• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

So does PCE-I 2.0 (3870) run on our current mobos?....

Kasparz

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
287 (0.07/day)
Likes
4
#2
No, PCE-I 2.0 cards won't work in PCI-E 1.0 slot. But if you're talking about PCI-E 2.0, then it will work in PCI-E 1.0 slot.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.93/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#6
No, PCE-I 2.0 cards won't work in PCI-E 1.0 slot. But if you're talking about PCI-E 2.0, then it will work in PCI-E 1.0 slot.
Are you sure?? I thought the PCI-E 2.0 cards WERE backwards compatible. :confused:
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.98/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#7
me too i want to be sure, as my 7900gs is now up for sale.
 

cefurkan

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
206 (0.06/day)
Likes
4
Processor Q6600 2.4 GHZ@ 3.754 GHZ
Motherboard Asus P5Q
Cooling stok fan
Memory 4 GBYT DDR2 CL4 Geil
Video Card(s) MSI 8800 GTX 768 MB @621 GPU 945 Memory
Storage 3*500 raid + 500 harici + 160 GBYT
Display(s) 17. lcd philips
Case feel hurricane 1
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 750 Watt Silver Stone
Software win xp sp3
#8
of course it works
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,074 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,991
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#10
yes it will work, a pci-e 2.0 card will work in any pci-e 1.0 slot, but of course only at 1.0 speeds. a 1.0 card works in a 2.0 slot too, but only at 1.0 speed
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,786 (0.60/day)
Likes
435
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) between GPUs
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech PM MX / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores yes
#11
Did a little experiment:
It took ~5 seconds to google an answer to this. (searchwords: "pcie 2.0 compatible")
OR 10 seconds to search the forum.

*shrug*

btw,
IMO, Kasparz's reply was perfectly appropriate.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,889 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#13
I thought you needed pci-e 1.1 to run pci-e 2.0 cards.. But p965 has pci-e 1.1, so there isn't any problems. :)
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.47/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#14
Did a little experiment:
It took ~5 seconds to google an answer to this. (searchwords: "pcie 2.0 compatible")
OR 10 seconds to search the forum.

*shrug*

TBH, I thought it would, but its always better to make a post on TPU because that way others that may be wondering about the same thing can see the answer also!

btw,
IMO, Kasparz's reply was perfectly appropriate.
Well your a d!ckhead too! He knew I had made a typing error, yet decided to act like an idiot....and your just following the leader!
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,889 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#16