• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

SIMM and DIMM together... works?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 4, 2013
Messages
67
Likes
0
#1
i have a two memory cards, type ddr1 and 256mb.
If I combine the two cards, they will work better and no blue screens? (BSODs)
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2009
Messages
778
Likes
913
Location
Romania
System Name Asus ROG G752VY
Processor i7-6700HQ
Memory 24GB DDR4 2133mhz
Video Card(s) nvidia 980m
Storage Samsung SSD 850 pro 2TB+1tb hdd 7200rpm
Software Mageia 6 + Windows 10
#2
No, it will not work, it will not boot...
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,364
Likes
9,491
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#4
"DIMMs do not have backwards compatibility with SIMMs, therefore it is not possible to slowly simply upgrade the memory modules. Moving from SIMMs to DIMMs required a replacement of the motherboard which could sometimes mean the replacement of the processor"

I think you're confused.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,364
Likes
9,491
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#6
works fine for me... but BDOSs for sometimes..
SIMM's are single line, DIMMS are dual line. If your PC is running, it's operating on a single Memory module, and will blue screen when it tries to use whatever is in the other slot. I'm amazed it gets past the POST at all. It is not wise to use both at once. At all.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
2,442
Likes
1,866
#7
Let's define a few terms.

SIMM - Single in-line memory module
DIMM - Dual in-line memory module
SO-DIMM - Small outline dual in-line memory module (the stuff you use in laptops)

The two types of memory have pin connections on both sides, but on a SIMM the opposite side is redundant and does nothing. SIMMs died out nearly two decades ago, as producing DIMMs allowed for more capacity.

So now that we are on the same page, what in Hades is the question here? You seem to imply that you can put SIMMs and DIMMs together, and have them work. This is impossible, as no hardware offered the ability to physically install both types of RAM at the same time. They have fundamentally different pin configurations, and therefore would not actually fit.

You use the term "card." Is that a memory module? What exactly are you working with? Are you trying to install Windows 7 on a system that is 20 years old, and getting errors because you don't have enough RAM?


I would suggest two things here. Do a little research, and make sure we are all on the same page with terminology. It makes trouble shooting easier. Frame your problem with some extra information. Nobody can offer you help if you can't tell us what is going on. Address these two issues and we can help, otherwise we're not really capable of helping because we don't know what the problem actually is.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
4,559
Likes
2,699
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name My Rig | Kids Rig
Processor Core i5 3570K @ 4.0 ghz 1.15 vcore | FX 8350 @4 ghz
Motherboard EVGA Z77 FTW 1.21 BIOS |Gigabyte 990FXA UDH (rev 4.0)
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO R2-push/pull with 2x 120mm PWM | CM Hyper 212
Memory Mushkin Blackline 4GB x 2 1600mhz XMP profile |G. Skill 4GB x 2 DDR3 1866mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 8gb | Asus Strix R9 390X 8GB
Storage Kingston SSDNOW V300 120/240 GB OS & Games / 1000 GB Data | 320GB OS / 500GB Data & Games
Display(s) Samsung S24D590 24" PLS 5ms 60hz refresh with Enhanced Sync | BenQ GW2270 22" VA 5ms 60hz refresh
Case NZXT 810 Switch |Thermaltake Soprano Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DSX w/ Logitech z623 | Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750W 80+ Gold | CoolerMaster GS750M 80+ Bronze
Mouse Razer Diamondback Chroma | Tt Level 10M
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma w/ meka-membrane keys | MadCatz S.T.R.I.K.E. TE w/ Kailh brown
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Thanks to Norton/Lt_JWS/Guitar for the 2nd pc parts :)
#8
otherwise we're not really capable of helping because we don't know what the problem actually is.
there probably isn't a problem in the 1st place. OP makes threads like these asking vague questions and then disregards the answers given...
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,743
Likes
6,002
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#9
I don't see how it could possibly work, apart from the format already mentioned, most dimms are 168 or 184 pin and most simms are 30 or 72 pin, now unless you can find a motherboard that supports both, which you can't I think someone is either bored or smokin da stuff! .... thread closed for sanity's sake (mine :))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.