1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Silicon Power Rolls Out Pair of USB 3.0 Cards for Desktops and Notebooks

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,762 (9.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,507
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Silicon Power today added to the propagation of the USB 3.0 SuperSpeed interconnect standard, by releasing two 2-port expansion cards, one that uses the PCI Express x1 interface, and one suited for notebooks with the ExpressCard 34 slot. Both cards are fully compliant with Intel's xHCI (extensible Host Controller Interface) standard, and deliver up to 900 mA of current to connected devices (80% over USB 2.0), and 5 Gb/s of bandwidth (10 times over that of the USB 2.0). The cards come backed by 2-year warranties, though the company did not give out pricing.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  2. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    13,782 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,623
    Does the PCI-E version really need that extra power?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I saw the laptop one at their website and now know where the original news article dissapeared to. :D

    I wonder why they did not just make the USB 3.0 spec at 1A, instead of 900mA?
     
  4. Static~Charge

    Static~Charge

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    636 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    294
    I browsed the USB 3.0 cards on newegg.com, and almost all of them have a supplemental power connector (floppy, Molex, or even SATA).
     
  5. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,868 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    878
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    ^ I've seen one that doesn't have it, so I'll never buy one that does.

    Besides, where's our quad-port cards!
     
  6. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    I have been wanting to get one of these 3.0 cards for my laptop, however they stick out too much. Perhaps down the road they will make them smaller.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,453 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,703
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    it seems weird to me as well, 900ma @ 5V = 4.5W x2 = 9W, is 9W really that hard for a PCI-E slot to output? doubt it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. BazookaJoe

    BazookaJoe

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    874 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    242
    Ppl please - Stop being silly.

    The cards work PERFECTLY FINE IF YOU DO NOT CONNECT THE POWER CONNECTOR

    I Have a Gigabyte card with a power connector and it is NOT ESSENTIAL TO PLUG IT IN

    It is just an option for ppl who expect to run self powered devices such as external Blu-Ray writers and such that they KNOW will permanently draw lots of power, so that they don't HAVE to put that load on their motherboard BUS, that may already have enough work to do, and hell, if you HAVE a spare connector WHY THE FUNK NOT USE IT? Apart from for the sheer sake of being an otherwise ass-hat for attention.. And if you don't have one then that's fine too

    THE CARD CAN, AND DOES WORK PERFECTLY FINE WITHOUT THE POWER CONNECTED (Well at least my Gigabyte one does)

    Do you all think you need to have 2 (or 3 or whatever) monitors for your video card to work? But that has 2 or more ports? - What about your 7.1 surround sound card - does it fail to make sound if you don't plug all 7.1 speakers in? - Just because a connector exists does not mean you have to use it for the device to work.


    - And I do apologise in advance for being a sarcy biach.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2010
    Soylent Joe, Frick and Mussels say thanks.
  9. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yes
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,453 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,703
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    generally anything with power connectors (motherboards, video cards, hard drives, DVD drives, etc etc) tends to get unhappy without a power connector. so yes, we assumed it needed it.

    since its not neccesary, AWESOME.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. pantherx12

    pantherx12

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,718 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex, England
    Anyone think it would of made sense drawing power from ye-olde usb 2.0 mobo headers?

    Having it molex means more PSU wire clutter D:

    Although only really a concern for specific people apprently seeing as it doesn't need it., cheers Bazooka!
     
  12. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,868 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    878
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    ^ Nope. I would have still passed it up.

    < This ass-hat is vain.
     
  13. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    nice but extra power?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    I have never had USB hubs work without expansion (moar power). Example: My G15 moves at slow USB 1.0 speeds cause it does not get enough power from USB 2.0 slots.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,453 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,703
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i've had hubs work without it, they run everything fine but 2.5" HDD enclosures.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. BazookaJoe

    BazookaJoe

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    874 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    242
    I've had endless troubles with external 2.5" enclosures across a number of different brands of enclosures and PC's. Going to be interesting to see how that works now with USB3, as in will it be any better...

    Certainly the Storage Capacity vs Physical Size vs Speed equation is looking very good with 2.5" drives on USB3.
     
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,453 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,703
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    3.0 has more power behind it, so the 2.5" drivse that exist now should work fine.

    while its possible someone may design drives to work on 3.0 power specs, breaking 2.0 compatibility isnt something i expect to see happen.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)