• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SLI with different cards

Joined
Dec 5, 2014
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Location
United States
Processor i5 4570
Motherboard MSI Z87-G43
Cooling Air
Memory Hyper X BLU
Video Card(s) 2x GTX 660 ti SLI
Storage WD BLUE 1 TB
Case Corsair Vengeance C70
Audio Device(s) Audigy RX 7.1
Power Supply RM 750
Mouse ETEK Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Mad Katz STRIKE 3
Software Windows 8.1
According to this table even if not of equal right SLI

http://www.evga.com/support/faq/afmmain.aspx?faqid=59534


You need an sli connector I think is what the message says. This is an example of one... http://www.amazon.com/dp/B002EECLRK/?tag=tec06d-20
 

Lucas Abacherli

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2015
Messages
5 (0.00/day)

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
25,184 (4.13/day)
Location
Hartlebury, Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Intel Comet Lake Core i5 10600K @ 5G
Motherboard MSI MAG Z490 TOMAHAWK
Cooling Artic Cooling Liquid Freezer II 280mm AIO + 4 Phantek 140mm case fans
Memory 16GB Patriot Viper Steel DDR4 4133Mhz @ 4000Mhz 16-16-16-32 2T 1.43v
Video Card(s) MSI RTX3060Ti Ventus OC Triple fan.
Storage WD Blue SN550 1TB M.2 NVME//SkHynix 120GB SSD//CrucialM4 64GB SSD
Display(s) AOC Q2781PQ 27 inch Ultra Slim 2560 x 1440 IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar SE 5.1 via SPDIF/Sony AVR/Tangent 4.1 speakers/Yamaha YST-SW40 sub
Power Supply Seasonic Core Gold 650w Semi modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
So are you saying you have tried SLi with your two 970's using a bridge and you cannot get them to work?
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
25,184 (4.13/day)
Location
Hartlebury, Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Intel Comet Lake Core i5 10600K @ 5G
Motherboard MSI MAG Z490 TOMAHAWK
Cooling Artic Cooling Liquid Freezer II 280mm AIO + 4 Phantek 140mm case fans
Memory 16GB Patriot Viper Steel DDR4 4133Mhz @ 4000Mhz 16-16-16-32 2T 1.43v
Video Card(s) MSI RTX3060Ti Ventus OC Triple fan.
Storage WD Blue SN550 1TB M.2 NVME//SkHynix 120GB SSD//CrucialM4 64GB SSD
Display(s) AOC Q2781PQ 27 inch Ultra Slim 2560 x 1440 IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar SE 5.1 via SPDIF/Sony AVR/Tangent 4.1 speakers/Yamaha YST-SW40 sub
Power Supply Seasonic Core Gold 650w Semi modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
Correct!
2 GTX 970 using the SLI bridge and did not work in my previous post shows a table showing which are incompatible EVGA.
I think you will find, as it says in post 1551, it's not compatibility it simply means it requires a bridge, you see some cards now do not need bridges. 2 GPU's of the exact same architecture should as far as I am aware SLi together.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2014
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Location
United States
Processor i5 4570
Motherboard MSI Z87-G43
Cooling Air
Memory Hyper X BLU
Video Card(s) 2x GTX 660 ti SLI
Storage WD BLUE 1 TB
Case Corsair Vengeance C70
Audio Device(s) Audigy RX 7.1
Power Supply RM 750
Mouse ETEK Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Mad Katz STRIKE 3
Software Windows 8.1
Correct!
2 GTX 970 using the SLI bridge and did not work in my previous post shows a table showing which are incompatible EVGA.

Try using the bridge in the other connector
 

Chatelike

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2015
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
I tried to do this.
Tomorrow I will buy another SLI bridge and will check, thanks.
Some 970's don't work in SLI , depends on pcb size. As you mentioned some evga 970's won't sli with each other.

There are several cases where this is happening.


I see no one helped me , I want to know if 980ti and titan x will Sli ... I have a titan X
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2014
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Location
United States
Processor i5 4570
Motherboard MSI Z87-G43
Cooling Air
Memory Hyper X BLU
Video Card(s) 2x GTX 660 ti SLI
Storage WD BLUE 1 TB
Case Corsair Vengeance C70
Audio Device(s) Audigy RX 7.1
Power Supply RM 750
Mouse ETEK Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Mad Katz STRIKE 3
Software Windows 8.1
Some 970's don't work in SLI , depends on pcb size. As you mentioned some evga 970's won't sli with each other.

There are several cases where this is happening.


I see no one helped me , I want to know if 980ti and titan x will Sli ... I have a titan X

It should (The ram on the Titan would be limited to the 980 ti) , but none of know for sure because we don't own them.
 

TomiES

New Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
I have a question Sir,
My MSI z97 Gaming 5 only support 2 way SLI, Can I using this board for 3 way SLI , because it's support 3 way Crossfire ?
I wanna SLI 2 Cards plus 1 Card for Dedicated PhsX..
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2014
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Location
United States
Processor i5 4570
Motherboard MSI Z87-G43
Cooling Air
Memory Hyper X BLU
Video Card(s) 2x GTX 660 ti SLI
Storage WD BLUE 1 TB
Case Corsair Vengeance C70
Audio Device(s) Audigy RX 7.1
Power Supply RM 750
Mouse ETEK Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Mad Katz STRIKE 3
Software Windows 8.1
I have a question Sir,
My MSI z97 Gaming 5 only support 2 way SLI, Can I using this board for 3 way SLI , because it's support 3 way Crossfire ?
I wanna SLI 2 Cards plus 1 Card for Dedicated PhsX..
I believe so my board can only run crossfire, but this let me run sli. That was on z87 so I'm not sure if there would be a difference.
 

TomiES

New Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
I believe so my board can only run crossfire, but this let me run sli. That was on z87 so I'm not sure if there would be a difference.
what is your specification sir ? may I know that ? I'm planing use 2 way SLI + 1 dedicated card physX, but i'm trying my SLI has been disable, cause running at 8x/4x/4x, which is SLi can't run over 8x/4x,
can I run with this DifferentSLI for enable again my SLI with 3 card above ?
 

PerroneWise

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Hello, First I would like to congratulate everyone involved in creating the patch for the excellent work and say that the years of work you solve my big problem to own a mainboard incompatible with my nvidia video cards. Secondly, I wonder if there is any project to adjust the patch to work already in the beta versions of Windows 10, and even if it will be created a version for Windows 10 retail. Once again I thank everyone involved for their excellent work, and I apologize for my post that was translated with the help of google translator.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2014
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Location
United States
Processor i5 4570
Motherboard MSI Z87-G43
Cooling Air
Memory Hyper X BLU
Video Card(s) 2x GTX 660 ti SLI
Storage WD BLUE 1 TB
Case Corsair Vengeance C70
Audio Device(s) Audigy RX 7.1
Power Supply RM 750
Mouse ETEK Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Mad Katz STRIKE 3
Software Windows 8.1
what is your specification sir ? may I know that ? I'm planing use 2 way SLI + 1 dedicated card physX, but i'm trying my SLI has been disable, cause running at 8x/4x/4x, which is SLi can't run over 8x/4x,
can I run with this DifferentSLI for enable again my SLI with 3 card above ?
Sorry for the late reply I have z87-g43 running dual 660ti in 16x and 16x(@4x).
 
Last edited:

VIPERX

New Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2015
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Does SLI work with a combination of a x16 slot and x4 slot with this "tool"?

I'm planning on getting another GTX 960. I read somewhere that SLI needs atleast x8/x8 to work but I have x16/x4.

Any help would be much appreciated!
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
25,184 (4.13/day)
Location
Hartlebury, Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Intel Comet Lake Core i5 10600K @ 5G
Motherboard MSI MAG Z490 TOMAHAWK
Cooling Artic Cooling Liquid Freezer II 280mm AIO + 4 Phantek 140mm case fans
Memory 16GB Patriot Viper Steel DDR4 4133Mhz @ 4000Mhz 16-16-16-32 2T 1.43v
Video Card(s) MSI RTX3060Ti Ventus OC Triple fan.
Storage WD Blue SN550 1TB M.2 NVME//SkHynix 120GB SSD//CrucialM4 64GB SSD
Display(s) AOC Q2781PQ 27 inch Ultra Slim 2560 x 1440 IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar SE 5.1 via SPDIF/Sony AVR/Tangent 4.1 speakers/Yamaha YST-SW40 sub
Power Supply Seasonic Core Gold 650w Semi modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
Only PCI-E 1.0 on a Z87 board? Checking data specs for your board suggests PCI-E 2.0 for your x4 slot.
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
25,184 (4.13/day)
Location
Hartlebury, Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Intel Comet Lake Core i5 10600K @ 5G
Motherboard MSI MAG Z490 TOMAHAWK
Cooling Artic Cooling Liquid Freezer II 280mm AIO + 4 Phantek 140mm case fans
Memory 16GB Patriot Viper Steel DDR4 4133Mhz @ 4000Mhz 16-16-16-32 2T 1.43v
Video Card(s) MSI RTX3060Ti Ventus OC Triple fan.
Storage WD Blue SN550 1TB M.2 NVME//SkHynix 120GB SSD//CrucialM4 64GB SSD
Display(s) AOC Q2781PQ 27 inch Ultra Slim 2560 x 1440 IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar SE 5.1 via SPDIF/Sony AVR/Tangent 4.1 speakers/Yamaha YST-SW40 sub
Power Supply Seasonic Core Gold 650w Semi modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
Sorry I have no PCI x4 on my board so I was not sure if it was still a thing to have some 2.0 and some 1.0
You do when your 16 @ PCI-E 3.0 is already populated by a card?
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2014
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Location
United States
Processor i5 4570
Motherboard MSI Z87-G43
Cooling Air
Memory Hyper X BLU
Video Card(s) 2x GTX 660 ti SLI
Storage WD BLUE 1 TB
Case Corsair Vengeance C70
Audio Device(s) Audigy RX 7.1
Power Supply RM 750
Mouse ETEK Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Mad Katz STRIKE 3
Software Windows 8.1
You do when your 16 @ PCI-E 3.0 is already populated by a card?
Sorry you are 100% right my bad. I will change my other posts. So then I have a new conclusion, running in 16x and 4x sli does work. There are some bottle necks, but I still have a large noticeable performance increase; the only problems I have had is the second GPU does not always perform at 100% loads which I can assume is because it cannot be fed all the information as quickly as it is designed to.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2015
Messages
170 (0.06/day)
Location
The Wasteland
System Name 4K Master
Processor AMD 5950x
Motherboard MSI Creation x570
Cooling Black Ice Nemesis 360GTX+480GTS, Dual Pumps
Memory TridentZ DD4 64GB 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI RTX3090
Storage OS: Optane 900p 480Gb, Games: Samsung 860 EVO 4Tb x3 + 970 EVO Plus 2Tb x2
Display(s) LG OLED 55C9
Case Phantecs Enthoo 719
Audio Device(s) Hyperx Cloud Orbit S
Power Supply Corsair HX1200i + CableMod Full KIt
Mouse Razer Mamba Elite
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Elite v2
VR HMD HP G2 v2 + Quest 2
Software Windows 11Dev Preview
Guys, I have two ASUS Strix GTX970 on Gigabyte H97-Gaming 3 mobo, the main one works at PCIe v3.0 x8 and the second one PCIe v2.0 x4
I manged to "enable SLI" the options appeared in settings but say when i load Wicther 3, I get 20FPS in SLI and almost 60 in Single.
It actually makes the game run worse

any ideas?
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2014
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Location
United States
Processor i5 4570
Motherboard MSI Z87-G43
Cooling Air
Memory Hyper X BLU
Video Card(s) 2x GTX 660 ti SLI
Storage WD BLUE 1 TB
Case Corsair Vengeance C70
Audio Device(s) Audigy RX 7.1
Power Supply RM 750
Mouse ETEK Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Mad Katz STRIKE 3
Software Windows 8.1
Guys, I have two ASUS Strix GTX970 on Gigabyte H97-Gaming 3 mobo, the main one works at PCIe v3.0 x8 and the second one PCIe v2.0 x4
I manged to "enable SLI" the options appeared in settings but say when i load Wicther 3, I get 20FPS in SLI and almost 60 in Single.
It actually makes the game run worse

any ideas?

Well for me I found re-installing the drivers (using display driver uninstaller) then reinstalling them again fixed many issues. Also check if the Gpus are throttling (this can be caused by insufficient power or extra heat from the addition of a new card). Good Luck!
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2015
Messages
170 (0.06/day)
Location
The Wasteland
System Name 4K Master
Processor AMD 5950x
Motherboard MSI Creation x570
Cooling Black Ice Nemesis 360GTX+480GTS, Dual Pumps
Memory TridentZ DD4 64GB 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI RTX3090
Storage OS: Optane 900p 480Gb, Games: Samsung 860 EVO 4Tb x3 + 970 EVO Plus 2Tb x2
Display(s) LG OLED 55C9
Case Phantecs Enthoo 719
Audio Device(s) Hyperx Cloud Orbit S
Power Supply Corsair HX1200i + CableMod Full KIt
Mouse Razer Mamba Elite
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Elite v2
VR HMD HP G2 v2 + Quest 2
Software Windows 11Dev Preview
Well for me I found re-installing the drivers (using display driver uninstaller) then reinstalling them again fixed many issues. Also check if the Gpus are throttling (this can be caused by insufficient power or extra heat from the addition of a new card). Good Luck!

I have Seasonic Platinum 860W with Single 12V 71A rail, so I assume its not the PSU? or do i need more for GTX 970 SLI?
when I choose single-GPU in SLI setting I get full speed, almost 60FPS
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2014
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Location
United States
Processor i5 4570
Motherboard MSI Z87-G43
Cooling Air
Memory Hyper X BLU
Video Card(s) 2x GTX 660 ti SLI
Storage WD BLUE 1 TB
Case Corsair Vengeance C70
Audio Device(s) Audigy RX 7.1
Power Supply RM 750
Mouse ETEK Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Mad Katz STRIKE 3
Software Windows 8.1
Joined
Jun 25, 2015
Messages
170 (0.06/day)
Location
The Wasteland
System Name 4K Master
Processor AMD 5950x
Motherboard MSI Creation x570
Cooling Black Ice Nemesis 360GTX+480GTS, Dual Pumps
Memory TridentZ DD4 64GB 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI RTX3090
Storage OS: Optane 900p 480Gb, Games: Samsung 860 EVO 4Tb x3 + 970 EVO Plus 2Tb x2
Display(s) LG OLED 55C9
Case Phantecs Enthoo 719
Audio Device(s) Hyperx Cloud Orbit S
Power Supply Corsair HX1200i + CableMod Full KIt
Mouse Razer Mamba Elite
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Elite v2
VR HMD HP G2 v2 + Quest 2
Software Windows 11Dev Preview
Joined
Jun 30, 2015
Messages
63 (0.02/day)
System Name Te Juggernaut
Processor Intel Core i7 3770
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling Watercooling Loop
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) 3X GTX 660 Ti`s
Power Supply Cooler master Silent Pro 1000 w
Mouse Razer Deathader
Hello guys, the main reasons to me to write this post are in the first place to say Thank you for doing this great effort in all Different SLI Auto Releases!!! I´ll like to tell you my expierence using this amazing tool, i´m not a Different SLI user but a 3 WAY SLI User because Different SLI Auto allowed to me to set up 3 GTX 660 Ti´s on my 8x-8x-4x PCI e slots and gave me an incredible FPS boost in all my SLI optimized games so now here is the problem, Windows 10 preview is out now and i´m just updated from windows 7 motivated to enjoy of the future wonders of Direct X12, VRAM Stack and beatiful next gen games, after such OS upgrade i tried to use Different SLI Auto with original 353.30 Windows 10 preview video drivers from Nvidia, the patcher said the driver was patched succesfully, and Different SLI installs correctlly under Windows 10 environment but after system restart i only can activate 2 GPU SLI and 3rd GPU for Physx :( so the second reason to write this is to ask to you if you have plans to give support for Different SLI Auto into Windows 10 in the near Future, that would be so exciting for me and im sure for a lot of pc gamers jumping into Windows 10!!!

Is there any possibility of Windows 10 support?

Thanks for you time. Greetings!! Xb
 
Top