• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SLI issues with 970's info below

csanityy

New Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2018
Messages
5 (0.16/day)
Likes
0
#1
Asrock z97 extreme4
970 msi 4 gb
970 zontac 4 gb
sli bridge connected.
latest drivers from 12/20/2018 (so what ever the last drivers were)
(posted all pictures i think necessary)

i have removed cards 1 by 1 each slot tested. in correct spots according to manual.
unistalled drivers doing 1 by 1 and both at same time.
swapping cards back and forth in both spots booting an restarting.

When in nvidia control panel *attached* it says disable sli so it notices it is SLI'ed (i think) but wont let me enable im frustrated because im a sorta tech-savy kinda guy but no means the best and i'm stumped i never thought i would have to post on a forums page to get help. so if any one has any info on what i can do for my friends pc it was a xmas gift i gave him my old 970 to sli his current one. if anyone could help a friend and find a result that would be amazing. (also first time doing sli)
 

Attachments

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,796 (5.37/day)
Likes
12,173
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
It looks to me, at least according to the nVidia Control Panel screenshot, that it isn't detecting that your SLI bridge is installed.

It could be faulty, or not pushed on all the way.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2018
Messages
535 (2.31/day)
Likes
175
Location
Jeddah , Saudi Arabia.
System Name POTATO
Processor Core 2 Duo E7600 @ 3.38 GHz stock voltage
Motherboard GA-945GCM-S2C
Cooling Intel stock cooler
Memory 3 GB DDR2 800 MHz @ 745 MHz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 750 TI FML OC 2GB
Storage Western Digital 500 GB 7.2K RPM (5000AAKX) + Western Digital 200 GB 7.2K RPM (2000 JS)
Display(s) Samsung E1920
Case Unbranded , Mini tower
Audio Device(s) Creative inspire 4.1 4400
Power Supply Microdigit MD2111P , unknown wattage!(probably around 400-500W)+Buying this thing was a huge mistake
Mouse Genius NetScroll 120
Keyboard HP SK-2885
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 32 bit
#3
SLI is disabled.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
402 (0.14/day)
Likes
146
System Name future xeon II
Processor DUAL SOCKET xeon e5 2686 v3 , 36c/72t, hacked all cores @3.5ghz, TDP limit hacked
Motherboard asrock rack ep2c612 ws
Cooling case fans,liquid corsair h100iv2 x2
Memory 48gb ddr4 2133mhz gskill
Video Card(s) 2x 1080 sc acx3 SLI, @115% tdp,+95 core, +410 mem
Storage 2x ssd evo750 512gb, one for OS, one for caching spinners(10TB)
Display(s) philips 40" bdm4065uc 4k @60
Case silverstone temjin tj07-b
Audio Device(s) sb Z
Power Supply corsair hx1200i
Mouse corsair m95 16 buttons
Keyboard microsoft internet keyboard pro
Software windows 10 x64 rs3 fall creators update ,enterprise
Benchmark Scores fire strike ultra- 10k time spy- 15k cpu z- 400/7500
#4
You should install your chipset intel drivers from HERE:

https://www.station-drivers.com/ind...tory&Itemid=352&func=fileinfo&id=2917&lang=en

create a shortcut to the setup exe in the directory and add command line option -overall in the destination field, run it, it will install the inf and replace all drivers in the device manager.
screen will blink a few times, after which your SLI should be selectable to enable. Post back here with results.
It does not seem related to the bridge which you said is installed.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
24,337 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,029
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#5
You should install your chipset intel drivers from HERE:

https://www.station-drivers.com/ind...tory&Itemid=352&func=fileinfo&id=2917&lang=en

create a shortcut to the setup exe in the directory and add command line option -overall in the destination field, run it, it will install the inf and replace all drivers in the device manager.
screen will blink a few times, after which your SLI should be selectable to enable. Post back here with results.
It does not seem related to the bridge which you said is installed.
Id only get drivers from motherboard maker and, chipset maker and gpu maker only.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
402 (0.14/day)
Likes
146
System Name future xeon II
Processor DUAL SOCKET xeon e5 2686 v3 , 36c/72t, hacked all cores @3.5ghz, TDP limit hacked
Motherboard asrock rack ep2c612 ws
Cooling case fans,liquid corsair h100iv2 x2
Memory 48gb ddr4 2133mhz gskill
Video Card(s) 2x 1080 sc acx3 SLI, @115% tdp,+95 core, +410 mem
Storage 2x ssd evo750 512gb, one for OS, one for caching spinners(10TB)
Display(s) philips 40" bdm4065uc 4k @60
Case silverstone temjin tj07-b
Audio Device(s) sb Z
Power Supply corsair hx1200i
Mouse corsair m95 16 buttons
Keyboard microsoft internet keyboard pro
Software windows 10 x64 rs3 fall creators update ,enterprise
Benchmark Scores fire strike ultra- 10k time spy- 15k cpu z- 400/7500
#6
True, but in his case we need to run the most recent and compatible version of the chipset driver, and nothing wrong with station drivers credibility. This version of the driver was tested by me and contrary to other versions or revisions of it, it does support SLI in the most complete form.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
24,337 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,029
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
402 (0.14/day)
Likes
146
System Name future xeon II
Processor DUAL SOCKET xeon e5 2686 v3 , 36c/72t, hacked all cores @3.5ghz, TDP limit hacked
Motherboard asrock rack ep2c612 ws
Cooling case fans,liquid corsair h100iv2 x2
Memory 48gb ddr4 2133mhz gskill
Video Card(s) 2x 1080 sc acx3 SLI, @115% tdp,+95 core, +410 mem
Storage 2x ssd evo750 512gb, one for OS, one for caching spinners(10TB)
Display(s) philips 40" bdm4065uc 4k @60
Case silverstone temjin tj07-b
Audio Device(s) sb Z
Power Supply corsair hx1200i
Mouse corsair m95 16 buttons
Keyboard microsoft internet keyboard pro
Software windows 10 x64 rs3 fall creators update ,enterprise
Benchmark Scores fire strike ultra- 10k time spy- 15k cpu z- 400/7500
Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Messages
398 (1.97/day)
Likes
131
Location
Haswell, USA
System Name M6700/AW 17 R1/M18X R2/P377SMA/H500 Custom
Processor i7 3740QM (3.5ghz) /i7 4710MQ (3.6ghz) /i7 3940XM (4.3ghz)/ i7 4700MQ (3.4ghz)/ i3 4130 (4ghz)
Motherboard Dell HM77/AW HM87/AW HM77/Clevo HM87/ Sapphire Z87
Cooling Built in heatsinks/Corsair H50
Memory 16GB/32GB/16GB/12GB/12GB
Video Card(s) WX7100/1070/980M SLI/1070 SLI/R9 Fury X
Storage 512GB SSD/256 GB SSD & 1TB HDD/ 512GB MSATA+1TB HDD/250GB SSD/512GB SSD+ RAID 0 2TB HDD
Display(s) 1080p 120hz/1080p 144hz/1080p 75hz/1440p 120hz/1024p 75hz 1200p 60hz 1050p 100hz
Case Laptops/H500
Audio Device(s) Integreated/Integreated/Recon Sound Core 3/Onkyo
Power Supply 240w/330w/330w x2/330w x2/750w
Mouse too many
Keyboard Some cheapo Mech Redragon (Blue switchs)
Software Windows 8.1/Windows 10
#9
I believe that 970's had a lot of issues with SLI if they weren't from the same manufacture. I would personally sell them and get a 1070
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
24,337 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,029
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
402 (0.14/day)
Likes
146
System Name future xeon II
Processor DUAL SOCKET xeon e5 2686 v3 , 36c/72t, hacked all cores @3.5ghz, TDP limit hacked
Motherboard asrock rack ep2c612 ws
Cooling case fans,liquid corsair h100iv2 x2
Memory 48gb ddr4 2133mhz gskill
Video Card(s) 2x 1080 sc acx3 SLI, @115% tdp,+95 core, +410 mem
Storage 2x ssd evo750 512gb, one for OS, one for caching spinners(10TB)
Display(s) philips 40" bdm4065uc 4k @60
Case silverstone temjin tj07-b
Audio Device(s) sb Z
Power Supply corsair hx1200i
Mouse corsair m95 16 buttons
Keyboard microsoft internet keyboard pro
Software windows 10 x64 rs3 fall creators update ,enterprise
Benchmark Scores fire strike ultra- 10k time spy- 15k cpu z- 400/7500
#11
with turing cards (rtx) it is nvlink, an evolution of sli with more bandwidth, similar to the progress from sli to sli-hb bridges.
That knowledgebase article is strictly about SLI though, even though it talks about scalable link, it is just the long name for sli, not to be confused with nvlink.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
24,337 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,029
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,796 (5.37/day)
Likes
12,173
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#13

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
24,337 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,029
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#14
They'll work with either a standard or HB bridge.
Yeah couldnt remember when they switched from sli to hb to nvlink, never dealt with the dual card tech on each side since you couldnt get 100% out of it from day 1.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
5,782 (3.28/day)
Likes
4,314
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Volt
Processor i7-4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 250GB SSD / 2x1TB + 2x2TB HDD
Display(s) 3x AOC 2425W + ViewSonic VA2855Smh
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 6
Audio Device(s) LucidSound LS30
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Technical term is PEBCAK issue, which stands for Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard
#15
Yeah couldnt remember when they switched from sli to hb to nvlink, never dealt with the dual card tech on each side since you couldnt get 100% out of it from day 1.
HB with 10 series. NV with 20.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,796 (5.37/day)
Likes
12,173
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#16
Yeah couldnt remember when they switched from sli to hb to nvlink, never dealt with the dual card tech on each side since you couldnt get 100% out of it from day 1.
The interesting thing is even the GTX10 series will work with the standard bridge, it will just complain that you should be using an HB bridge.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2017
Messages
837 (1.17/day)
Likes
359
Processor i7-6700k
Motherboard asus z170i pro gaming
Cooling ekwb custom loop for cpu/gpu running on d5 and 480 rad
Memory 2*16gb ddr4-2400
Video Card(s) msi geforce gtx 1080 ti aero
Storage 250gb 950 pro, 2*500gb samsung 850 evo
Display(s) asus pg279q, eizo ev2736w
Case thermaltake core p5
Power Supply seasonic platinum 660
Mouse logitech g700
Keyboard corsair k60
#17
Start from TPU Forums' own SLI with different cards thread:
https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/sli-with-different-cards.158907/

SLI is not guaranteed to work with different cards. That includes cards that are on reference PCB but from different manufacturers. In your case, MSI is probably a custom PCB one as well (GTX 980 PCB if my memory serves right). It is more than likely that you will not be able to run legit SLI with these cards.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,796 (5.37/day)
Likes
12,173
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#18
Start from TPU Forums' own SLI with different cards thread:
https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/sli-with-different-cards.158907/

SLI is not guaranteed to work with different cards. That includes cards that are on reference PCB but from different manufacturers. In your case, MSI is probably a custom PCB one as well (GTX 980 PCB if my memory serves right). It is more than likely that you will not be able to run legit SLI with these cards.
If people would look at the screenshots, the nVidia driver IS saying the system is ready for SLI. That means the different cards don't matter, the motherboard is fine, if either was an issue it would say the system can't use SLI. The nVidia control panel is saying to use SLI, connect a bridge. The problem is for some reason, the nVidia driver doesn't think there is an SLI bridge connected.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
402 (0.14/day)
Likes
146
System Name future xeon II
Processor DUAL SOCKET xeon e5 2686 v3 , 36c/72t, hacked all cores @3.5ghz, TDP limit hacked
Motherboard asrock rack ep2c612 ws
Cooling case fans,liquid corsair h100iv2 x2
Memory 48gb ddr4 2133mhz gskill
Video Card(s) 2x 1080 sc acx3 SLI, @115% tdp,+95 core, +410 mem
Storage 2x ssd evo750 512gb, one for OS, one for caching spinners(10TB)
Display(s) philips 40" bdm4065uc 4k @60
Case silverstone temjin tj07-b
Audio Device(s) sb Z
Power Supply corsair hx1200i
Mouse corsair m95 16 buttons
Keyboard microsoft internet keyboard pro
Software windows 10 x64 rs3 fall creators update ,enterprise
Benchmark Scores fire strike ultra- 10k time spy- 15k cpu z- 400/7500
#19
albeit even if the driver doesn't see it, the bridge is only recommended, not mandatory, so it calls for some more troubleshooting
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,796 (5.37/day)
Likes
12,173
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#20
albeit even if the driver doesn't see it, the bridge is only recommended, not mandatory, so it calls for some more troubleshooting
No, the bridge is mandatory for SLI to work.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
24,337 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,029
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#21
If people would look at the screenshots, the nVidia driver IS saying the system is ready for SLI. That means the different cards don't matter, the motherboard is fine, if either was an issue it would say the system can't use SLI. The nVidia control panel is saying to use SLI, connect a bridge. The problem is for some reason, the nVidia driver doesn't think there is an SLI bridge connected.
Typically the bridge is bad on these
 

csanityy

New Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2018
Messages
5 (0.16/day)
Likes
0
#22
You should install your chipset intel drivers from HERE:

https://www.station-drivers.com/ind...tory&Itemid=352&func=fileinfo&id=2917&lang=en

create a shortcut to the setup exe in the directory and add command line option -overall in the destination field, run it, it will install the inf and replace all drivers in the device manager.
screen will blink a few times, after which your SLI should be selectable to enable. Post back here with results.
It does not seem related to the bridge which you said is installed.
Thanks for the quick replies I will do this and will have a update around xmas eve, and i have 2 different sli bridges tested should i go out and buy another bridge to test? but i try the troubleshoot page and go through all these comments an test everything next week, i live a hour away and work every day, so wont be till xmas eve, i will post pictures of cards, bridges ive used, and anything else that anyone else might think i should post to show what im doing.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,796 (5.37/day)
Likes
12,173
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#23
Yeah, pictures of the setup would be nice, and the bridges you are using.

In my experience the connectors on the bridges tend to currode if they just sit for too long. This especially happens with the cheap bridges that come with motherboards.

Typically the bridge is bad on these
Yeah, that is my experience as well.
 

csanityy

New Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2018
Messages
5 (0.16/day)
Likes
0
#24
Yeah, pictures of the setup would be nice, and the bridges you are using.

In my experience the connectors on the bridges tend to currode if they just sit for too long. This especially happens with the cheap bridges that come with motherboards.



Yeah, that is my experience as well.

but even if both bridges were still wrapped up not opened?
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,185 (4.02/day)
Likes
11,451
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
#25
but even if both bridges were still wrapped up not opened?
Those are antistatic bags, they don't keep out times effect. Asrock merely rolls an anti static, & tapes one end in the middle. Ive never had one go bad, but that doesnt mean they cant i suppose.

you could also DL Asrocks AI suite, it will check if you need any bios, or other driver updates automatically.
 
Top