1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SLI with different cards

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by anatolymik, Jan 18, 2012.

  1. Damic

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    9 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Added to profile. Any additional info needed?
     
    P!nkpanther says thanks.
  2. P!nkpanther

    P!nkpanther

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    33 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Near Barcelona
    So the next questions are:
    - Does any nVidia driver get loaded at all. Or is your system running on generic drivers.
    - If it's running on nVidia drivers: Has the modified driver been loaded or is it a copy of the unmodified one.

    To check this, go to Device Manager, double-click one of your 1080s -> Tab 'Driver' -> Button 'Driver Details' and tell us the location of your nvlddmkm.sys
    Then go to that location and see whether it's the modified driver and whether that file's properties contain the link to the certificate under 'Digital Signatures'
     
    Damic says thanks.
  3. Damic

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    9 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Checked nvlddmkm.sys. It has correct location (c:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\nv_dispi.inf_amd64_2d81f3535ced17c6\) but has no DiffSli certificate (only Microsoft and Nvidia).
    But file nvlddmkm.sys in the DiffSli folder has DiffSli certificate.
     
  4. P!nkpanther

    P!nkpanther

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    33 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Near Barcelona
    That's the path shown using the 'Driver Details' button, right?
    Seems like the nvlddmkm.sys in the DiffSli folder hasn't been copied over to the DriverStore\FileRepository\nv_dispi.inf_amd64_xxxx directory.
    Try to copy it manually (in safe mode).
     
    Damic says thanks.
  5. Damic

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    9 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks a LOT! Now Sli is working!
    Yes the problem was in the access rights. Install.cmd changes owner of the nvlddmkm.sys but the owner of its folder remains SYSTEM. So no file copied (but install.cmd says it is).
    I boot into safe mode and gave write rights to the administrator for the driver folder, replaced nvlddmkm.sys and it works!
    Think that the owner of the driver directory should be also changed by install.cmd under windows 10.
     
  6. P!nkpanther

    P!nkpanther

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    33 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Near Barcelona
    :clap::)
    Cool!
     
  7. Damic

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    9 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Sli works strange but it works. Will investigate it more.
     
  8. LoWRiDeR82

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    198 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    385. 12 are out. Do they still work with the latest version?
     
  9. JamesZzzz

    JamesZzzz

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Messages:
    11 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Patching Succeded.
     
    LoWRiDeR82 and bryllstyles say thanks.
  10. linho80 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Messages:
    2 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi people I wanted to know if is possible to sli the Gtx 1080 with a 970, thank you.
     
  11. bryllstyles

    bryllstyles

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Messages:
    12 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    No only has same vram and same architecture.
     
  12. linho80 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Messages:
    2 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I ask that bcs i see so many people use different graphic card on the OTOY website and i really want to know how they do that https://render.otoy.com/octanebench/results.php
     
  13. MasterInvader

    MasterInvader

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    283 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Portugal
    Hello
    Sorry if this question was answered before, I didn't found it on this thread.
    Anyone tried and got it to work on two 1060 6GB? [with no SLI bridge, since those cards don't have one].
     
  14. bryllstyles

    bryllstyles

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Messages:
    12 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    yes it will work
     
  15. P!nkpanther

    P!nkpanther

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    33 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Near Barcelona
    They use multiGPU, not SLI. The former is handled by the application while the latter is done within the driver.
    Totally different animals...
     
  16. LoWRiDeR82

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    198 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Hi all, for ease of access I'm quoting pinkpanthers great guide from some time back. This worked perfectly for me with the latest version of the tool as well as the latest nvidia drivers

     
  17. Swatson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    7 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Just updated to 384.94 working like a charm, it doesn't seem to care if i have cemu on the system now either :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2017
    P!nkpanther says thanks.
  18. icev New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    Messages:
    3 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm also getting the same error on GTX 770 .
    Attached is my .sys file
    https://ufile.io/chzv2
     
  19. JamesZzzz

    JamesZzzz

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Messages:
    11 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Successfully patched the driver file you provided, what exact problem did you run into?
    1502601528940.jpg
     
    icev says thanks.
  20. icev New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    Messages:
    3 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm getting :
    [E] : Could not find patch #2.
    [C] : Patching was aborted because some patch locations could not be found.
     
  21. icev New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    Messages:
    3 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay never mind, it works , should have run DifferentSliAuto.exe instead of DifferentSLIAuto1.7.exe
     
  22. xrenrer New Member

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    3 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    please help me. i have 4 1050ti. i cant enable sli on win 7 x64
    i use driver 384.94, DifferentSLIAuto1.7.1
    I did the following:
    install driver, go to folder c:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\nv_dispi.inf_amd64_neutral_eb700218979194fd\
    copy c:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\nv_dispi.inf_amd64_neutral_eb700218979194fd\nvlddmkm.sys to c:\soft\DSLIAuto171\
    run DifferentSLIAuto.exe
    he said - Patching was successful
    Then I disconnected all the video cards in the device manager (because otherwise the folder with the draperies is not writable)
    boot to safe mode
    edit path in Install.cmd
    run Install.cmd
    he said - all ok, but The file nvlddmkm.sys in the folder remained old with the old modification date. I copied the file nvlddmkm.sys manually.
    Rebooted normally.
    Enabled the video card in the device manager.
    Reboot.
    And the nvidia control panel does not start. Says the display settings are not available, the display is not a connection to gpu nvidia.

    what to do?
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2017 at 9:19 PM
  23. P!nkpanther

    P!nkpanther

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    33 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Near Barcelona
    Seems like your system is loading the default Windows display driver instead of the nVidia one.

    I'd suggest to EXACTLY follow the install instructions posted here in this forum, otherwise your chances of getting it working are very slim.
    For example there is no need to disable anything in device manager and you didn't mention having enabled test signing mode either...
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2017 at 10:39 AM
  24. xrenrer New Member

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    3 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    о thanks it works)))
    i did folowing:
    run cmd.exe and enter:
    bcdedit.exe /set loadoptions DISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS
    bcdedit.exe /set NOINTEGRITYCHECKS ON
    bcdedit.exe /set TESTSIGNING ON
    then
    copy c:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\nv_dispi.inf_amd64_neutral_eb700218979194fd\nvlddmkm.sys to c:\soft\DSLIAuto171\
    run DifferentSLIAuto.exe
    he said - Patching was successful
    run Install.cmd
    he said - all ok, but The file nvlddmkm.sys in the folder remained old with the old modification date. I copied the file nvlddmkm.sys manually.
    Rebooted normally.
    and sli works ))) no safe mode needed
    sli.png
     
  25. Capule7 New Member

    Joined:
    Friday
    Messages:
    1 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi guys!
    Possible SLI GTX 960 and GTX 770?


    PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1184&SUBSYS_11841569
    ----- [*]DEV_1184 "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770"

    PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1401&SUBSYS_32021462

    I tried to do as the manual says. I was able to see the SLI setup. But after activating SLI in the nvidia settings, the computer catches BSOD .
    Tried with drivers 382.33 .
    MB: https://www.asus.com/ru/Motherboards/SABERTOOTH_990FX/
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2017 at 7:42 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (1 member and 2 guests)

bryllstyles