• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sluggish handling on games

Joined
Jul 1, 2010
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name "WTFGAMING"
Processor Phenom II X4 B40 @3Ghz
Memory AMD 4GB Pc12800
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 650
Display(s) LCD 19", 1366x768
Power Supply fsp 400W
Benchmark Scores better use real gaming,,
#1
i have weird question, please help, please read,

i try NFS:Carbon on PS3 it has perfect handling, very quick and responsive, but the frame rates is really bad (i think its 35-40 on crowded, 50-60 when alone) so i decide to play on PC since it would be steady 60 fps..
when i play NFS:Carbon on PC (with keyboard), i play drift mode, the game runs fine, handling was perfect, very quick and easy drifting with only single turn without brake..
so i decide to plug joystick, and restart the game..
then i play drift mode again, handling became very sluggish and slow, feels so goddamn hard to drift..
so i decide to unplug joystick since handling feels much better with keyboard, but handling still sluggish like playing with joystick...

recently i try on other racing game with joystick, on GRID 2 same thing happen...what is going on man?!
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,698 (9.94/day)
Likes
18,574
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#2
Are your USB/chipset drivers up to date? What joystick are you using?
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,490 (4.35/day)
Likes
5,692
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage WD Black Edition 512GB SSD (Boot)|Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1xFractal Design HP-12|1x140mm Noctua P14S Redux|2x Corsair ML 140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#3
umm... Im no rocket scientist or brain surgeon for that matter but something tells me that that joystick might be faulty or a really really shit one.

Check the drivers for that joystick if it comes with any - and whatever erocker said cuz hes the man when it comes to usb issues of the heart
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2010
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name "WTFGAMING"
Processor Phenom II X4 B40 @3Ghz
Memory AMD 4GB Pc12800
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 650
Display(s) LCD 19", 1366x768
Power Supply fsp 400W
Benchmark Scores better use real gaming,,
#4
its not joystick issue, because i already tried with xbox 360 controller logitech f510..
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,226 (0.92/day)
Likes
2,008
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i5 8600K / 4.8 GHz @ 1.2V
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE + Prolimatech MK-13 / Thermalright TY143 / Corsair SP-120L / Yate Loon D14BH-12
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB DDR4 3200 CL14 F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 OC 2GB
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05NB (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A Mouse, Microsoft Basic Optical Mouse, Corsair MM600, Inateck 900x300 mouse mat
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL, Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key
Software Win7 Pro 64 (Installed on Coffee Lake using PS/2 Emulation mode)
#5
Have you tried a reinstall?


Also I used a Xbox 360 controller with Grid 2, have no problems, feels very much like a console! This is on rig #2 in sig.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,194 (1.91/day)
Likes
1,735
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#6
Could be you buggered the file that maps the control bindings if you have two control devices plugged in simultaneously. Try deleting the file with the key/button bindings and let the game refresh it. Save and relocate a backup copy of it first. Some games give priority to one preferred control device and don't work well if you have two plugged in at the same time.

That said, faulty and/or poorly made control devices can also draw more amperage than the port they're plugged into can deliver, which can cause problems too.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2010
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name "WTFGAMING"
Processor Phenom II X4 B40 @3Ghz
Memory AMD 4GB Pc12800
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 650
Display(s) LCD 19", 1366x768
Power Supply fsp 400W
Benchmark Scores better use real gaming,,
#7
Could be you buggered the file that maps the control bindings if you have two control devices plugged in simultaneously. Try deleting the file with the key/button bindings and let the game refresh it. Save and relocate a backup copy of it first. Some games give priority to one preferred control device and don't work well if you have two plugged in at the same time.

That said, faulty and/or poorly made control devices can also draw more amperage than the port they're plugged into can deliver, which can cause problems too.
hmm...that make sense, but i dont see anything, what file should i delete man? can it be disabled instead delete?

Have you tried a reinstall?


Also I used a Xbox 360 controller with Grid 2, have no problems, feels very much like a console! This is on rig #2 in sig.
i already tried booth x360ce and xbox 360 controller itself...no diffrence, its not joystick issue...and i think fragmaniac is right..
 

webguy09

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2014
Messages
24 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#8
Have you tried to restart your PC with the joystick unplugged?

Also it could be a driver issue with the joystick.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2010
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name "WTFGAMING"
Processor Phenom II X4 B40 @3Ghz
Memory AMD 4GB Pc12800
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 650
Display(s) LCD 19", 1366x768
Power Supply fsp 400W
Benchmark Scores better use real gaming,,
#9
i did