• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

SLI with different cards

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64

p3gaz_001

New Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2010
Messages
181 (0.07/day)
Likes
18
Location
Italy
Processor i7-3930K*Koolance CPU 370 / i7-3770K*EK Supreme HF
Motherboard Rampage IV Extreme*Koolance/MSI Z77 Mpower
Cooling x2 AlphaCool VP655 + MO-RA 9x120 / Phobya 360 1.2 + Laing DCC-1T
Video Card(s) 2xMSI L. GTX680/GTX 260 216SP
Storage 2x1TB SII 7200RPM+1x750GB / 1x500GB+1x250GB 7200RPM
Display(s) Asus VG236H & 3D Kit / Samsung XL2370HD
Case Dimastech 2.5 Dual Easy BLACK / Dimastech Mini BLACK
Audio Device(s) Asus ROG. Phoebus 7.1+Logitech Z-5500 / Integrated Audio
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W / Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate X64 / Bench OS
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/user/pegasus_n1/
i'm tuned in too.... i've got two 580 and a gtx 285 (now as phisx card) any way to speed a little bit up by using the 285 as "help" for the two 580s???
 

amplifie

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
This is amazing, just truly amazing! A couple of days ago i bought a used GTX 460 - ( or i thougt i bought a gtx 460 ), but it wasn´t just a GTX 460, it was a GTX 460 SE. I wanted to build a gtx 460 sli system instead of buying a 570 or similar GPU. The guy who sold the card told me it was a GTX 460, so yeah 90 bucks for a gtx 460 seemed okay and so i send him the money. As the card arrived i read - Gainward GTX 460 SE ...whaargh. Tried to exchange the card, but the guy who sold me this card never answered to my Emails or anything - A pain in the ass. I dont wanted to start a lawsuit and so a had to stick with the 460SE. Then i got the idea of flashing the cards to make them compatible - I tried many different bios files to downgrade my gtx 460 to a 460SE and or flash the 460se to a non SE GTX, but every single try failed. If you try to flash a GTX 460 Bios onto a 460 SE (i´m using gainward cards) ur card wont mess up, but as soon as you install nvidia drivers the screen stays black. On the opposite site, if you try to "down flash" a gtx 460 to a gtx 460 SE, your card also wont mess up, but you cant even see a thing on your display, because you get really wired graphical glitches and colors. After installing the nvidia drivers you will also get a black screen when booting windows. I couldn´t manage to make the Cards compatible using different Bios Files and just right before giving up the whole thing, i found this Forum and your drivers.

Read your install notes, installed the drivers and whoopp i was able to activate the SLI Mode.
Thank you very very much for your work, please go on with it, i would even donate for this, i didn´t know that this can be manage through the drivers. Surely i do not get the performance like two real gtx 460 but this has nothing to do with your drivers.

Just started some benchmarks and my 3dMark 11 Score with your driver is "6012" absolutly good in my opinion and also the FPS in the Witcher 2 has almost been doubled , a completely different game now.

As i said, thank you very very much for your work - Keep it up!
 

p3gaz_001

New Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2010
Messages
181 (0.07/day)
Likes
18
Location
Italy
Processor i7-3930K*Koolance CPU 370 / i7-3770K*EK Supreme HF
Motherboard Rampage IV Extreme*Koolance/MSI Z77 Mpower
Cooling x2 AlphaCool VP655 + MO-RA 9x120 / Phobya 360 1.2 + Laing DCC-1T
Video Card(s) 2xMSI L. GTX680/GTX 260 216SP
Storage 2x1TB SII 7200RPM+1x750GB / 1x500GB+1x250GB 7200RPM
Display(s) Asus VG236H & 3D Kit / Samsung XL2370HD
Case Dimastech 2.5 Dual Easy BLACK / Dimastech Mini BLACK
Audio Device(s) Asus ROG. Phoebus 7.1+Logitech Z-5500 / Integrated Audio
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W / Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate X64 / Bench OS
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/user/pegasus_n1/
i tried with two GTX 580 and a 285 .... the drivers seems to work and detect the cards ready for sli, BUT when i try to enable it i get bsod,bsod reporting nvidia's driver.



i'd like to buy at least a GTX 560ti to try this stuff out.
 

amplifie

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Is there a way to Update to the new Nvidia Driver Version 296.10 or higher and using different SLI driver "override"? Version 290.xx is nice, but sadly especially in skyrim the fps drops a lot even with SLI enabled - The 295.xx or 296.xx gives a massive FPS gain makes it really worth it working it out.

I really dont know how to edit the nvidia dll or sys files wich comes with the official drivers, if i knew how to, i would do it myself, but i dont think it is that simple...

Is there hope for an Updated "Different SLI" driver Version like for e.g. Version 296.xx ?
As i said before i would even donate for it, becuase your work is really great!
 

amplifie

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Thank you very very very much anatolymik! The new driver is working absolutly great, just as the one before but with much better Performance in many games - especially in Skyrim!
The two cards (GTx 460 + GTX 460SE) are performing very well and it really is an alternative to the "normal" SLI configuration, because its working without any Issues, bsod´s or other problems.

This really helped me out, and if you want to, send me a pm with paypal number etc., i will donate your work!!!



Again, thank you very much for your great work!
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
718 (0.20/day)
Likes
93
System Name Raptor
Processor Core i7 3930K@4.0Ghz
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH X79
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 4*4GB Gskil RipjawsDDR3 @2133MHz 1.6v
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980 SC
Storage Vertex 3 SSD 120GB + 250GB SSD samsung +1TB seagate
Display(s) ACER-H243HX 24"
Case HAF-X
Audio Device(s) on board Realtek
Power Supply Corsair 850HX
Software Windows 10 & 7 dual boot .
296.10 modded driver is out. Later there will be an autopatcher. See first message for the link.
Autopatcher is the way to go ..... thank you very much .
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2009
Messages
156 (0.05/day)
Likes
44
Location
Kingdom of Lost Heaven
System Name Date: 2013 Nov
Processor INTEL i7-950 @ 3.2GHz + Corsair H50
Motherboard EVGA X58 SLI LE
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4x4GB) 1600MHz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX580
Storage SAMSUNG 830 Series 256GB, SEAGATE 4TB
Display(s) ACHIEVA Shiman 27" LED IPS 2560x1440
Case DIY 4.1 Master BenchTable
Audio Device(s) Logitech G19, G700, SteelSeries QcK
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1350W
Software Windows 8 Pro with Media Center 64-bit
would u out modded driver for 301.10?
how SLI GTX680 + GTX580
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS

ken2ki

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Tried with GTX 560TI and GTX 550TI. The drivers (296.10) detect the cards ready for sli. When i try to enable it i get drivers crash on GTX 560TI. 8(
 

user21

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
282 (0.12/day)
Likes
22
Location
Peshawar
This sounds just great. Iv got 8800GT and an old 7900GTO. and im looking for an x38 /x48 motherboard. Will i be able to do this setup with these moded drivers?

P.S. are the crossfire bridge and SLI bridge the same?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,116 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
This sounds just great. Iv got 8800GT and an old 7900GTO. and im looking for an x38 /x48 motherboard. Will i be able to do this setup with these moded drivers?

P.S. are the crossfire bridge and SLI bridge the same?
no it wont work, the cards are too different.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,551 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,059
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
based on the architecture?

would it be possible if 8600gt instead of 7900GTO ?
nope. that is a G84 or G94
It might!
 

ColdFlo

New Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Look I know I'm gonna catch hell for this and my goal is not to be offensive even tho you are all going to see it that way. This to me seems to be one of the more superior tweaks and how many of those have we lost over the years? Like the quak4 vfp tweak or a64tweaker or the countless other tweaks out there that fall to deprecation because no one man can keep up or wants to keep up with all the support if you have to work for a living and you want to use your computer its just not possible. Was this really hard to make or was it just some tweaks with ida pro or something? Just saying a guide to make custom drivers would be superior because nvidia releases drivers constantly and i modded those new 680 drivers to work my 8800gtx sli and it works beautifully even with the higher textures and meshes(not sure what it is the wireframes look enhanced too)(easy to do all you have to do is put the card ids from another driver in the nvdisp.inf) The community having the knowledge would mean that people would improve this and grow it to the extent that I think it would be a good payback for all those sli licensed motherboards nvidia made us buy over the years with 300+ pricetag. I noticed back in the day when I modded my 6800 ultra to quadro years back that the cards are all pretty much the same nvidia just controls their function with drivers and id resistors and then when people enabled the extra cores on the 7900gt then nvidia once again got more controlling as well as cutting off nibitor functionality(now i have to install xp just to tweak my gpus so annoying) in the new(at that time) vista drivers. I say its time to fight back......... Anatoly no disrespect to you and I appreciate your work as I'm sure many other people will, but lets be honest if you ever try to make money with this chances are nvidia will come after you just like they did the nvidia omega driver guy or the guy that enabled creative drivers in vista so I think the best option is to give the knowledge to the people. Regardless of what happens I'll be watching this closely and this name will stick in my mind just as Makve(if some of you readers know who he is...) does.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,116 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
paragraphs are your friend.


also, if he releases how he does it - that just means nvidia gets to block it more easily, taking this away from us for good.
 

WqYn3

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2012
Messages
29 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name Intel
Processor core i5 2500k
Motherboard ga p67s-ud3-b3 rev1.1
Cooling h60
Memory kingston hyperX 16gb
Video Card(s) gtx570hd and 550Ti
Storage 1tb hdd
Display(s) samsung syncmaster px2370 and T220
Case Raidmax
Power Supply corsair gs700
Software Win7
do i still need to have the HyperSLi or no?
 

WqYn3

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2012
Messages
29 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name Intel
Processor core i5 2500k
Motherboard ga p67s-ud3-b3 rev1.1
Cooling h60
Memory kingston hyperX 16gb
Video Card(s) gtx570hd and 550Ti
Storage 1tb hdd
Display(s) samsung syncmaster px2370 and T220
Case Raidmax
Power Supply corsair gs700
Software Win7
dont want to sound too dumb but i cant seem to get this to work?

idk if its bc im using hypersli or what?

please run me through the steps!?!
 

Yimmeryams

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2011
Messages
67 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
Location
Ohio, US
System Name Scoots
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @3.2GHz (Auto)
Motherboard NB: AMD 890FX + SB: AMD SB850 (Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5 rev. 2.0)
Cooling Air (ZALMAN CNPS10X Performa CPU Cooler)
Memory 8GB (4x2GB) @1333 (G.SKILL ECO Series 2GB CL7D-4GBECO)
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 460 1GB, x2 SLI (Palit GeForce GTX 460 Sonic Platinum 1GB + MSI Hawk GeForce GTX 460 1GB)
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB 7200 RPM WD1501FASS
Display(s) [1680x1050][1920x1080] (Primary: ASUS VH226H Black 21.5" 16:9 + Secondary: HP w2207 16:10)
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout SGC-2000-KKN1-GP
Power Supply COOLER MASTER GX Series RS750-ACAAE3-US 750W 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified
Software Win7 x64 (Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601))
Benchmark Scores Heaven Benchmark v2.5 Basic: 1578; DX11, 1920x1080, Fullscreen, High, Tess Normal

emperor

New Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
This topic got my geek juices going so I desided to take the old GTX280 out and try and SLI it with my GTX 470.

Everything went well until I tried to enable SLI. Once I hit apply in Nvidia Control Panel the screen would go black as if searching for drivers and then reboot. Im wondering if its because 1 card is DX11 and the other is DX10?

But no matter the outcome it sure was fun trying. If anyone gets 200series working with 400series I sure would love to try again.

Emperor :toast:
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2011
Messages
1,891 (0.86/day)
Likes
813
Location
Brisbane QLD, Australia
System Name Белая коробка | Alienware 13R3 | Asus T300 Chi | Synology DS416 w/ 4X6TB WD Red | Huawei P10
Processor Intel i7-7700k @ 4.8GHz | Intel i7-7700HQ
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix Z270G | Dell/Alienware thing
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w/ A15 & F12 | Double fan
Memory G.Skill 2X8gb Trident Z RGB DDR4 3000mhz | DDR4 2X8GB 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 | Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB, Crucial MX200 500GB, 1X WD 4TB Black | 256gb M.2 SSD, 512GB Intel 600p M.2
Display(s) LG 27UD68 & BenQ FP241W (ANCIENT!) | 13" 1080p IPS & Sony X7000E 49" 4K HDR TV
Case InWin 301 (white) | Alienware 13R3
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | onboard sound -Onkyo 808 Receiver
Power Supply InWin Classic Series 900W | Dell 180W brick
Mouse Logitech G403 Wireless | Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G810 | Red Square OLD SCHOOL TKL - Gateron Blue
Software Windows 10 Home | Windows 10 Home
Benchmark Scores Citroen DS3 THP155 DSport6-spd manual|
This topic got my geek juices going so I desided to take the old GTX280 out and try and SLI it with my GTX 470.

Everything went well until I tried to enable SLI. Once I hit apply in Nvidia Control Panel the screen would go black as if searching for drivers and then reboot. Im wondering if its because 1 card is DX11 and the other is DX10?

But no matter the outcome it sure was fun trying. If anyone gets 200series working with 400series I sure would love to try again.

Emperor :toast:
i think it's because of the completely new architecture in the 400 series. I tried a 260 with my 580 and got the same problem :/