• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Should I use DVI for my PC-monitor connection? And use the VGA port for my Xbox360?

Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
116 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Corsair 1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 7870
Storage 120GB Kingston SSD, 2TB HDD
Display(s) Sony 32" HDTV
Case Corsair 230T
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Corsair 500W
Software Windows 8 64bit
#1
Hi there,

My computer only seems to work through the DVI port, and I when I got it I got a DVI-VGA adaptor, and was using that connected to a VGA lead, then to my monitor. Got a new monitor/TV combo though with an actual DVI port.

I don't have any DVI leads to my knowledge, so my question is would I get any benefit from buying one and using that? And is there anything I should take into consideration, e.g. the type or quality of the lead I buy (I don't really know anything about them.)

Secondly, my 360 is also connected to this TV, so if I freed up the VGA port would I then get a benefit from buying a 360 VGA lead to connect it by that, or should I stick to component?

My TV/monitor is an LG M2094D, 1680x1050, 720p.

Thanks in advance.

----------------
Now playing: Cynic - Integral Birth
via FoxyTunes
 
Last edited:

HolyCow02

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2008
Messages
1,638 (0.47/day)
Likes
109
Location
New York
System Name Shredder
Processor Phenom II 955 @stock (for the time being)
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 8 GB muskin DDR3 1600 @ 7-7-6-18
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire 4870 1GB
Storage 64 GB Super Talent UltraDrive SSD | 2 x WD Caviar Black 500GB in RAID1
Display(s) Samsung 22" 2ms GTG
Case Thermaltake Spedo Advanced Package
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Vista Business 64-bit
#2
For the 360, stick with component. Since the 360 comes with a component cable, no need to buy something that will show zero difference. As for the monitor, did it not come with a DVI cable? All of the monitors I have ever bought came with the cable necessary..


What kind of video card do you have? Does it have DVI? If so, use that.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
116 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Corsair 1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 7870
Storage 120GB Kingston SSD, 2TB HDD
Display(s) Sony 32" HDTV
Case Corsair 230T
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Corsair 500W
Software Windows 8 64bit
#3
Nah, the monitor came with another VGA cable, as it supports both. So I was wondering if it would look better with DVI.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
3,166 (0.90/day)
Likes
467
Location
North Chili, NY
System Name Woot!:D
Processor Intel Core i5 4690k
Motherboard AsRock z97 Extreme3
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB 1333 DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780
Storage 240GB Intel SSD 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Cintiq 21UX 1600x1200, LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake v6
Power Supply EVGA 850 B2
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#4
DVI is pretty much the same as HDMI. DVI/HDMI are digital, while VGA/Component are analogue(I believe). I believe both have the same max resolution, but I've noticed HDMI/DVI have richer colors.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.57/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#5
Use DVI there is a discernible difference between DVI and VGA.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
1,471 (0.40/day)
Likes
124
Location
The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
System Name The Grand Phoenix Clusterflop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb @3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 870 EXTREME3
Cooling Xigmatec S1284 (Lapped)1x200mm, 4x120mm
Memory Muskin Silverline 4GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470 SC Edition 1280mb RAM (C/S/M)(640/1280/1705)
Storage 2x500GB Seagate, 32MB Cache 1xWD 40GB UMD IDE Hdd.
Display(s) SAMSUNG 22" LCDTV HD Monitor and Samsung 24"
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690
Audio Device(s) USB 2.0 Sound (USB out to my Stero System)
Power Supply Thermaltake XT TPX-775M 775W
Software Windows XP Home SP3
#6
DVI i would say for the computer. My monitor didn't come with a DVI just a VGA. however i love the rich color that DVI has over VGA. I would then go VGA for the xbox.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,680 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,356
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#7
The gaming console I have know idea ...but the Monitor should be DVI my friend as thats your Hi Def out put from your Vid card:toast:
720P is considered hi def ..its just the low end .
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
116 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Corsair 1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 7870
Storage 120GB Kingston SSD, 2TB HDD
Display(s) Sony 32" HDTV
Case Corsair 230T
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Corsair 500W
Software Windows 8 64bit
#8
Thanks for all the replies guys :)

Looks like I have some cable shopping to do. Does it matter if the leads are particularly high quality?

Also, you can get dual-link or single-link DVI, in DVI-D, DVI-A or DVI-I. I'm guessing I should get a DVI-I or DVI-D lead.

The 360 VGA leads have a red and white audio output on them, I suppose I have to plug them straight into my stereo and that it wouldn't work if I just plugged them into the component on my TV, because VGA input would be selected at the time? If so, that would be a bit of a pain.
 
Last edited: