• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Slow Lan speeds

xpc123

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hey guys

I have slow lan speeds at my home
it's like this;

I have a modem, brand Sagem, connection to my router (D-link 655)

http://www.dlink.com/us/en/home-solutions/connect/routers/dir-655-wireless-n-gigabit-router

Then in my room I have a switch Netgear GS108E

Cat 5 gigabit certified cables (not home made)

when I transfer a file in the network I only get 40 MB/s

I think you should normally get way more than this? (if gigabit)
Both pc's are capable of Gigabit
My pc: Intel Pro / 1000 PT server adapter
a pc I use download stuff with: Intel pro 1000/ MT

I don't see the problem here as everything is in order?
any help pls?
And sorry if my English is bad
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
1,711 (0.51/day)
Likes
278
Location
ATL, GA
System Name My Rig
Processor AMD 1950X
Motherboard Asus Zenith Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master 360mm AIO
Memory G.Skill Trident DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34
Case Corsair HAF120
Power Supply Cooler Master 1200W Gold Edition
Mouse Razer Lancehead
Keyboard Razer Widow Maker Keyboard
Software Window's 10 Pro
#2
If I recall correctly, the Intel Pro GT 1000 line of nices uses PCI based bus. Which will top out around 30-40 mb/s. If either computer is using a PCI based nic, it's an issues. Also consider the drives involved, are they PATA based?(Ribboned instead of SATA), What operating systems are being used?
 

Klavshc

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
I agree with coke Koala.

However, one thing I'm noticing is that you say "40 mb/s" I get that English is not your native language so I'm assuming you mean 40 MB speed, as 40 mb/s is 8 times slower and if that is the speed you're seeing in transferring something is almost certainly wrong; 40 mb /s is around 5 MB/s.

Having 40 MB is not a bad speed, as you'll unfortunately never get the gigabit speed.
 

xpc123

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
If I recall correctly, the Intel Pro GT 1000 line of nices uses PCI based bus. Which will top out around 30-40 mb/s. If either computer is using a PCI based nic, it's an issues. Also consider the drives involved, are they PATA based?(Ribboned instead of SATA), What operating systems are being used?
Well I went to my friend to test out he has Gigabit at his home
there I get about 85MB/s with my pc and the Pro PT 1000 Nic transfer rate so it can handle it

Normally it is IDE (the download pc) to my computer (Sata6)

I tested with my pc to my laptop wich has gigabit and also sata
then my transfer rate was about 50MB/s
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
860 (0.28/day)
Likes
117
Location
Manteca, Ca
System Name Rebirth
Processor Intel i5 2500k @4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Megahalem 120x25 x2 GT AP-15 Push/Pull
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X + MSI HD7950 TF3
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 120 SSD + Seagate 7200.12 1TB + 500gig WD + 3TB Hitachi
Display(s) X-Star Glossy DP2710
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar STX
Power Supply Antec CP-850
Software Microsoft Windows 8 Pro x64
#5
Are any packets traveling through the d-link? Unplug the d-link and transfer to the other computer though just the netgear. If you still have the same problem then its either the netgear cannot handle the sustained speeds or one of your hard drives cannot handle the sustained speeds.
 

xpc123

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Are any packets traveling through the d-link? Unplug the d-link and transfer to the other computer though just the netgear. If you still have the same problem then its either the netgear cannot handle the sustained speeds or one of your hard drives cannot handle the sustained speeds.
I will try this
I have another gigabit switch that I can use to try out
to connect to the netgear in my room without the router
so basicly it could be the router that is slowing down network speeds?
 

xpc123

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
I tried without the router, still the same
I know my pc is able to get more
maybe I am using bad cable somewhere?
As far as I can remember I used Cat 5e
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
1,711 (0.51/day)
Likes
278
Location
ATL, GA
System Name My Rig
Processor AMD 1950X
Motherboard Asus Zenith Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master 360mm AIO
Memory G.Skill Trident DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34
Case Corsair HAF120
Power Supply Cooler Master 1200W Gold Edition
Mouse Razer Lancehead
Keyboard Razer Widow Maker Keyboard
Software Window's 10 Pro
#8
You're limiting factor is the IDE drive your reading from it sounds. Use ATTO hard drive benchmark to find out how fast it can read.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
1,127 (0.29/day)
Likes
651
Location
Repentigny, QC, CANADA
System Name CTG Computer
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.3ghz 1.264v
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 2x 8gb Mushkin Blackline 2133mhz@2400mhz 11-13-13-31-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 4GB
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256gb (OS) | Crucial MX100 256gb (games) | Silicon Power S55 240gb (Games)
Display(s) Asus vg248qe
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster Z PCI-E
Power Supply eVGA SuperNova 750w G2
Mouse CM Mizar
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
Well, do you have Cat 5e or Cat 6 Cable?

Have you tried your switch to your friend's home? What kind of cable he uses?

It can be the switch not able to to max speed.

Also, remember that transfering on network, you can be bottleneck by the hard drive.. 2 laptop in gigabit, switch are link via 2gbits link, a file of 540mo, it's between 50 and 65MB/s. I transfered that file from his hard drive to mine (no on my SSD) Transfering between 2 raid 5 server with gigabit will get faster on that file.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,518 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,939
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#10
Hard drive speeds on both machines and file types. There are many factors on slow transfer speeds.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
1,711 (0.51/day)
Likes
278
Location
ATL, GA
System Name My Rig
Processor AMD 1950X
Motherboard Asus Zenith Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master 360mm AIO
Memory G.Skill Trident DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34
Case Corsair HAF120
Power Supply Cooler Master 1200W Gold Edition
Mouse Razer Lancehead
Keyboard Razer Widow Maker Keyboard
Software Window's 10 Pro
#11
Hard drive speeds on both machines and file types. There are many factors on slow transfer speeds.
He's already stated the problem, he's reading or writing to a IDE based drive. That will top out at 60 MegaBytes per Second. Given overhead and likely the drive is older given it's IDE, 40 Megabytes per second is reasonable. Also are you copying 1 large file or a group of files? That can contribute to slow performance.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
1,711 (0.51/day)
Likes
278
Location
ATL, GA
System Name My Rig
Processor AMD 1950X
Motherboard Asus Zenith Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master 360mm AIO
Memory G.Skill Trident DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34
Case Corsair HAF120
Power Supply Cooler Master 1200W Gold Edition
Mouse Razer Lancehead
Keyboard Razer Widow Maker Keyboard
Software Window's 10 Pro
#12
Well I went to my friend to test out he has Gigabit at his home
there I get about 85MB/s with my pc and the Pro PT 1000 Nic transfer rate so it can handle it

Normally it is IDE (the download pc) to my computer (Sata6)

I tested with my pc to my laptop wich has gigabit and also sata
then my transfer rate was about 50MB/s
What are the models of the NICs?
 

xpc123

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
He's already stated the problem, he's reading or writing to a IDE based drive. That will top out at 60 MegaBytes per Second. Given overhead and likely the drive is older given it's IDE, 40 Megabytes per second is reasonable. Also are you copying 1 large file or a group of files? That can contribute to slow performance.
Mosty large ISO files

Yes you are probably right there the pc I use to download with
was used in a company before but they change computers at a certain time
So it probably has already done alot of things before I started uesing it.

Is there a way test the network speed overall? Like how much you can get
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
1,711 (0.51/day)
Likes
278
Location
ATL, GA
System Name My Rig
Processor AMD 1950X
Motherboard Asus Zenith Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master 360mm AIO
Memory G.Skill Trident DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34
Case Corsair HAF120
Power Supply Cooler Master 1200W Gold Edition
Mouse Razer Lancehead
Keyboard Razer Widow Maker Keyboard
Software Window's 10 Pro
#14
Well, you're already doing what I would do to test the lans speed. Copy 1 single large file from one location to another.
 

xpc123

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#15
Hmm yes
thanks for the help everyone
I think I will have to do with the speed I currently have
or maybe in the future get a better pc to download with
that can handle those speeds