1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SIS 5598 No S-Video signal???

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by mc-dexter, Feb 14, 2009.

  1. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    Ok so i have a little old card called a SiS 5598/

    heres the thing, loading the XP boot screen comes up fine, but there on after i get nothing on screen, any idea's?

    I've tried setting the resolution to 640 x 480, no diffrence.

    I'm using the driver what XP installed itself.

    My guess is this is a driver issue?
     
  2. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    It can be a driver issue indeed.

    reinstall the driver using the latest one, sometimes XP auto installs some HW that don't work properly 'till you update it to the latest one.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    From my other thread on pretty much the same topic you said
    just curious to why you said what you did in this thread but not in the other and vice versa.

    anyways i'll take the quote what you said in the other thread if any BUT i've recently discovered i am now able to boot using my TV into windows, everything works fine in 640 x 480 display mode which is expected using my TV - which is also fine as it's being soley used as a large second display, only.

    The problem now is... :(

    Using any type of video in 640 x 480 mode does not work! i get the glitchy look, as in keeps jumping, like no graphics driver installed

    Also i only get it to display when uninstalling display drivers (the ones windows installs) and reboot.
     
  4. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    I think that card is a dinosaur and cannot even render the streaming properly. I use to had the same issue when I used my very past K7VM2 board that It has a Savage 3D IGP with 32MB shared, It can't render any video res. of 800x600 and above.

    Or like I said that card didn't have an XP driver, so the issues could be due to a certain incompatibility, and again, It'll not work unless SiS launch an XP driver (don't count with it).

    So run that card with Win 2000 or below, or simply use another option.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,001 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,502
    Location:
    US
    Some cards to me seem better than some. Like the GF400 is better than the 9600XT as it acts like your saying but also with 2 lines that go though the picture. With the 7200GS it's better with S-video than the ATI card too.

    Compatability maybe driver also could be another but no ATI drivers made the 9600XT perform as good with s-video than the other 2 cards for me all though my 2900XT is as good in quality as the nVidia cards but i don't use it as it takes to much power lol.

    EDIT: i am hoping i do not have issue's with the s-video on the intels ATOM mobo in a few weeks.

    If your getting no display maybe the power saving is interfering with it but thats like after the set idle time to turn the monitor off though.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    I understand your point on the better quality, but the problem with the glitchy looks is also when using ONLY the Dell monitor through VGA cable, rather than S-Video... well aswel as using the S-Video, doesnt make a diffrence between the two - hence me thinking Driver issue :(
     
  7. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,001 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,502
    Location:
    US
    Ive always had a DVI or D plug connected at the same time as i have never tried it as s-video looks nasty on tube TV's normally.

    I tried a few drivers my self with the ATI 9600XT and same thing every time and it bounced around a lot with 2 lines moving though the picture was very annoying.

    These screen issue's are only on the TV right ?.

    Any chance you have another v card to try it with ?..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    The issue is with both VGA & S-Video.

    I don't get those "2 lines" you have mentioned so thats one less worry for me, lol.

    I do have other Graphics cards... more than enough come to mention it, but they have no S-Video and for AGP so unable to test on the main rig i am using.
     
  9. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,001 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,502
    Location:
    US
    Any chance of a pic ?... Maybe try driver cleaner or\and Driver Sweeper to remove the drivers then reinstall them ?.

    Also check that your mobo drivers are upto date maybe reinstall those too.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    I'll upload a pic later tonight when i've got the camera back.

    There is no drivers to install for the mobo as it's pretty old and cheap, some sort of packard bell machine, lol. as know of it's a AMD Athlon XP 1700+, and a Gigabyte mobo i belive with 320mb of ram, so its nothing special at all, just would like it as a spare movie player in another bedroom.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)