• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

SLI with different cards

Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
867 (0.29/day)
Likes
207
Location
London, UK
System Name The one under the desk / Media Centre
Processor Xeon X3730@3.6GHZ / Phenom II X4 805E
Motherboard Gigabyte P55M-UD4 / Asus Crosshair III
Cooling Corsair H70 + 2*PWM fan / Arctic Alpine 11
Memory 16GB DRR3-1333 9-9-9-27 / 4GB Crucial DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCU GTX 680 / Gigabyte 560TI
Storage Kingston V200 128GB, WD6400AAKS, 1TB Seagate 7.2kRPM SSHD / Kingston V200 128GB
Display(s) Samsung 2343BW + Dell Ultrasharp 1600*1200 / 32" TV
Case C'M' Silencio 550 / Some ancient SilverStone brushed aluminium media centre
Audio Device(s) No.
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675W / EVGA 430W
Mouse Mionix Naos 3200 / Generic PS2
Keyboard Roccat Ryos TKL Pro / Evoluent Mouse Friendly Keyboard (Logitech OEM)
Software Windows 7 Ult x64
Benchmark Scores Nah.
Thanks, sounds good. :)
Nice avatar! Would really hate to encounter that one in the wild, haha. :fear:

So basically I can go with the "regular" (non-DirectCUII) ASUS 4GB then. You wouldn't happen to know if the ASUS is fatter than the Zotac? Wondering if it would occupy too much space in my Asus P8P67 Deluxe. Looks like it's almost the same size, but hard to tell.
That board has room for a triple-slot top card, so you'll be fine either way. Afaik though, they're both just double-slot cards.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2013
Messages
44 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Processor i5 3570K @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H
Memory 12 GB DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 780 @ 993 MHz
Software Win7 64 bits
Sli with msi gtx 560 ti and gtx 560

Hello,

I wanna thank anatolymik for making this possible.

I have SLI'ed a MSI GTX560TI Twin Frozr II/OC with a MSI GTX560 Twin Frozr II/OC. I had the non-TI version for a low price and so I got it to sli with my Ti version.

I have seen review of gtx560 OC with overlocking passing a stock gtx560ti, my OC version pushes more ofc, however I have managed to OC the GTX560 to get closer to my GTX560TI, you can see in the picture I have pushed the non TI to 134.4 GB/s bandwidth to be on pair of the gtx560ti oc. And it works THANKS to THIS MODDED drivers! :D

The GTX560 is 2nd in slot (physical) but I have put it as master in MSI Afterburner, and disable the synchronization of specs for both boards. So I could just OC the non TI 560. It looks good since the 1st card will always heat up more than the 2nd, and if anything I can disable SLI and just get my only 560TI pumping...



I have stock CPU results for the moment, I wanna see how it handles before doing more OC in CPU. I have set the Performance score in pic above, but I have extreme score of X2817. Which means it can pass a stock GTX670.

Again thanks to anatolymik :) Hope you will continue to update drivers :p
 

Snuffy10

New Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Gtx690 and 660

So, after trying the guide again after uninstalling the latest drivers and then going through the guide step by step i got this: Apply a sli cable between the 2 sli ready gfx cards in order to get maximal 3d performance

She picture below (In Danish though)

Anyone got any ideas as to solve this problem?
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
336 (0.14/day)
Likes
51
Location
Portugal
Processor Intel i7 7700k @4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Strix Z270I Gaming
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 2x8GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX980TI OC
Storage Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z / Dell SE198WFP
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv Mini ITX Red/Black Windows
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse Razer Naga Hex Wraith Red
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
Software Windows 10 - 64bit
Hi,

None of the download links work for me are there any mirrors/dropbox etc?

thanks
They working for me, try another browser.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2013
Messages
44 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Processor i5 3570K @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H
Memory 12 GB DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 780 @ 993 MHz
Software Win7 64 bits
So, after trying the guide again after uninstalling the latest drivers and then going through the guide step by step i got this: Apply a sli cable between the 2 sli ready gfx cards in order to get maximal 3d performance

She picture below (In Danish though)

Anyone got any ideas as to solve this problem?
Hello,

Does your motherboard support 3 way SLI? Because although you have 1 slot for 690, this uses the motherboard sli capability throught that only 1 slot because 690 is actually 2 GPU in 1 PCB. Meaning the 2nd slot is unavailable for SLI, unless the motherboard supports 3-way or 4-way SLI.
 

Snuffy10

New Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Hello,

Does your motherboard support 3 way SLI? Because although you have 1 slot for 690, this uses the motherboard sli capability throught that only 1 slot because 690 is actually 2 GPU in 1 PCB. Meaning the 2nd slot is unavailable for SLI, unless the motherboard supports 3-way or 4-way SLI.
I got Asrock z77, as stated in the manual it supports 3 way sli
 

seithan

New Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2013
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Is there any benefit to pair a strong card like a gtx670 with a weak card like a gtx630 ?

What would be the expected FPS increase if you combine 670+660?

Need more tests from people !


Nice mod OP!

edit: also can i propose you update the first post with combinations that work and fps numbers?
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Orlando, FL
System Name My Gaming PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.1GHz Turbo Boost
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Crossfire Motherboard
Cooling Corsair H50 Push-Pull Configuration
Memory 8GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3 1600 Dual Channel RAM
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 570 1.25GB GDDR5 and EVGA GeForce GTX 470 1.25GB GDDR5 in Hybrid SLI
Storage 2TB Western Digital 5400RPM SATA II and 160GB Western Digital 5400RPM SATA II
Display(s) 24-inch Samsung 245BW 1920-by-1200 @ 60Hz LCD Monitor
Case Lian Li Full Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 Onboard HD Sound
Power Supply 1000W Ultra X3 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8 Pro OS and OSX Mountain Lion 10.8.3
Thank you!!!!

I just wanted to say thank you anatolymik!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Tried with different card combinations till I got the right one (I got a GTX 470 and GTX 570 working right now, 470 on top and 570 on bottom) and it works great!!!!!!!!!

Haven't throughly tested yet but so far so good, plays games and I've gotten a respectable boost in frames per second in multiple titles

Hopefully you'll have a modded driver for 314.07 soon!

Also for those wondering what I tested I tested
-Galaxy GTX 560 Ti GC Edition 1GB GDDR5
-EVGA GeForce GTX 570 Double Shot Edition 1.25GB GDDR5
-EVGA GeForce GTX 470 1.25GB GDDR5

Was able to get the 470 and 570 working great together, had to switch the arrangement though, having the 570 on top and the 470 on the bottom didn't work out (I would enable SLI but the system would just go to a black screen and restart after a few seconds)

Trying the 560 Ti + 570 combo, I got it to enable but it wouldn't play any games (just black screen and freeze up) and it would freeze the desktop every other second. Same thing with the 560 Ti + 470. Tried with both cards on different arrangements (one on top, one on bottom)

Mind you guys, I am using the Hybrid SLI patch as well since my motherboard does not support native SLI.

It's a good thing I got the 470 and 570 combo working though, I won't have to sacrifice VRAM and they perform close to each other when the 470 is overclocked (according to many 560 Ti vs 470 posts anyways). I can just put the 560 Ti on my brother's computer, should give him a nice boost under stock clocks which is what he had the 470 on anyways.

Anyways thank you!!!!!!!!
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Orlando, FL
System Name My Gaming PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.1GHz Turbo Boost
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Crossfire Motherboard
Cooling Corsair H50 Push-Pull Configuration
Memory 8GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3 1600 Dual Channel RAM
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 570 1.25GB GDDR5 and EVGA GeForce GTX 470 1.25GB GDDR5 in Hybrid SLI
Storage 2TB Western Digital 5400RPM SATA II and 160GB Western Digital 5400RPM SATA II
Display(s) 24-inch Samsung 245BW 1920-by-1200 @ 60Hz LCD Monitor
Case Lian Li Full Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 Onboard HD Sound
Power Supply 1000W Ultra X3 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8 Pro OS and OSX Mountain Lion 10.8.3
Is there any way to have the more powerful card on the top slot and the less powerful on the bottom since the top card is always hotter than the bottom?

Because my GTX 470 runs really really really hot especially when under SLI, it's hitting close to 98C at 100% fan speed (on Metro 2033 with everything maxed except AA) and other games aren't too different either at 85C-90C.

Meanwhile, my GTX 570 can cope a bit better.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Orlando, FL
System Name My Gaming PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.1GHz Turbo Boost
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Crossfire Motherboard
Cooling Corsair H50 Push-Pull Configuration
Memory 8GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3 1600 Dual Channel RAM
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 570 1.25GB GDDR5 and EVGA GeForce GTX 470 1.25GB GDDR5 in Hybrid SLI
Storage 2TB Western Digital 5400RPM SATA II and 160GB Western Digital 5400RPM SATA II
Display(s) 24-inch Samsung 245BW 1920-by-1200 @ 60Hz LCD Monitor
Case Lian Li Full Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 Onboard HD Sound
Power Supply 1000W Ultra X3 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8 Pro OS and OSX Mountain Lion 10.8.3
Is there any benefit to pair a strong card like a gtx670 with a weak card like a gtx630 ?

What would be the expected FPS increase if you combine 670+660?

Need more tests from people !


Nice mod OP!

edit: also can i propose you update the first post with combinations that work and fps numbers?
In my personal experience with pairing a GTX 570 to a GTX 470 (completely different generation from your card I know), it pairs up like two GTX 470s would in performance but just a tiny bit faster. Basically like GTX 470 SLI Plus or something

So GTX 670 + 660 Ti in a SLI configuration would result in a 660 Ti SLI Plus configuration. Can't really expect 670 SLI performance now lol.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,700 (0.76/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor Intel Core I7-3930K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Classified
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 16GB GSkill Trident X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD 598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 850W G2
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Gigabyte Osmium Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Is there any way to have the more powerful card on the top slot and the less powerful on the bottom since the top card is always hotter than the bottom?

Because my GTX 470 runs really really really hot especially when under SLI, it's hitting close to 98C at 100% fan speed (on Metro 2033 with everything maxed except AA) and other games aren't too different either at 85C-90C.

Meanwhile, my GTX 570 can cope a bit better.
I suppose the best you can do in that situation is to get an aftermarket heat sink for it. I have an Arctic Accelero Xtreme on one of my 470s and a Zalman VF3000F on the other. They are well worth it for 470s. If your 470 has high leakage like a lot of them do, lowering the temperature could also lower power consumption by as much as 30-40W.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2013
Messages
44 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Processor i5 3570K @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H
Memory 12 GB DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 780 @ 993 MHz
Software Win7 64 bits
I suppose the best you can do in that situation is to get an aftermarket heat sink for it. I have an Arctic Accelero Xtreme on one of my 470s and a Zalman VF3000F on the other. They are well worth it for 470s. If your 470 has high leakage like a lot of them do, lowering the temperature could also lower power consumption by as much as 30-40W.
I agree.

I was gettings 89ºC in my top card (gtx 560TI OC with twin frozr II, and bottom non-ti was around 61ºC) I have removed top card and dissambled the heatsink removed ALL of dust and put on new thermal paste, max temp now on top card is 79ºC.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Orlando, FL
System Name My Gaming PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.1GHz Turbo Boost
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Crossfire Motherboard
Cooling Corsair H50 Push-Pull Configuration
Memory 8GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3 1600 Dual Channel RAM
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 570 1.25GB GDDR5 and EVGA GeForce GTX 470 1.25GB GDDR5 in Hybrid SLI
Storage 2TB Western Digital 5400RPM SATA II and 160GB Western Digital 5400RPM SATA II
Display(s) 24-inch Samsung 245BW 1920-by-1200 @ 60Hz LCD Monitor
Case Lian Li Full Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 Onboard HD Sound
Power Supply 1000W Ultra X3 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8 Pro OS and OSX Mountain Lion 10.8.3
I suppose the best you can do in that situation is to get an aftermarket heat sink for it. I have an Arctic Accelero Xtreme on one of my 470s and a Zalman VF3000F on the other. They are well worth it for 470s. If your 470 has high leakage like a lot of them do, lowering the temperature could also lower power consumption by as much as 30-40W.
If I could afford aftermarket heatsinks lol :( They're a bit more expensive for GPUs.

I'm going to save up to buy one anyways though, thanks. How are your temps with the Zalman,
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
can you SLI with a GTS 450 and a 440 or a 430??
 

Breshch

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Russia
System Name IDSF_Home
Processor QuadCore Intel Core i7-3770K, 3900 MHz (39 x 100)
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme (1 PCI-E x4, 5 PCI-E x16, 1 Mini-PCIE, 4 DDR3 DIMM, Audio, V
Cooling Cooler Master V10
Memory 32gb kit Corsair Vengeance CMZ32GX3M4X1866C10
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 690 + Zotac GTX 580
Storage OCZ-VERTEX4 (238 gb) + Hitachi HUA723020ALA640 (1863 gb)
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S27A950 (DVI)
Case Cooler Master Haf 932
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply OCZ 850 Gold
Software Windows 7x64
Yep

:banghead::respect:
So, after trying the guide again after uninstalling the latest drivers and then going through the guide step by step i got this: Apply a sli cable between the 2 sli ready gfx cards in order to get maximal 3d performance

She picture below (In Danish though)

Anyone got any ideas as to solve this problem?
I have the same problem
zotak 690 + zotak 580 same like yours problem no see sli
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,700 (0.76/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor Intel Core I7-3930K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Classified
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 16GB GSkill Trident X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD 598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 850W G2
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Gigabyte Osmium Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
If I could afford aftermarket heatsinks lol :( They're a bit more expensive for GPUs.

I'm going to save up to buy one anyways though, thanks. How are your temps with the Zalman,
I don't game with my 470s anymore, they are in my folding rig. In game, I think I remember getting mid to high 60s with the Accelero (top card, 1.037v) and high 50s low 60s with the VF300F (bottom card, better air, 0.975v). The Accelero Xtreme gets better temps and is much quieter than the VF3000F. The VF3000F, however, comes with a nifty heatplate for the RAM and VRMs which is leagues better than the dinky little sinks the Accelero comes with. So if you're worried about core temperature and quietness, get an Accelero Xtreme (Accelero Twin Turbo II would work if you aren't doing heavy overclocking). VF300F if you need cooler VRMs.

:banghead::respect:

I have the same problem
zotak 690 + zotak 580 same like yours problem no see sli
That's not going to work at all. You should give up on that one.

there a way to get my gpu to run in 16x instead of 4x?

mobo: Asrock Z77 Pro3
Your second x16 slot will always be x4. There's nothing you can do about that apart from buying a different motherboard.
 
Last edited:

Breshch

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Russia
System Name IDSF_Home
Processor QuadCore Intel Core i7-3770K, 3900 MHz (39 x 100)
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme (1 PCI-E x4, 5 PCI-E x16, 1 Mini-PCIE, 4 DDR3 DIMM, Audio, V
Cooling Cooler Master V10
Memory 32gb kit Corsair Vengeance CMZ32GX3M4X1866C10
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 690 + Zotac GTX 580
Storage OCZ-VERTEX4 (238 gb) + Hitachi HUA723020ALA640 (1863 gb)
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S27A950 (DVI)
Case Cooler Master Haf 932
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply OCZ 850 Gold
Software Windows 7x64
Why ?

I don't game with my 470s anymore, they are in my folding rig. In game, I think I remember getting mid to high 60s with the Accelero (top card) and high 50s low 60s with the VF300F. The Accelero Xtreme gets better temps and is much quieter than the VF3000F. The VF3000F, however, comes with a nifty heatplate for the RAM and VRMs which is leagues better than the dinky little sinks the Accelero comes with. So if you're worried about core temperature and quietness, get an Accelero Xtreme (Accelero Twin Turbo II would work if you aren't doing heavy overclocking). VF300F if you need cooler VRMs.


That's not going to work at all. You should give up on that one.



Your second x16 slot will always be x4. There's nothing you can do about that apart from buying a different motherboard.

can you please tell me why ?
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,700 (0.76/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor Intel Core I7-3930K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Classified
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 16GB GSkill Trident X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD 598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 850W G2
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Gigabyte Osmium Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
They are just too different. 690 and 680 might work together, but 690+580 certainly will not. They are of entirely different architectures.