1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SMART drive info

Discussion in 'Storage' started by lisburnni, Jun 14, 2009.

  1. lisburnni New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    i have recently installed smart pass and disk check up 2.1 to monitor my hard drives but my raid 0 array is not appearing , the array is fully functional ( my OS is on it )

    what do you guys use to keep an eye on yours

    thanks in advance

    stephen
     
  2. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,893 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    443
    Win7?

    I cannot see S.M.A.R.T. info using Win7 either.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,893 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    443
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. lisburnni New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    yes it win 7 , i can see it for my programs drive ( wdc5000aaks) and my storage drive ( samsung 1tb F1)

    just not my RAID array ( seagate 7200.12s)
     
  5. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,893 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    443
    Does the RAID array appear in Windows Device Manager?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. lisburnni New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    aye , like i said above its my OS drive and everything is 100%
     
  7. lisburnni New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    i just DLd and installed crystaldisk info from above - same story

    C drive is the array and what i want to watch - along with the others of course , as you can see it doesnt appear in the smart utility

    http://img35.imageshack.us/img35/7277/90206820.png
     
  8. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,893 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    443
    Select Function>Advanced Feature>Advanced Disk Search

    Screenshot


    You should be able to see S.M.A.R.T. info for each disk.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. lisburnni New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    nope it doesnt :D
     
  10. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,893 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    443
    Select Disk and post a screenshot like this.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. lisburnni New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
  12. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,893 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    443
    And you have Advanced Disk Search checked?

    That is strange, the last screenshot I posted was using my Win7 RAID 0 array (the two WD 160GB HDDs. The four Seagate 320GB HDDs are my RAID 0+1 array running XP).

    I guess I was mistaken when I said I could not see S.M.A.R.T. info in Win7, I cannot see my eSATA HDD though, which I can see in XP.

    It must be your RAID controller.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. lisburnni New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    thats ich9r on my board , ahh no harm done i guess :(
     
  14. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,893 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    443
    I have an nVidia RAID controller, maybe that is the difference.

    Why not email the author and ask about why you have this issue? I am sure he would he interested in helping you figure it out.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. lisburnni New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    just done that

    many thanks for your help anyway (Y)
     
  16. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,193 (4.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,677
    Location:
    US
    IntelĀ® Matrix Storage Manager will tell you if a HDD falls out of raid. And depending on the raid setup and if it can cope with a missing drive you get the option to fix it and it will check for errors on the raid and you can also request checks too.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)