• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Slight static from HDMI?

Joined
Dec 5, 2013
Messages
127 (0.09/day)
Likes
10
System Name 4 year old computer
Processor Intel Core i5 3 i5-3350P 3.3 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS CM6730
Memory 16 GBs DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX RX 480 8gb
Storage 1 Tb
Display(s) ASUS MG248Q
Case Generic ASUS mini tower
Power Supply Antec HCG-520w
Mouse Logitech G403/G400s
Keyboard Coolermaster Quickfire TK Cherry MX red
#1
So I recently returned my RX 480 since it was faulty and I have my old GTX 650 ti inside my computer now. But now that I'm using HDMI input, there's a slight static on the picture for some reason. I've tried reseating the card, unplugging cables from both ends, etc. What could be causing this? I'm using a switch that allows me to switch between my PS4 and my PC so I don't know if this could be the problem even though I've had it for quite awhile now.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,240 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,817
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#2
So I recently returned my RX 480 since it was faulty and I have my old GTX 650 ti inside my computer now. But now that I'm using HDMI input, there's a slight static on the picture for some reason. I've tried reseating the card, unplugging cables from both ends, etc. What could be causing this? I'm using a switch that allows me to switch between my PS4 and my PC so I don't know if this could be the problem even though I've had it for quite awhile now.
Could be. Change cables or get it off the switch and see. Hdmi is such a horrible connectivity std.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2013
Messages
127 (0.09/day)
Likes
10
System Name 4 year old computer
Processor Intel Core i5 3 i5-3350P 3.3 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS CM6730
Memory 16 GBs DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX RX 480 8gb
Storage 1 Tb
Display(s) ASUS MG248Q
Case Generic ASUS mini tower
Power Supply Antec HCG-520w
Mouse Logitech G403/G400s
Keyboard Coolermaster Quickfire TK Cherry MX red
#3
Could be. Change cables or get it off the switch and see. Hdmi is such a horrible connectivity std.
Okay I just got a new RX 480 and I'm using Displayport but I still see a slight static on the screen. What could be interfering with it?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,240 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,817
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#4
Could be that monitor going bad.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2013
Messages
127 (0.09/day)
Likes
10
System Name 4 year old computer
Processor Intel Core i5 3 i5-3350P 3.3 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS CM6730
Memory 16 GBs DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX RX 480 8gb
Storage 1 Tb
Display(s) ASUS MG248Q
Case Generic ASUS mini tower
Power Supply Antec HCG-520w
Mouse Logitech G403/G400s
Keyboard Coolermaster Quickfire TK Cherry MX red
#5
Joined
Aug 11, 2016
Messages
34 (0.07/day)
Likes
19
Location
NC
System Name Self Built
Processor AMD Processor FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H60
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 and EVGA GTX650 Ti Boost
Storage 480 SSD 3x 3TB Sata
Display(s) ACER 23" Touch and 32" Toshiba
Case Self Built
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply NZXT HALE82 HALE82-850-M 850W
Mouse Razer Naga Epic Chroma
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10
#6
What was faulty about the RX480? That could have messed up the PCIE port. I had a similar problem with this a long time ago with a 9500gt and ended up having to replace the board as well.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,240 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,817
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#7
But I just bought this monitor it's a new ASUS MG248Q, how could it already be going bad?
Well try it on another rig and get back to us to verify. If it does it on that one then you have a Piece of Trash.


Welcome to the world of Electronics
Out of so many units when manufactured you will have a certain percent that are not meant to last and will fail. Some fail right out of the box, some last a few months, some fail 10-40 years from now.

I'm on a 290 with display port adapter going to a NEC Multisync LCD 1700V from 2001 on VGA.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#8
But I just bought this monitor it's a new ASUS MG248Q, how could it already be going bad?
I have a practically new 4k monitor at work that has slight issues with the picture and brightness. Hardware being defective is not a new thing and can happen to anyone. Simply put, YMMV. The thing with digital signals like HDMI and DisplayPort is that if there is enough interference to disrupt the picture, the picture will usually just cut out. I actually have a DP 1.1 cable at work that I tried to run DP 1.2 over and it would constantly cut out where the solution was to use a better cable rated for DP 1.2.

If I were the op, I would be suspecting the display at this point.
upload_2017-1-12_15-56-18.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
1,689 (4.94/day)
Likes
890
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD FX-6300 - 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard ASRock 970M Pro3
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - 4x4GB A-DATA 1866 Mhz (OC)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1060 Turbo 6GB ~ 2139 Mhz / 9.4 Gbps
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x 1 Tb Seagate something or other
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
#9
You said you have your PS4 hooked up to the same monitor through a switch , you didn't mention how does that look when you connect it directly , that could easily pinpoint to the monitor being the problem since having 2 cards with bad video outputs would be highly unlikely. Could also be some sort of grounding issue somewhere.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2013
Messages
127 (0.09/day)
Likes
10
System Name 4 year old computer
Processor Intel Core i5 3 i5-3350P 3.3 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS CM6730
Memory 16 GBs DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX RX 480 8gb
Storage 1 Tb
Display(s) ASUS MG248Q
Case Generic ASUS mini tower
Power Supply Antec HCG-520w
Mouse Logitech G403/G400s
Keyboard Coolermaster Quickfire TK Cherry MX red
#10
The problem seems to have resolved itself somehow when I started unplugging things and putting it back together. I don't really understand what happened, but I guess it worked out?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,240 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,817
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#11
The problem seems to have resolved itself somehow when I started unplugging things and putting it back together. I don't really understand what happened, but I guess it worked out?
Bad connector seating, might of needed a power rest too. Glad you resolved it.