1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Socket 370 motherboards still for sale?

Discussion in 'Hot Deals' started by LittleLizard, May 24, 2009.

  1. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,779 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
  2. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,159 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,501
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Hey, people are still buying them!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,352 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,436
    Please use better thread titles in the future.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,198 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,004
    I dont get it. :confused:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,269 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,733
    Location:
    US
    Old ass. Socket 370 lol...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,471 (6.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,482
    Location:
    Houston
    via uses that socket for its cpu's
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,198 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,004
    Oh. :laugh:

    I only glanced at it. :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,655 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,685
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    It is rather amazing to see these for sale. The Tualatin was a beauty killed by Netburst.

    Good luck finding anything that plugs into it LOL!!!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  9. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,471 (6.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,482
    Location:
    Houston
    its called a Via C7
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. MadClown

    MadClown

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,365 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Alden, NY
    I have one of those, but it has an AGP slot, and its bigger, so I guess I dont have one of those then.
     
  11. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,269 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,733
    Location:
    US
    aah ok i was thinking the original socket lol. should of known that with it being a mATX silly me.. which were totally different LMAO.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    Hey I'd be down for that! I wish the biggest overclocking craze was still the Celeron 366@550 on Abit BM6 boards, with that old giant cooler that was the first of its class, hell I can't remember the name. Ahh those were the days.
     
  13. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,269 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,733
    Location:
    US

    I liked the 233 as it would clock too 448.. Had a abit BX for a while it was a good board..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    Yeah, oh man, 440BX, THAT was the magic chipset back then! Hah so many memories, check it out:

    http://www.targetpc.com/hardware/articles/combo_year/index2.shtml

    They have a pic of the 'massive' GlobalWin CPM32 that everyone used :laugh:

    Edit: Here they have the FDP32 and FEP32: http://unlimitedhardware.com/product_reviews_articles/ppga.htm

    One of those is the one I had, not sure which.
     
  15. damtachoa

    damtachoa New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    176 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    San Jose
    wow, I thought it's already in tech library.
     
  16. DreamSeller Guest

    Maximum Memory Supported 1GB wah
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    4,056 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,112
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    I almost went with a VIA chipset for that feature (I came to my sense later on). I had an P3-650E @ 866Mhz with a single PC133 512MB stick because Intel thought they could get away with limiting memory support to 512MB :mad: The 440BX could support up to 1GB! The 440GX, 2GB!!

    So what I did was go with AMD and a pair of AthlonMP's and skipped the entire 1st and 2nd P4 generations. Don't make a user feel limited, they will choose another solution :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  18. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,012 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    +1 :D
     
  19. Baam New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    93 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Trucker..so all over
  20. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    5,085 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    AZ
    what are you talking, I still have 3 p3 rigs at home.

    plus tualatin wasn't totally killed, parts of its architecture are still in use in current cpus.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,640 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    428
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    i just put my 2 p3 system's on the curb a couple week's ago :laugh:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,374 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    995
    Atom outclasses s370 in performance and power consumption. But until Atom came out, for a NAS or low-demand server a s370 was significantly superior to p4 for that type of work. Cheaper, lower power, silent. It's a knock on phenomenon. Lower power means cheaper to run means cheaper PSU plus passive cooling means quieter means benefits all round.

    However, now that Atom is launched and an all-in-one mainboard can be had for around $60 for the Atom 330, it really is time to kill off s370. You can bet NO MORE ARE BEING MANUFACTURED, but these are old stock sitting on shelves.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Hunt3r

    Hunt3r

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    355 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil - São Paulo
    I think no one is more with this technology in your home
    huashuasuhhuasuh
     
  24. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,846 (3.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,492
    Socket 370 for teh win!

    And word on the 440BX chipset. It was really awesome. My ABIT BE6 (it had 4 PATA ports :p) overclocked like a monster. I ran my P3 400 Mhz at 650 Mhz so I could play BF1942. :rockout:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Hunt3r

    Hunt3r

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    355 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil - São Paulo
    I did not know that the wheel could p3 already BF1942:cool:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)