• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

so this 1 vs 2 rank memory thing..

Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
244 (0.08/day)
System Name Box
Processor Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard MSI Meg Ace Max 570S
Cooling Corsair h150i Elite Capellix 360 white
Memory 16 GB Teamforce DDR 4 4500 (2x8) CL18
Video Card(s) Aorus 1080ti
Storage NVMe: Samsung 980 Pro 2TB, WD_BLACK SN770 2TB, Crucial P5 Plus 2TB, spinners: 3TB, 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 1080p
Case Lian Li 011 Dynamic white - fans: 2x140mm, 7x120mm
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply EVGA G2 850
Mouse Razor DeathAdder 3.5G
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB
VR HMD Valve Index
Software Win10 pro
Benchmark Scores later
i built the rig in my specs a month or so ago. when i went with memory, hearing AMD can (or had) issues with some sticks i went with the specific ones the reviewer of the board used in his tests. these are the exact sticks:


memory.jpgmemory 2.png

they run fine and i gather they are single rank. and 16 gb ram is fine so far. any games that need over 16 gigs yet?

so to go 2 ranks i need an identical set of these and use all 4 ram slots. and go from 16gb to 32gb ram of course. but put more load on the processors memory controller too. more load = crappier signal

tldr im still not up of single vs dual rank vs timing tradeoffs. any ELI5 stuff and what real gains there might be?

main purpose of the rig is pretty much games really. it also runs office and such light duty stuff.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
966 (0.46/day)
Location
Uttar Pradesh, India
Processor AMD R7 1700X @ 4100Mhz
Motherboard MSI B450M MORTAR MAX (MS-7B89)
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory Crucial Technology 16GB DR (DDR4-3600) - C9BLM:045M:E BL16G36C16U4W.M16FE1 X2 @ CL14
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 GTR 8GB @ 1408Mhz (AMD Auto OC)
Storage Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250GB
Display(s) Acer KG271 1080p @ 81Hz
Power Supply SuperFlower Leadex II 750W 80+ Gold
Keyboard Redragon Devarajas RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 (10.0) Professional 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/mvvj3a
What CPU are you running there is no Ryzen 9 9800X.

With 8GBX2 Samung B-die sticks MCLK 1800 or 3600MT is not that high to begin with since those stick are rated for 4500MT. You should be able to do +4000 without much issues.

With four stick you should be able to do 3800MT without much problems unless you have the 1900 FCLK hole issues that some ZEN 3 CPUs have.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
244 (0.08/day)
System Name Box
Processor Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard MSI Meg Ace Max 570S
Cooling Corsair h150i Elite Capellix 360 white
Memory 16 GB Teamforce DDR 4 4500 (2x8) CL18
Video Card(s) Aorus 1080ti
Storage NVMe: Samsung 980 Pro 2TB, WD_BLACK SN770 2TB, Crucial P5 Plus 2TB, spinners: 3TB, 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 1080p
Case Lian Li 011 Dynamic white - fans: 2x140mm, 7x120mm
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply EVGA G2 850
Mouse Razor DeathAdder 3.5G
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB
VR HMD Valve Index
Software Win10 pro
Benchmark Scores later
woops right its a Ryzen 9 5900x ill fix it in the specs

as long as i can throw two more sticks at it and actually not lose performance due to having the back off timing too much.

5900x.jpg
 

dgianstefani

TPU Proofreader
Staff member
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
4,691 (1.96/day)
Location
Swansea, Wales
System Name Silent
Processor Ryzen 7800X3D @ 5.15ghz BCLK OC, TG AM5 High Performance Heatspreader
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix X670E-I, chipset fans removed
Cooling Optimus Block, HWLABS Copper 240/40 + 240/30, D5/Res, 4x Noctua A12x25, 2x A4x10, Mayhems Ultra Pure
Memory 32 GB Dominator Platinum 6150 MT 26-36-36-48, 56.6ns AIDA, 2050 FCLK, 160 ns tRFC, active cooled
Video Card(s) RTX 3080 Ti Founders Edition, Conductonaut Extreme, 18 W/mK MinusPad Extreme, Corsair XG7 Waterblock
Storage Intel Optane DC P1600X 118 GB, Samsung 990 Pro 2 TB
Display(s) 32" 240 Hz 1440p Samsung G7, 31.5" 165 Hz 1440p LG NanoIPS Ultragear
Case Sliger SM570 CNC Aluminium 13-Litre, 3D printed feet, custom front panel pump/res combo
Audio Device(s) Audeze Maxwell Ultraviolet, Razer Nommo Pro
Power Supply SF750 Plat, full transparent custom cables, Sentinel Pro 1500 Online Double Conversion UPS w/Noctua
Mouse Razer Viper Pro V2 8 KHz Mercury White w/Tiger Ice Skates & Pulsar Supergrip tape
Keyboard Wooting 60HE+ module, TOFU Redux Burgundy w/brass weight, Prismcaps White, Jellykey, lubed/modded
Software Windows 10 IoT Enterprise LTSC 19044.4046
Benchmark Scores Legendary
2 sticks of dual rank DIMMS is ideal for frequency/latency,
4 sticks of single rank DIMMS is good but not as good
2 sticks of single rank DIMMs will give you best timings/frequency, but you only have 1 rank per channel and thus lose performance.

The only time you'll notice high frequency/low latency is in improved minimum 1%/0.1% frames, and if you run a HFR display, in a CPU limited scenario.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
2,789 (2.21/day)
Location
Germany
System Name Sunk Cost Fallacy
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D
Motherboard ASRock B650E Steel Legend Wifi
Cooling Thermalright Phantom Spirit 120
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance RGB 6000 CL30 (A-Die)
Video Card(s) RTX 4090 Gaming X Trio
Storage WD Black SN850X 1TB + 2x 2TB, 2x 4TB Crucial MX500, 4TB Samsung 870 Evo.
Display(s) Alienware AW2723DF, LG 27GR93U, LG 27GN950-B
Case Streacom BC1 V2
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 and HD599 SE - Creative Soundblaster X4
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1500w Titanium
Mouse Logitech GPRO X Superlight & G502 X
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB Mini, Razer Black Widow V3 TKL
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Dual rank performs a lot better in almost all applications.
A 3600mb/s dual rank kit performs around the same as a 4000mb/s single rank kit.
 

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
7,954 (3.73/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Processor AMD R9 5900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Thermalright Aqua Elite 360 V3 1x TL-B12, 2x TL-C12 Pro, 2x TL K12
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) Zotac 4070 Ti Trinity OC
Storage WD SN850 1TB, SN850X 2TB, Asus Hyper M.2, 2x SN770 1TB
Display(s) LG 50UP7100
Case Fractal Torrent Compact RGB
Audio Device(s) JBL 2.1 Deep Bass
Power Supply Seasonic Vertex GX-1000, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Logitech G213
VR HMD Oculus 3
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
Two single rank sticks with tight timings is fun to play with, but at the end of the day dual rank is where it’s at..
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
244 (0.08/day)
System Name Box
Processor Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard MSI Meg Ace Max 570S
Cooling Corsair h150i Elite Capellix 360 white
Memory 16 GB Teamforce DDR 4 4500 (2x8) CL18
Video Card(s) Aorus 1080ti
Storage NVMe: Samsung 980 Pro 2TB, WD_BLACK SN770 2TB, Crucial P5 Plus 2TB, spinners: 3TB, 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 1080p
Case Lian Li 011 Dynamic white - fans: 2x140mm, 7x120mm
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply EVGA G2 850
Mouse Razor DeathAdder 3.5G
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB
VR HMD Valve Index
Software Win10 pro
Benchmark Scores later
thanks guys

so the general consensuses seems: when needed just add 2 more identical single rank sticks and deal with timings then ? as it seems like only a percent or two difference in real world games and apps?
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2021
Messages
2,807 (2.87/day)
Location
Knoxville, TN, USA
System Name Work Computer | Unfinished Computer
Processor Core i7-6700 | Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard Dell Q170 | Gigabyte Aorus Elite Wi-Fi
Cooling A fan? | Truly Custom Loop
Memory 4x4GB Crucial 2133 C17 | 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB 3600 C26
Video Card(s) Dell Radeon R7 450 | RTX 2080 Ti FE
Storage Crucial BX500 2TB | TBD
Display(s) 3x LG QHD 32" GSM5B96 | TBD
Case Dell | Heavily Modified Phanteks P400
Power Supply Dell TFX Non-standard | EVGA BQ 650W
Mouse Monster No-Name $7 Gaming Mouse| TBD
Pretty much. It's mostly a capacity boost to do that. You are running your sticks fairly conservatively on the speed side, but your timings are fairly tight. It is possible you might have to back off of the timings slightly, so you might gain a bit of bandwidth in trade for latency by switching to dual rank, but mostly you will have double the capacity.
 

dgianstefani

TPU Proofreader
Staff member
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
4,691 (1.96/day)
Location
Swansea, Wales
System Name Silent
Processor Ryzen 7800X3D @ 5.15ghz BCLK OC, TG AM5 High Performance Heatspreader
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix X670E-I, chipset fans removed
Cooling Optimus Block, HWLABS Copper 240/40 + 240/30, D5/Res, 4x Noctua A12x25, 2x A4x10, Mayhems Ultra Pure
Memory 32 GB Dominator Platinum 6150 MT 26-36-36-48, 56.6ns AIDA, 2050 FCLK, 160 ns tRFC, active cooled
Video Card(s) RTX 3080 Ti Founders Edition, Conductonaut Extreme, 18 W/mK MinusPad Extreme, Corsair XG7 Waterblock
Storage Intel Optane DC P1600X 118 GB, Samsung 990 Pro 2 TB
Display(s) 32" 240 Hz 1440p Samsung G7, 31.5" 165 Hz 1440p LG NanoIPS Ultragear
Case Sliger SM570 CNC Aluminium 13-Litre, 3D printed feet, custom front panel pump/res combo
Audio Device(s) Audeze Maxwell Ultraviolet, Razer Nommo Pro
Power Supply SF750 Plat, full transparent custom cables, Sentinel Pro 1500 Online Double Conversion UPS w/Noctua
Mouse Razer Viper Pro V2 8 KHz Mercury White w/Tiger Ice Skates & Pulsar Supergrip tape
Keyboard Wooting 60HE+ module, TOFU Redux Burgundy w/brass weight, Prismcaps White, Jellykey, lubed/modded
Software Windows 10 IoT Enterprise LTSC 19044.4046
Benchmark Scores Legendary
thanks guys

so the general consensuses seems: when needed just add 2 more identical single rank sticks and deal with timings then ? as it seems like only a percent or two difference in real world games and apps?
It can be significantly more than that in certain games. CPU limited such as Tarkov (unity engine), war thunder, HFR 240fps + etc, you can see around 20% increased minimum lows with tuned RAM. For esports - memory latency is key, or you get stuttering.
 

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
7,954 (3.73/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Processor AMD R9 5900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Thermalright Aqua Elite 360 V3 1x TL-B12, 2x TL-C12 Pro, 2x TL K12
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) Zotac 4070 Ti Trinity OC
Storage WD SN850 1TB, SN850X 2TB, Asus Hyper M.2, 2x SN770 1TB
Display(s) LG 50UP7100
Case Fractal Torrent Compact RGB
Audio Device(s) JBL 2.1 Deep Bass
Power Supply Seasonic Vertex GX-1000, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Logitech G213
VR HMD Oculus 3
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
I agree.. it is quite noticeable, even just with daily stuff.. it is snappy af.
 

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
7,954 (3.73/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Processor AMD R9 5900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Thermalright Aqua Elite 360 V3 1x TL-B12, 2x TL-C12 Pro, 2x TL K12
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) Zotac 4070 Ti Trinity OC
Storage WD SN850 1TB, SN850X 2TB, Asus Hyper M.2, 2x SN770 1TB
Display(s) LG 50UP7100
Case Fractal Torrent Compact RGB
Audio Device(s) JBL 2.1 Deep Bass
Power Supply Seasonic Vertex GX-1000, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Logitech G213
VR HMD Oculus 3
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
D

Deleted member 185158

Guest
The 5 dollar an hour pay raise at my new job coming up will help facilitate the transition :D
Nah them prices have been coming down as it's becoming mainstream.

Even the kit I purchased dropped price. And I went with 2x8gb just for the expense reason!

Latency isn't terrible when tweaking. Since that's what we do, I suspect you'll be able to achieve sub 60ns latency.
 

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
7,954 (3.73/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Processor AMD R9 5900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Thermalright Aqua Elite 360 V3 1x TL-B12, 2x TL-C12 Pro, 2x TL K12
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) Zotac 4070 Ti Trinity OC
Storage WD SN850 1TB, SN850X 2TB, Asus Hyper M.2, 2x SN770 1TB
Display(s) LG 50UP7100
Case Fractal Torrent Compact RGB
Audio Device(s) JBL 2.1 Deep Bass
Power Supply Seasonic Vertex GX-1000, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Logitech G213
VR HMD Oculus 3
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
Well, my youngest boy is at the age where he could use his own PC.. my oldest will get mine, my youngest will get this one I am typing on now, and daddy will get a new toy :D

I will probably wait until the dead of winter, shortly after Christmas.. supposed to be long and cold this year..
 
D

Deleted member 185158

Guest
Well, my youngest boy is at the age where he could use his own PC.. my oldest will get mine, my youngest will get this one I am typing on now, and daddy will get a new toy :D

I will probably wait until the dead of winter, shortly after Christmas.. supposed to be long and cold this year..
Yeah, I'm not sure cause I don't plan on builds any more. The hardware seems to release new so fast, it feels pointless to try and imagine a rig I can use for 5 years or what ever.
So my new strategy is to buy into the new stuff on the lower more affordable end and just try to enjoy both AMD and Intel where possible.
In other words, I do not regret getting a 12400F and slapping it in an ROG B660-G motherboard which supports BCLK OC. Then I don't need to buy a bunch of E-cores.
When Ryzen 7000 comes out, 2 things will happen, both my kids have AM4 systems and will get cpu upgrades. I'll grab a 7000 and a 13th gen at the bottom so I have something to play with.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2020
Messages
5,375 (4.12/day)
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
System Name Cocogoat
Processor 13th Gen Intel Core i9-13900KS Special Edition
Motherboard ASUS ROG MAXIMUS Z790 APEX ENCORE
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S upgraded with 2x NF-F12 iPPC-3000 fans and Honeywell PTM7950 TIM
Memory 32 GB G.SKILL Trident Z5 RGB F5-6800J3445G16GX2-TZ5RK @ 7600 MT/s 36-44-44-52-96 1.425V
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX™ 4080 16GB GDDR6X White OC Edition
Storage 500 GB WD Black SN750 SE NVMe SSD + 4 TB WD Red Plus WD40EFPX HDD
Display(s) 55-inch LG G3 OLED
Case Pichau Mancer CV500 White Edition
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2 1.3kW 80+ Gold
Mouse Microsoft Classic Intellimouse
Keyboard Galax Stealth STL-03
Software Windows 11 IoT Enterprise LTSC 24H2
Benchmark Scores I pulled a Qiqi~
Depending on resolution, texture quality, mods, and amount of stuff running on the background, most games released since 2020 already need over 16 GB. But don't worry about the ranks or whatever, just make sure that the memory is the same model *and* revision, as sometimes some manufacturers sell the same SKU with different revisions that have completely different chips inside, and that is what causes compatibility problems. (Looking at you, Corsair.)

I run 4x16 GB with each being a dual-rank stick, and it works fine. The ranks only begin to become a problem if you're trying to push high frequencies at tight timings.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2020
Messages
1,755 (1.33/day)
There's a youtube video that tested 4 single rank sticks vs. 2 dual rank sticks on z390. The differences in perf. were negligible.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2020
Messages
805 (0.58/day)
System Name ASUS TUF F15
Processor Intel Core i5-10300H
Motherboard ASUS FX506LHB
Cooling Laptop built-in cooling lol
Memory 24GB @ 2933 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) Intel UHD & Nvidia GTX 1650 Mobile
Storage WD Black SN770 NVMe 1TB PCIe 4.0
Display(s) Laptop built-in 144 Hz FHD screen
Audio Device(s) LOGITECH 2.1-channel
Power Supply ASUS 180W PSU (from more powerful ASUS TUF DASH F15 lol)
Mouse Logitech G604
Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7 TKL
Software Windows 11 Enterprise 21H2
i built the rig in my specs a month or so ago. when i went with memory, hearing AMD can (or had) issues with some sticks i went with the specific ones the reviewer of the board used in his tests. these are the exact sticks:


View attachment 260008View attachment 260009

they run fine and i gather they are single rank. and 16 gb ram is fine so far. any games that need over 16 gigs yet?

so to go 2 ranks i need an identical set of these and use all 4 ram slots. and go from 16gb to 32gb ram of course. but put more load on the processors memory controller too. more load = crappier signal

tldr im still not up of single vs dual rank vs timing tradeoffs. any ELI5 stuff and what real gains there might be?

main purpose of the rig is pretty much games really. it also runs office and such light duty stuff.
if you have something opened in the background, then you WILL NEED over 16 gb ram. if you close everything and open any normal modern game, then yes, 16 gb is ok.
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
244 (0.08/day)
System Name Box
Processor Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard MSI Meg Ace Max 570S
Cooling Corsair h150i Elite Capellix 360 white
Memory 16 GB Teamforce DDR 4 4500 (2x8) CL18
Video Card(s) Aorus 1080ti
Storage NVMe: Samsung 980 Pro 2TB, WD_BLACK SN770 2TB, Crucial P5 Plus 2TB, spinners: 3TB, 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 1080p
Case Lian Li 011 Dynamic white - fans: 2x140mm, 7x120mm
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply EVGA G2 850
Mouse Razor DeathAdder 3.5G
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB
VR HMD Valve Index
Software Win10 pro
Benchmark Scores later
looks like ill be getting another matched set.. yall talked me into it lol

thanks for the info.
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2022
Messages
34 (0.05/day)
Hey guys not to butt in.. but... I have a strong silicon 12600k and 6700xt and even the micron shitter kingston beast 5200's have posted at 5800... and can be stable with a ton of voltage at 5600...Here is my delema....I ofcourse have the 1rx16 1g kingston kitm 5200 2x8gb, now I know alot of people weer saying 4 sticks is just simple a no go, but I see alot of people throwing voltage at them and hitting respectable #s like 4800, 5200, 5600....and all they paid is another 80 bux or less for the same identicle kingston/crucial.. etc etc kit, Now I would really like to try this, but not if its going to be trash, So has anyone had any luck with 4x8 single 1g sticks? and hitting xmp #s or close? Shit i'd even take 4800 to have the 32gb ram.....And if I want some nice stuff, bassically i'd have to trash the kingston shti i paid for at the time 175$...and buy 200-300 2x16 gb kit with respectable hynix or samsung chips......or If there is even a small hope... (Buildzoid got some shit sticks to pass some tests at 6000 with some 4800 sticks x 4, but was quick to say dont feel like you'll get the same results because he doesnt know if thats true) I could spend 80$ or less for the same exact ram 2x8 and have my 32gb with little to no loss...here is my ram incase you wanted to peek, now buildzoid said the key was the crappy 1rx16 (or 1g) single sticks

now here is the link to the PDF of my ram: Kingston 5200 1rx16

or for the TLDR on the PDF, a quick overview here in a screenie:
ram.png


Any help or.. a I've done it.. or tried it with X memory... it doesnt work......,would be very appreciated.. im just looking for a few more ppl who've had sucesss.....and ill pull the trigger on the 4x8 1g idea..

pc specs: 12600k @ 5.5 stable 1.35v + offset
kingston 5200 36-39-39-52 timings @ 5600mhz 1.35v
2 sata ocz sdds
xfx qick 6700 xt 2800+ core 2150 mem, small thermal vmin power bump via MPT
artic freezer II w\vrm fan 280 on the CPU, with stock fans pushing into front mounted rad and noctua fans pulling on it as well...... and a few more in the case....
MSI z690 pro-a ddr5 Motherboard, 6 ply pcb, with 2 power inputs.. not just 1...
the 6700xt takes 2 wires as well, seperate.
corsair rm750x gold rated PSU

looks like ill be getting another matched set.. yall talked me into it lol

thanks for the info.
What kind of ram you got, I'd very interested to see if this works for you... sorry I kinda posted the same thing as you.. didn't read just posted...

I would be totally fine with spending another 80$ in lieu of 100's more to get a new set of ram, and getting 4800, 5200 or even 6000 speed...

And as far as 16gb I play DCS world a KNOWN graphics hog, offline it doesnt even have a stutter, online i've seen the 16gb maxed out, but it still ruyns smooth.... now the weird thing is.. most game I see that max out 16gb, if given the chance, will also max our 32gb ram, DCS does.. Idk if this is intended or just bad programming,, but it seems to be a theme..

*edit* nm you're on ddr 4 you wont have a problem, again my bad.
 
Top