1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Single 5970 can't run eyefinity with DX11?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by shevanel, Dec 15, 2009.

  1. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2009
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,643 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,144
    He says in the video it's most likely due to the ultra high resolution he's using.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    yeah I know, it's impressive how high the res is and this card perfoms so well on DX9.

    I'm thinking it's a DX11 card that cannot run eyefinity on 3x30" lcds in DX11.. $600 card.
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,643 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,144
    What a shame for the ultra-rich! A travesty!:laugh:

    I wouldn't be too worried since the cards are on their initial drivers. It'll get fixed.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    this might be a dumb question but why si the cpu usage so low? Why then do people discuss bottlenecks, does cpu usage have anything to do with bottlenecks? More importantly, low cpu usage.
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,643 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,144
    No bottleneck here. You would need a current generation of any brand of CPU to be running sub 3ghz for any bottleneck to begin happening. Even with a 5970 I'm quite sure.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    so if the cpu usage is higher that means the card is doing less work?
     
  8. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,996 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Well some games are just not CPU intensive ;)
    Racing games in general are pretty easy on the CPU as long as no physics effects are run on the CPU.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    is that a good thing or bad thing?
     
  10. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,996 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Its a good thing, the game is utilizing dedicated hardware to do the job.
    GPUs are co-processors afterall, and they are meant to be used.
     
    shevanel says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    So GTA4 could be a good example of a game that is CPU intensive?

    But if it's not using the dedicated hardware for the job how does a GPU more powerful benefit?
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,455 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,714
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    a certain amount of CPU power is required to feed the video card.

    Then there are games that just use tons of CPU power for non graphics tasks. (most RTS games are heavy on the CPU, for example)

    So depending on the game, you can end up CPU limited a lot faster
     
    shevanel says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    Well maybe when they fix eyefinity on xfire then they can use 2 x $600 gpus to power DX11 on those 3 x $350 monitors.
     
  14. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,996 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    It seems that it doesn't require much CPU power to just feed the graphics card alone.
    For example, Furmark runs just as fast on a Phenom II 810 @stock as an i7 @4Ghz.
    But then, there is Vantage that do get affected by CPU much more.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,754
    Location:
    PA, USA
    If you look at the GPU score only in vantage only the CPU has very little to contribute.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)