1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[WTB][US] Single rail PSU 400-600 watts. cheap

Discussion in 'Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveaway Forum' started by Fitseries3, Aug 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Heatware:
    180 3 1 
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i need a cheap 400-600 watt PSU for a project i have. doesn't need to be anything special but i dont want some POS no name PSU. this ABSOLUTELY has to be able to support a 360watt load all the time on a single cable.

    i'll be modding the PSU so that only 1 10 gauge wire pair and a switch will be left.(thats why it needs to be single rail)

    i prefer to pay little or nothing for it but better brands will get more of my money.

    let me know if you have anything.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Heatware:
    185 0 0 
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,105 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Kansas
    Does Okia count as no-name? I've got a 450 watt that would cost little to nothing.:)
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Heatware:
    180 3 1 
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    pics.. i've never heard of it though..... lol!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Heatware:
    185 0 0 
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,105 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Kansas
    ygpm
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. ascstinger

    ascstinger New Member

    Heatware:
    16 0 0 
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    544 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    In a house
    this for the phase-change unit you were building?
     
  6. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Heatware:
    180 3 1 
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    no.



    but im still working on the phase. gonna update that thread tomorrow when i get my parts in.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Heatware:
    79 0 0 
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Actually, Okia is not a "no-name" generic, their quality is a little under Sparkle (which is based off FSP's units). Also, here's just something that may interest you.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817255010

    I personally own one of these as a backup but ran a 3870 on one for about a month or 2, no instability issues at all.

    PS: Don't let the name brand scare you and don't laugh at me. :)
     
    DonInKansas and Fitseries3 say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Heatware:
    180 3 1 
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    getting better. still no cigar. im kinda hoping for like an older corsair, enermax, antec, etc. or similar.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Heatware:
    2 0 0 
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,168 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Florida, US
    there's nothing wrong with okia.. ;)
    I'd offer you my backup, but then I wouldn't have a backup :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,914 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    best i have is 350 antec
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. blTb

    blTb New Member

    Heatware:
    23 3 0 
    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    252 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Littleton,CO
    Dynapower is not so bad . I'm using one almost 2 years(550W). Had no stability issues + right now i'm running HD2900XT on it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.