotland
System Name spuds K8-X2
Processor amd athlon X2 4200+ toledo s939 2794mhz 254x11 1.4 vcore
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo4-F v1.0 (MS-7125) nforce4 sata2 mod, laptop cpu heatpipe copper nb cooler
Cooling akasa evo "blue" + 90mm fan, 2x120mm front, 250mm side, 120mm rear, 120mm in psu, pci slot exhaust.
Memory OCZ Platinum XTC DDR PC3200 4GB(4x1024) @254mhz 3-3-3-8 2T
Video Card(s) sapphire HD3870 512mb GDDR4 vf900cu, several ramsinks on components / nvidia 7300gt 256mb secondary
Storage hitachi 160gb (slightly fried) / hitachi 120gb ATA / Seagate 160gb / 2x ps3 seagate 60gb
Display(s) CTX EX1300F 20" flat CRT, 1280x1024@100hz / 19" benq FP91G X / 19" hanns-g (all free)
Case mesh server/gaming black case, 9x 5.25' drive bays, silvestone auto fan controller
Audio Device(s) onboard realtek alc850 7.1/soundblaster LIVE! ct4780 + kxaudio - sony home theatre surround
Power Supply winpower 650w, system draws around 470-500w under load(+all screens)
Software win7 64bit
Benchmark Scores ~16m trips/sec using mty trip generator. triple monitor gaming using SoftTH. 3840x1024
#6
what hz at 1280x1024?
mines same for that and 1280x960
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#8

ghost101

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
1,328 (0.32/day)
Likes
164
Location
London
#9
*Hands Wile E a metaphorical cookie*

All LCD monitors are either 5:4 or 16:10. This in contrast to the dvelopment of TVs which are 4:3 or 16:9.

For CRTs you have to look it up for yours.

edit: Well these standards are probably for monitors in general since they predate lcd screens. I think it was originally to do with the taskbar using up space.
 
Last edited:

TheMonkey

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
119 (0.03/day)
Likes
21
Location
Olympia WA
System Name Space Heater/BitPerfect
Processor E8500@4.5 1.42V
Motherboard DFI Blood Iron P35
Cooling Xigmatek "Thor's hammer" HDT-S126384
Memory 2x2GB Mushkin PC2 6400 (996557) 5-4-4-11
Video Card(s) ATi 5870
Storage Samsung F1 1tb x2
Display(s) Hanns*G HG-281DPB (1920x1200)
Case Lian-Li PC-6070A PLUSII
Audio Device(s) AuzentechXplosion-->SPDIF-->TubeMagicD1 DAC/PRE-->MCS 3865 dual-mono Integrated Amp-->DCM QEDs
Power Supply PCP&C 750
Software Win7/XPsp3/Win2k3Serverx64
#10
Ur right 1280x1024 is 5:4 my bad, but 1280x960 will probably still look distorted (at least if its an lcd) if you were running 1024x768 previously. Wonder why that is...
 

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969 (0.50/day)
Likes
59
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#11
Because most CRT displays have a physical aspect ratio of 4/3, the 1280×1024 resolution will have pixels that are rectangular, instead of quadratic. This means that images, fonts and everything will appear somewhat distorted, looking too wide.

On an LCD display with 1280×1024 as native resolution, the pixels are quadratic, because the physical aspect ratio of the display matches the resolution.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#12
Is this an lcd monitor hat? If so, run it at it's native resolution. Everything else needs to be scaled and looks like ass. Don't worry about aspect ratios.
crt...

I just want it to look the same as 1024x768 on my 15" crt just bigger
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#13
crt...

I just want it to look the same as 1024x768 on my 15" crt just bigger
Then 1280x960 is correct. You can also try 1152x864 (iirc).
 

ghost101

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
1,328 (0.32/day)
Likes
164
Location
London
#14
crt...

I just want it to look the same as 1024x768 on my 15" crt just bigger
The problem with CRT screens is that you can distort the image manually (to correct) using the screen controls anyway. It doesnt matter what you pick. Simply pick the highest.

If the image is setup for a 4:3 resolution then it will look wrong when using 1280*1024, but you can correct it.
 

TheMonkey

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
119 (0.03/day)
Likes
21
Location
Olympia WA
System Name Space Heater/BitPerfect
Processor E8500@4.5 1.42V
Motherboard DFI Blood Iron P35
Cooling Xigmatek "Thor's hammer" HDT-S126384
Memory 2x2GB Mushkin PC2 6400 (996557) 5-4-4-11
Video Card(s) ATi 5870
Storage Samsung F1 1tb x2
Display(s) Hanns*G HG-281DPB (1920x1200)
Case Lian-Li PC-6070A PLUSII
Audio Device(s) AuzentechXplosion-->SPDIF-->TubeMagicD1 DAC/PRE-->MCS 3865 dual-mono Integrated Amp-->DCM QEDs
Power Supply PCP&C 750
Software Win7/XPsp3/Win2k3Serverx64
#15
ahh CRT go with the wile
 

TheMonkey

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
119 (0.03/day)
Likes
21
Location
Olympia WA
System Name Space Heater/BitPerfect
Processor E8500@4.5 1.42V
Motherboard DFI Blood Iron P35
Cooling Xigmatek "Thor's hammer" HDT-S126384
Memory 2x2GB Mushkin PC2 6400 (996557) 5-4-4-11
Video Card(s) ATi 5870
Storage Samsung F1 1tb x2
Display(s) Hanns*G HG-281DPB (1920x1200)
Case Lian-Li PC-6070A PLUSII
Audio Device(s) AuzentechXplosion-->SPDIF-->TubeMagicD1 DAC/PRE-->MCS 3865 dual-mono Integrated Amp-->DCM QEDs
Power Supply PCP&C 750
Software Win7/XPsp3/Win2k3Serverx64
#16
Because most CRT displays have a physical aspect ratio of 4/3, the 1280×1024 resolution will have pixels that are rectangular, instead of quadratic. This means that images, fonts and everything will appear somewhat distorted, looking too wide.

On an LCD display with 1280×1024 as native resolution, the pixels are quadratic, because the physical aspect ratio of the display matches the resolution.
THX for clearing that up 4 me:)
 

ghost101

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
1,328 (0.32/day)
Likes
164
Location
London
#17
Because most CRT displays have a physical aspect ratio of 4/3, the 1280×1024 resolution will have pixels that are rectangular, instead of quadratic. This means that images, fonts and everything will appear somewhat distorted, looking too wide.

On an LCD display with 1280×1024 as native resolution, the pixels are quadratic, because the physical aspect ratio of the display matches the resolution.
Indeed. But 5:4 and 4:3 are very close, and therefore, if you are willing to zoom the image in a bit and have some (unnoticeable) black parts at the top and bottom, 1280*1024 should look fine.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#18
I'll use 1280*1024
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#19
1280x1024 is great, school is closed for the 3rd day in a row, so Imma play some BF2142 on my new res!
 

tiys

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
373 (0.10/day)
Likes
26
Location
The Keystone State (Pennsylvania)
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Brisbane
Motherboard ECS AMD690GM-M2
Cooling Stock for now
Memory 2GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Diamond Viper Radeon X1950pro 256MB
Storage WD Caviar SE16 250GB SATA 3Gb/s
Display(s) Acer 17" LCD
Case Still an HP case...if you have one for free/cheap, PM me :)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec NeoPower 550watt
Software Windows XP Home Edition SP2
#20
my friend runs 1280 x 960 on his widescreen monitor. 20" widescreen that is.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,333 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#21

TheMonkey

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
119 (0.03/day)
Likes
21
Location
Olympia WA
System Name Space Heater/BitPerfect
Processor E8500@4.5 1.42V
Motherboard DFI Blood Iron P35
Cooling Xigmatek "Thor's hammer" HDT-S126384
Memory 2x2GB Mushkin PC2 6400 (996557) 5-4-4-11
Video Card(s) ATi 5870
Storage Samsung F1 1tb x2
Display(s) Hanns*G HG-281DPB (1920x1200)
Case Lian-Li PC-6070A PLUSII
Audio Device(s) AuzentechXplosion-->SPDIF-->TubeMagicD1 DAC/PRE-->MCS 3865 dual-mono Integrated Amp-->DCM QEDs
Power Supply PCP&C 750
Software Win7/XPsp3/Win2k3Serverx64
#22
Incorrect. 1280x960 = 4:3.

1280 / 4 = 320.

320 * 3 = 960

=> 1280x960 = 4:3.
Yea I know 1280x1024 is 5:4, I already appologised for my ignorance;)
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,654 (0.70/day)
Likes
772
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#23
I'm getting a Samsung LCD like in a month.
Specs : (Non-Widescreen) Samsung 20' LCD w/ native res 1600x1200

I usually play at 1024x768 on my old 17' CRT. What would be the next step up from this res? 1280x960? Or is it 1280x1024, but this looks like a widescreen resolution right?
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#24
I use 1280x1024 on my 17" it's great. As for the LCD, use it's native resolution.
I find it's best to buy a monitor that's native resolution is one you're comfortable with. If you try using 1024x768 on a 22" monitor, expect it to look like dog shit, wether it's an LCD or a CRT. Always use the max resolution.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#25
Man I love this monitor! I love the fact that it's just bigger, but I really love the fact that 1280x1024 pwnz 1024x768. I can look at 1024x768 images without scrolling at all, that makes me happy.