• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

slow nvme raid 0 speed

Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
579 (0.18/day)
Processor Intel core i9 10900k @5.3ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus XII APEX
Cooling Custom loop 3*360 45mm thick+ mo-ra3 420
Memory 2x16gb Gskillz Trident Z 4400mhz cl17
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW3 RTX 2080Ti
Storage 1TB Samsung 860Evo,2*2tb Samsung 970Evo Plus, 1tb Intel 660p nvme
Display(s) LG Ultragear 27" IPS 1440P 144HZ
Case Dynamic XL
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x
Mouse Model O-
Keyboard Razer Onata Chroma
Should it be double this speed for raid 0? I got this with 1 nvme,

disk.png
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
1,985 (0.50/day)
Location
Republic of Texas
Processor R9 3900x 4.3ghz@1.2v
Motherboard Asus x570 Crosshair VIII Formula
Cooling NZXT Kraken X62 with CableMod
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 2x16gb (CL16@3800MHz)
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 EVO Series - 500GB NVMe | Intel 660p 2TB NVMe
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 Curved IPS 3440x1440 G-Sync | Oculus Rift
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv TG
Audio Device(s) Objective2 Amp/DAC | AKG K612PRO and Beyerdynamic DT880 (600-ohm) | Blue Yeti Mic
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 750W with CableMod
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite V2
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB "Cherry MX Brown"
Software Win 10 pro
not enough pcie lanes? one or more nvme is running at 2x not 4x?
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
8,932 (4.23/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Two drives in Raid doesn't mean double the performance.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
920 (0.26/day)
System Name future xeon II
Processor DUAL SOCKET xeon e5 2686 v3 , 36c/72t, hacked all cores @3.5ghz, TDP limit hacked
Motherboard asrock rack ep2c612 ws
Cooling case fans,liquid corsair h100iv2 x2
Memory 96 gb ddr4 2133mhz gskill+corsair
Video Card(s) 2x 1080 sc acx3 SLI, @STOCK
Storage Hp ex950 2tb nvme+ adata xpg sx8200 pro 1tb nvme+ sata ssd's+ spinners
Display(s) philips 40" bdm4065uc 4k @60
Case silverstone temjin tj07-b
Audio Device(s) sb Z
Power Supply corsair hx1200i
Mouse corsair m95 16 buttons
Keyboard microsoft internet keyboard pro
Software windows 10 x64 1903 ,enterprise
Benchmark Scores fire strike ultra- 10k time spy- 15k cpu z- 400/15000
sequentially it is close to double, this result seems very good as it is, my 7k spinners in raid 0 perform better than my old ssd
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
6,384 (1.11/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
sequentially it is close to double, this result seems very good as it is, my 7k spinners in raid 0 perform better than my old ssd
eh?
That's the performance of one half decent NVMe drive these days, so no, that's nothing special at all.

not enough pcie lanes? one or more nvme is running at 2x not 4x?
I think you might be spot on.
*1When DIMM.2_1 is operating in SATA Mode, SATA6G_2 will be disabled.
*2 When DIMM.2_2 is populated, SATA6G_5&6 will be disabled.
*3 M.2_1 shares bandwidth with PCIe x4 slot, when M.2_1 is populated a x2 device, PCIe x4 slot will running at x1 mode, when M.2_1 is populated a x4 device, PCIe x4 slot will be disabled
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
579 (0.18/day)
Processor Intel core i9 10900k @5.3ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus XII APEX
Cooling Custom loop 3*360 45mm thick+ mo-ra3 420
Memory 2x16gb Gskillz Trident Z 4400mhz cl17
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW3 RTX 2080Ti
Storage 1TB Samsung 860Evo,2*2tb Samsung 970Evo Plus, 1tb Intel 660p nvme
Display(s) LG Ultragear 27" IPS 1440P 144HZ
Case Dynamic XL
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x
Mouse Model O-
Keyboard Razer Onata Chroma
Any tutorial how to turn on x4 mode on apex xii? I cant figure it out.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
7,919 (2.08/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
Any tutorial how to turn on x4 mode on apex xii? I cant figure it out.
You might have to move one of your drive's, one sounds like it's attached to the chipset not a direct pciex slot, to use two nvme an option I went with is a four nvme to pciex adapter card, though I can only use two port's since the two main pciex slot's drop to X8.
That plus the main attached to CPU m.2 port on your motherboard and you can have three nvme attached direct to the cpu with full bandwidth allowed.

Could be different for you , I could be wrong given the different platform but we're both pciex lane limited.

I found this out through the hard way of every other way being in effective and I also had to disable sata ports since they shared bandwidth, still my media and backup pc is rammed with drive's now so ah well.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,191 (5.06/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
At the end of the day, because of how the Intel mainstream platform is designed, the best you are going to get speed wise when reading to or from RAM(which is what most speed tests do) is PCI-E 3.0 x4 link speed.

So you are basically hitting that limit with a single drive, adding a second in RAID0 is only going to see marginal/unnoticeable performance improvements.
 
Last edited:
Top