• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Slow Gigabit Network

Joined
Jun 6, 2006
Messages
938 (0.22/day)
Likes
12
Location
Wisconsin, USA
Processor Intel Core i7-930 (D0) @ 4.0GHz (1.28v)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling CoolIT ECO-R120 Advanced Liquid Cooling w/ x2 Scythe ULTRA-KAZE 3000rpm | Scythe Master controller
Memory Mushkin Enhanced Redline - 6GB DDR3 @ 1910MHz 8-10-8-29
Video Card(s) MSI N460GTX Twin Frozr II SOC GeForce GTX 460 768MB 192-bit GDDR5
Storage RAID-0 w/ 2x OCZ Agility 2 SSD 90GB SATA II 3.5" (r4.6Gb/s w4.2Gb/s)
Display(s) ASUS VW266H - 26" LCD
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout | x2 120mm Scythe ULTRA-KAZE | 140mm Scythe Slipstream KAZE Maru2
Power Supply Thermaltake Black Widow TR2 RX - 850w
#1
I just upgraded my whole network from 10/100 to gigabit. I'm running a Linksys E3000 router, a Netgear Prosafe switch, and a D-Link DNS-321 NAS. I'm aware that there is about a 125MB/s theoretical ceiling (less with real-life overhead, etc.), but I'm only seeing 11-14MB/s transfer speeds from the NAS to my PC.

Here's what I've tried so far, with no effect:
1.) Switching all devices to gigabit only mode.
2.) Disabling anti-virus/defender.
3.) Increasing MTU sizes across the NICs.

The NAS is running RAID-1 with x2 Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm 500GB SATA 3.0Gb/s, and my PC is running SSD's in RAID-0 (see specs), so I don't believe drive speed is the issue here.

Looking for any suggestions or possible solutions here.
Thanks!
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,414 (3.53/day)
Likes
4,275
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#2
I just upgraded my whole network from 10/100 to gigabit. I'm running a Linksys E3000 router, a Netgear Prosafe switch, and a D-Link DNS-321 NAS. I'm aware that there is about a 125MB/s theoretical ceiling (less with real-life overhead, etc.), but I'm only seeing 11-14MB/s transfer speeds from the NAS to my PC.

Here's what I've tried so far, with no effect:
1.) Switching all devices to gigabit only mode.
2.) Disabling anti-virus/defender.
3.) Increasing MTU sizes across the NICs.

The NAS is running RAID-1 with x2 Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm 500GB SATA 3.0Gb/s, and my PC is running SSD's in RAID-0 (see specs), so I don't believe drive speed is the issue here.

Looking for any suggestions or possible solutions here.
Thanks!
hrm, i am also on an all gigabit network and my NAS transfer speeds max out at 19MBps. i always assumed it was because the NAS is kinda crappy.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,473 (0.73/day)
Likes
614
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC 4GB (Thunderbolt3 eGPU), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage HP NVMe 256GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Skullcandy SLYR
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair RM550x (for eGPU)
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#3
I just upgraded my whole network from 10/100 to gigabit. I'm running a Linksys E3000 router, a Netgear Prosafe switch, and a D-Link DNS-321 NAS. I'm aware that there is about a 125MB/s theoretical ceiling (less with real-life overhead, etc.), but I'm only seeing 11-14MB/s transfer speeds from the NAS to my PC.

Here's what I've tried so far, with no effect:
1.) Switching all devices to gigabit only mode.
2.) Disabling anti-virus/defender.
3.) Increasing MTU sizes across the NICs.

The NAS is running RAID-1 with x2 Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm 500GB SATA 3.0Gb/s, and my PC is running SSD's in RAID-0 (see specs), so I don't believe drive speed is the issue here.

Looking for any suggestions or possible solutions here.
Thanks!
I recently did the same thing, but my router is 100Mbps, so everything goes to the switch, and then the router also gets connected to the switch. I have no NAS, but transfers between both machines in my place run as fast as the mechanical hard drives will allow.

I'd say the problem might be in the NAS.

I just googled up your NAS model:
Specifications
Standards
• IEEE 802.3 10Base-T Ethernet
• IEEE 802.3u 100Base-TX Fast Ethernet

Support Hard Drive Type
• SATA*
Ports
• 1 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet Port

Compare this to the DNS-323:
Specifications
Standards
• IEEE 802.3 10 Base-T Ethernet
• IEEE 802.3u 100Base-TX Fast Ethernet
• IEEE 802.3ab 1000Base-T Gigabit

In other words, it seems like your NAS is simply not capable of 1Gbps speeds, despite it listing a 1Gbps port - It doesn't list the 1000Base-T as a supported standard. This might be due to a lack of processing power inside the box.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,414 (3.53/day)
Likes
4,275
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#4
I recently did the same thing, but my router is 100Mbps, so everything goes to the switch, and then the router also gets connected to the switch. I have no NAS, but transfers between both machines in my place run as fast as the mechanical hard drives will allow.

I'd say the problem might be in the NAS.

I just googled up your NAS model:
Specifications
Standards
• IEEE 802.3 10Base-T Ethernet
• IEEE 802.3u 100Base-TX Fast Ethernet

Support Hard Drive Type
• SATA*
Ports
• 1 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet Port

Compare this to the DNS-323:
Specifications
Standards
• IEEE 802.3 10 Base-T Ethernet
• IEEE 802.3u 100Base-TX Fast Ethernet
• IEEE 802.3ab 1000Base-T Gigabit

In other words, it seems like your NAS is simply not capable of 1Gbps speeds, despite it listing a 1Gbps port - It doesn't list the 1000Base-T as a supported standard. This might be due to a lack of processing power inside the box.
wow, this actually explains the same issue with my NAS. well i guess you get what you pay for :laugh:
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,913 (0.65/day)
Likes
659
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#5
There really needs to be some better legal repercussions for false and misleading advertising.
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2006
Messages
938 (0.22/day)
Likes
12
Location
Wisconsin, USA
Processor Intel Core i7-930 (D0) @ 4.0GHz (1.28v)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling CoolIT ECO-R120 Advanced Liquid Cooling w/ x2 Scythe ULTRA-KAZE 3000rpm | Scythe Master controller
Memory Mushkin Enhanced Redline - 6GB DDR3 @ 1910MHz 8-10-8-29
Video Card(s) MSI N460GTX Twin Frozr II SOC GeForce GTX 460 768MB 192-bit GDDR5
Storage RAID-0 w/ 2x OCZ Agility 2 SSD 90GB SATA II 3.5" (r4.6Gb/s w4.2Gb/s)
Display(s) ASUS VW266H - 26" LCD
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout | x2 120mm Scythe ULTRA-KAZE | 140mm Scythe Slipstream KAZE Maru2
Power Supply Thermaltake Black Widow TR2 RX - 850w
#6
Thanks, that really does explain it. I have to say, it does seem rather disingenuous to advertise a gigabit port when the device itself doesn't support the same speed of throughput. :(
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,414 (3.53/day)
Likes
4,275
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#7
Thanks, that really does explain it. I have to say, it does seem rather disingenuous to advertise a gigabit port when the device itself doesn't support the same speed of throughput. :(
i agree, that is pretty lousy of them. my gigabit NAS is a QNAP. i won't be buying anything from them again.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.80/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#8
are there any difference between reading from the NAS and writing to it?



my gigabit network does max out at 90-110MBytesps transfering from PC to PC
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,414 (3.53/day)
Likes
4,275
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#9
are there any difference between reading from the NAS and writing to it?



my gigabit network does max out at 90-110MBytesps transfering from PC to PC
for me it is the exact same.
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2006
Messages
938 (0.22/day)
Likes
12
Location
Wisconsin, USA
Processor Intel Core i7-930 (D0) @ 4.0GHz (1.28v)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling CoolIT ECO-R120 Advanced Liquid Cooling w/ x2 Scythe ULTRA-KAZE 3000rpm | Scythe Master controller
Memory Mushkin Enhanced Redline - 6GB DDR3 @ 1910MHz 8-10-8-29
Video Card(s) MSI N460GTX Twin Frozr II SOC GeForce GTX 460 768MB 192-bit GDDR5
Storage RAID-0 w/ 2x OCZ Agility 2 SSD 90GB SATA II 3.5" (r4.6Gb/s w4.2Gb/s)
Display(s) ASUS VW266H - 26" LCD
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout | x2 120mm Scythe ULTRA-KAZE | 140mm Scythe Slipstream KAZE Maru2
Power Supply Thermaltake Black Widow TR2 RX - 850w
#10
are there any difference between reading from the NAS and writing to it?



my gigabit network does max out at 90-110MBytesps transfering from PC to PC
Just tried, nope same. One funny thing I did notice when boosting the MTU sizes was that I saw spikes of up to 34-80MB/s, and the data bar mirrored the claim, but they only lasted seconds. I wonder if the NAS RAID controller just isn't built to handle it.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,473 (0.73/day)
Likes
614
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC 4GB (Thunderbolt3 eGPU), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage HP NVMe 256GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Skullcandy SLYR
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair RM550x (for eGPU)
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#11
Just tried, nope same. One funny thing I did notice when boosting the MTU sizes was that I saw spikes of up to 34-80MB/s, and the data bar mirrored the claim, but they only lasted seconds. I wonder if the NAS RAID controller just isn't built to handle it.
I think the controller simply dies. The actual Eth port might be 1Gbps, but the NAS controller simply cannot handle this data rate - Thus it is not listed. It will also explain the short bursts of speed - They last before it runs out of receive buffer.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,414 (3.53/day)
Likes
4,275
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#12
this is just depressing.
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2007
Messages
443 (0.12/day)
Likes
128
Location
BY-S36
System Name Bitch / Dogma
Processor 955 BE @ 3.8Gig / 9850 @stock
Video Card(s) 8800 GTX 512 / 4890
Storage 8 x Samsung F2 1.5TB, 8 x Seagate 500s
Display(s) Acer 24 / Dell 24
Case Lian li / Akasa
Software Win server 2008 / Win 7
#13
The problem certainly lies with the NAS device - more specifically Rumba.

Rumba is part of the software on the NAS that allows windows PCs to access the *nix file system on the NAS - typically ext2 or 3.

I have a QNAP 809pro and with Ext2 was getting 36MB/s. After I migrated the NAS to Ext3 the rate increased to 58MB/s.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,414 (3.53/day)
Likes
4,275
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#14
The problem certainly lies with the NAS device - more specifically Rumba.

Rumba is part of the software on the NAS that allows windows PCs to access the *nix file system on the NAS - typically ext2 or 3.

I have a QNAP 809pro and with Ext2 was getting 36MB/s. After I migrated the NAS to Ext3 the rate increased to 58MB/s.
how did you migrate to the new file system?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,547
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#15
This is why I always tell people don't waste money on NAS devices. A full blown file server will be so much better for only a marginally higher price.

Most of the time these NAS devices use a software RAID controller with a processor that can't handle the load.
 

kciaccio

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2009
Messages
364 (0.11/day)
Likes
45
Processor QuadCore Intel Core i7-2600K, 4433 MHz (43 x 103)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68 DELUXE GEN 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 8 gigs DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Video Card(s) POWER COLOR HD6870 EYEFINITY 6 EDITION 2GB
Storage KINGSTON HYPER X 120G SSD
Display(s) Quad set of Acer X193X's AND 2 Dell P2210 - 22"
Case Silverstone Raven 2 WHITE LIMITED EDITION
Power Supply NZXT HALE 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
#16
If you have a spare computer laying around turn it into an unraid server. Mine works fantastic. They even have free software using 3 drives, 2 data and a parity drive.

http://lime-technology.com/forum/index.php