• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

SLI Question 7950 GT and 7950 GT OC

Elohssa

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2006
Messages
29 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
question...

Can I SLI these 2 cards ??
Original card is a BFG 7950 GT 512mb
I just got a new card but Fry's sent me the BFG 7950 GT OC model

My Motherboard is a ASUS M2N-SLI DELUXE ACPI BIOS Revision 0609

Will the different clock speeds hurt ??

Thanks for any information yall can give
 

Demos_sav

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2006
Messages
870 (0.21/day)
Likes
42
Location
Cyprus
Processor Intel P4 519K LGA775 3.06GHz @ 3.82GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5WD2
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory 3GB Kingston Hyper-X DDR2 3-4-3-6 @667MHz
Video Card(s) XFX 8800 GTS 320MB XXX Edition @ 630/970
Storage Samsung 160GB SATA2 7200RPM 8MB
Display(s) SONY SDM HS75 17' LCD
Case Interset (black)
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD ALC882 8-channel onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Software Windows XP Home edition 32bit fully tuned
Benchmark Scores 3dm01-29689 3dm03-31099 3dm05-10298 3dm06-6409
#2
I don't think that it is going to be a problem. If it is, the only problem that will be caused will be no display on the screen. But I STRONGLY beleive that there won't be any problems at all
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,365
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
There shouldn't be any problem at all, the faster card will just downclock to match the slower card.
 

Elohssa

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2006
Messages
29 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#4
Kewl Thanks...



Now if i can find the *&@%!!*&%^@ SLI bridge......

i gotta change the profile... still shows the Old PC
 
Joined
May 14, 2006
Messages
997 (0.24/day)
Likes
13
Location
Kentucky
System Name Sony Vaio - VGNFW390-CTO
Processor Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T9550 (2.66GHz)
Cooling Stock
Memory 4GB DDR2-SDRAM (DDR2-800, 2GBx2)
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 3650 with 512MB vRAM (pitiful card)
Storage 320GB SATA Hard Disk Drive [7200 rpm]
Display(s) LCD 16.4" (XBRITE-FullHD™)
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX
Software Windows 7
#5
Hey, I have an extra one I could sell you for cheap!
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#6
If the clocks on the slower caed aren't too far from the OC card, you can flash the BIOS to meet the clocks of the OC card. Just make sure it's stabke before you SLI.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,365
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
A better option would be let the higher one match the slower one then just overclock both of them as high as you can.
 

Elohssa

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2006
Messages
29 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#8
I havent changed anything...
But when i install the second card ( I found the bridge ) i get no video.
I forgot to mention the second card does have power

I couldnt find anything to change in the bios settings....

any ideas ??
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,365
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
No video at all, or no video out of the second card?
 

Elohssa

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2006
Messages
29 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#10
no video at all....
im kinda new to this ( Obviously )
so im thinking im doing something wrong
 

Elohssa

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2006
Messages
29 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#11
either card will work fine if installed alone...

But if i install both my PC wont even post



HELLLLLPPPPPPPPPPP !!!!
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,365
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#12
Your power supply is good enough to support both at the same time, right?
 

bruins004

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
2,479 (0.56/day)
Likes
74
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (939)
Motherboard MSI Neo K8n Neo4-F with Nforce 4
Cooling ThermalTake Venus12 + 3 case fans + PCI slot cooler for GPU
Memory 2x 512mb Kingston PC-3200
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 7800GT
Storage Western Digital 160GB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2025WM
Case Logisys Dracula Case (Black)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound, Logitech X-530 Surround Sound Speakers
Power Supply OCZ PowerStream 520W
Software Window XP Pro, Office Suite, Tons of Games
#14
yeppers
700W Sli Ready...
Watts does not mean much for a PSU.
These are the things that matter

1. PSU Manufacturer (Quality Manufacturer or not mean the quality of the PSU)
2. OEM or parts used in the PSU
3. Amps available on the 12V rail(s)
4. Safeties on the PSU (overvoltage, undervoltage, etc.)
 

Elohssa

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2006
Messages
29 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#15
Im at work so not 100% certain

But im pretty sure its a
Thermalake 700W W0105RU SLI Ready

It does have 2X 6pin PCI-e connectors
 

bruins004

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
2,479 (0.56/day)
Likes
74
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (939)
Motherboard MSI Neo K8n Neo4-F with Nforce 4
Cooling ThermalTake Venus12 + 3 case fans + PCI slot cooler for GPU
Memory 2x 512mb Kingston PC-3200
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 7800GT
Storage Western Digital 160GB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2025WM
Case Logisys Dracula Case (Black)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound, Logitech X-530 Surround Sound Speakers
Power Supply OCZ PowerStream 520W
Software Window XP Pro, Office Suite, Tons of Games
#16

Elohssa

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2006
Messages
29 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#17
I was able to track down my original order
power supply : FSP Group (Fortron Source) FX700-GLN ATX12V
MoBo : Asus M2N-Sli Deluxe
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#18
yeah, no problem sli ing these too cards. It will just clocked down for the slower. Then, you can oc b oth of em.
 

Elohssa

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2006
Messages
29 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#19
Sorry about the re-post I keep getting logged out of the forums But...

I was able to track down my original order
power supply : FSP Group (Fortron Source) FX700-GLN ATX12V
MoBo : Asus M2N-Sli Deluxe
Original Video is : Bfg tech bfgr7950512gtoce

The new one is a BFG 7950 GT OC

( I thought the original one was just the GT model )

I even downloaded the latest Nvidia driver and reloaded it

Nothing in the Bios or Nvidia driver shows any set-up for SLI mode

I cant understand what my problem is...
 

bruins004

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
2,479 (0.56/day)
Likes
74
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (939)
Motherboard MSI Neo K8n Neo4-F with Nforce 4
Cooling ThermalTake Venus12 + 3 case fans + PCI slot cooler for GPU
Memory 2x 512mb Kingston PC-3200
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 7800GT
Storage Western Digital 160GB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2025WM
Case Logisys Dracula Case (Black)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound, Logitech X-530 Surround Sound Speakers
Power Supply OCZ PowerStream 520W
Software Window XP Pro, Office Suite, Tons of Games
#20
Sorry about the re-post I keep getting logged out of the forums But...

I was able to track down my original order
power supply : FSP Group (Fortron Source) FX700-GLN ATX12V
MoBo : Asus M2N-Sli Deluxe
Original Video is : Bfg tech bfgr7950512gtoce

The new one is a BFG 7950 GT OC

( I thought the original one was just the GT model )

I even downloaded the latest Nvidia driver and reloaded it

Nothing in the Bios or Nvidia driver shows any set-up for SLI mode

I cant understand what my problem is...
There is no 7950 vanilla card.
There is only a 7950GT which is the 2 cards that you have.
And yes they will work in SLI so you shouldnt have any issues there.
Just please note that NOT all games support SLI/Crossfire.

A FSP 700W PSU is much better than a Thermaltake PSU.
FSP is a quality company who uses a good OEM.

Now on with the problem.
Do you have the latest Nvidia drivers?
Also, make sure your board has the latest bios and that the board is on SLI mode.
 

Elohssa

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2006
Messages
29 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#21
OK Im home and here is what ive done..
Newest Bios 0903
Newest Nvidia driver 94.24

Tested each card in PCI-E slot 1 ... both work fine.
Metered voltage with both cards in... 12.39VDC

If i put either card in PCI-e slot 2 ( the black one on this mobo )
the PC wont post.

I checked the PDF on the mobo and the Bios and i cant find any specific settings to run in SLI

If im not mistakes with only 1 card installed in slot 2 the PC should still post and boot up.