• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

SLI with different cards

Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
#51
I think i removed all limitations except for SLI bridge requiments this time.

DOM no matter where you unpack them, just follow the steps.

SEE FIRST MESSAGE AGAIN AND REDONWLOAD THE DRIVER. IT'S UPDATED JUST NOW.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
849 (0.28/day)
Likes
300
Location
Argentina (South America)
System Name Classy Gal
Processor i7 2600K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3-B3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1070 FE
Storage 2x120GB Vertex 3 - 1x1TB WD
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Titanium HD
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 750W
Software Win10 / Linux Mint
#52
The SLI option didn´t show up in my Nvidia CP either.

Unfortunately, i can´t use my main RIG right now, so more test will be carried out tomorrow. I´ll try the updated driver.

I could try SLI a 8800GTS (G80) with a 9800GT.

Just to be sure i´m doing things right:

1) install the SLI bridge
2) download and install Nvidia driver beta 290.53, then reboot.
3) run install.cmd, then reboot
4) enable SLI option in Nvidia CP
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#53
The SLI option didn´t show up in my Nvidia CP either.

I could try SLI a 8800GTS (G80) with a 9800GT.
please do. i'm wondering if the reason people are having troubles, is because the cards are too mismatched - EG, DX11 + DX10


those two cards are different cores (G92+G80) but they match up on DX10
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
#54
Just to be sure i´m doing things right:

1) install the SLI bridge
2) download and install Nvidia driver beta 290.53, then reboot.
3) run install.cmd, then reboot
4) enable SLI option in Nvidia CP

BEFORE PUT YOUR CARDS TOGETHER WITH THE BRIDGE. REBOOT. AND THEN AS FOLLOWS:

1) download and install Nvidia driver beta 290.53, then reboot.
2) run install.cmd, then reboot
3) enable SLI option in Nvidia CP
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#55
Okay but I'm at work ill give it another go in the moring when I get out :)
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
#56
See the attachement. But if i apply this config i'll get BSOD. I think it's because of the driver works with cards as with the same. Probably the driver to get capabilities use only one card. Say it would Master-Card. So if you try similar SLI like i did just now and you got BSOD then try to shuffle your cards to change the Master-Card. Weakest card must be first in NV CP list except for cards of with the same capabilities. Too bad but i cant shuffle my cards to test it out. Please try someone.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#57
See the attachement. But if i apply this config i'll get BSOD. I think it's because of the driver works with cards as with the same. Probably the driver to get capabilities use only one card. Say it would Master-Card. So if you try similar SLI like i did just now and you got BSOD then try to shuffle your cards to change the Master-Card. Weakest card must be first in NV CP list except for cards of the same family. Too bad but i cant shuffle my cards to test it out. Please try someone.
that would make a lot of sense, since the driver isnt exactly going to determine capabilities automatically since this is a 'forbidden' setup.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
#58
I beg your pardon :)

Weakest card must be first in NV CP list except for cards of the same capabilities (not family. all of you saw i got gtx560ti + gtx460 working together)
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#60
BEFORE PUT YOUR CARDS TOGETHER WITH THE BRIDGE. REBOOT. AND THEN AS FOLLOWS:

1) download and install Nvidia driver beta 290.53, then reboot.
2) run install.cmd, then reboot
3) enable SLI option in Nvidia CP
:confused: so when do you put the sli bridge?

I had it on while i installed the drivers then rebooted and ran the install.cmd then rebooted

So since i already ran do I have to do a new install or thw drivers again ?
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
#61
:confused: so when do you put the sli bridge?

I had it on while i installed the drivers then rebooted and ran the install.cmd then rebooted

So since i already ran do I have to do a new install or thw drivers again ?
put SLI bridge after you put cards. as for you, it's enough to install modded driver only.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#62
put SLI bridge after you put cards. as for you, it's enough to install modded driver only.
i think what he's asking is the order of these events:


install one card first, or both before installing any drivers.

when do you insert the bridge - on the first boot, or after installing modded drivers.

when should you reboot between these steps?
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
#63
i think what he's asking is the order of these events:


install one card first, or both before installing any drivers.

when do you insert the bridge - on the first boot, or after installing modded drivers.

when should you reboot between these steps?
1) put cards
2) put sli bridge
3) power on
4) boot into windows
5) restart
.................
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#64
it works :toast::rockout:

scored a 10k in 3dmark11
 

Mikanoshi

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#66
OMGOMGOMG, I should stop selling my GTX480 and try to sli it with 580 )
But they both are watercooled and I don't have spare fittings :banghead:
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#67
here you go i was falling asleep already but heres vantage

Untitled.jpg
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,280 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,372
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#68
it works :toast::rockout:

scored a 10k in 3dmark11
Ok, that is about what I get on my main rig(slightly over 10k), so I'm going to assume this means the performance is limited by the slowest card then. So in your case it is like having two GTX570s.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#69
Does this work in combination with HYPERSLI?
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#70
Ok, that is about what I get on my main rig(slightly over 10k), so I'm going to assume this means the performance is limited by the slowest card then. So in your case it is like having two GTX570s.
well both at 900 cpu 5GHz gets lil over 12k

but with the 580 lighting at stock 832core 570 at stock 770core it scores lower then with them at the same oc

so i guess its like AMD you can run them at different clocks and still get a boots
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
849 (0.28/day)
Likes
300
Location
Argentina (South America)
System Name Classy Gal
Processor i7 2600K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3-B3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1070 FE
Storage 2x120GB Vertex 3 - 1x1TB WD
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Titanium HD
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 750W
Software Win10 / Linux Mint
#71
I did the new tests with the new driver download and:


1)GTX570 (primary) with GTS250: SLI option doesn't show up in Nvidia CP
2)GTX570 with GTS250 (primary): SLI show up, but i get a BSOD when i enable it.

3)8800GTS (primary) with GTS250: SLI show up, but when i enable it, the screen goes black and it stays black.

4):D9800GT (primary) with GTS250: SLI show up, i can enable it, everything works, GPU-Z show the SLI 2 GPUs enable, Afterburner show activity in both GPUs when runing bechs, and benchs go faster than a single 9800GT:D

evidence:

http://www.techpowerup.org/uploaded.php?file=120119/DiffSLI.png

i can't make the insert image work:confused:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
#73
I did the new tests with the new driver download and:


1)GTX570 (primary) with GTS250: SLI option doesn't show up in Nvidia CP
2)GTX570 with GTS250 (primary): SLI show up, but i get a BSOD when i enable it.

3)8800GTS (primary) with GTS250: SLI show up, but when i enable it, the screen goes black and it stays black.

4):D9800GT (primary) with GTS250: SLI show up, i can enable it, everything works, GPU-Z show the SLI 2 GPUs enable, Afterburner show activity in both GPUs when runing bechs, and benchs go faster than a single 9800GT:D

evidence:

http://www.techpowerup.org/uploaded.php?file=120119/DiffSLI.png

i can't make the insert image work:confused:
1) It seems modded driver wasnt installed at that moment (windows could overwrite to original one while installing cards). At least case 2 shows the option
But it doesnt matter, if 2 doesnt work then 1 doesnt work too


3) You can try to use different video output. I have experienced similar problems even on sli certified systems
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
849 (0.28/day)
Likes
300
Location
Argentina (South America)
System Name Classy Gal
Processor i7 2600K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3-B3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1070 FE
Storage 2x120GB Vertex 3 - 1x1TB WD
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Titanium HD
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 750W
Software Win10 / Linux Mint
#74
If this work with HyperSLI it would be much easier for me to carry out tests since i have a complete PC in my storage room i use to test old VGAs and stuff. I guess a P35 motherboard with 2 PCIe (one 16x and the other 4x) will be enough. I could try SLI a 7600GT i see what happens jeje:p.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
991 (0.43/day)
Likes
475
Processor Core i7 6800k @ 4.1GHz @ 1.325v
Motherboard MSI X99A Raider
Cooling LEPA AquaChanger 240
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengence LED @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 Ti @ +25core +400mem
Storage 960 EVO 1TB, OCZ Vector 512GB, 2x Samsung 830 128GB, 750GB Samsung, 1.5TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Acer XB270HU, Qnix QX2710
Case Corsair Carbide 500R White
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W
Mouse RAT8
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016 Edition
Software Win 10 x64
#75
9800GT and GT250 works because they're both G92 chips. Much as the other confirmed working as both are Fermi second gen GF110 chips.


I suspect the 7xxx card won't work with anything that is G80 based or newer...