• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

socket 939 i just cant win lmao

curt

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
584 (0.15/day)
Likes
13
Processor amd phenom II x4 955be @4.2gh 1.4v 24/7 max so far 4.6gh 1.5v in windows
Motherboard asus crosshair V well cooled
Cooling dd mc tdx block with 10000btu a/c rad with cold air piped from outside
Memory ocz low volt reapers 1600mh @ 1667mh 8.8.8.20 1.6v
Video Card(s) bfg gtx 280 1gig core has hit over 733mh
Storage 2 intel 40gb ssd.s in raid 0/ 1tb seagate 7200.12
Display(s) 2x 19inch non wide lcd.s
Case none sits on back plate from a case lol
Audio Device(s) sb xfi extream music [pci]
Power Supply #1corsair tx850 for mobo/vid #2 enermax true 460wat for hd.s/cd/fans
Software xp pro/7 64bit [biggest comp out of 3 i run]
Benchmark Scores the marks ar well ownage lol
#1
ok as some of u may read i had some major ishews with my opteron180

so i got a opteron 165 an it hits 2.8gh no prob on stock volts

so now my board is crappin out cus i need to hit 338mh fsb to get 3050mh on the cpu an the board cant take it i guess i try 338 with the cpu at 2.6 same crash prob lower the ram same thing i can barly break 300mh fsb so im fugged at the moment

im thinking a chip set volt mod [i changed this chip set heat sink an core of chip set dosent get over 43c]

an my chip set voltige in my bios dosint seam to do any thing the chip set doseint get any hotter witch it should

allso turning the ram speed down dident help

i have 2 nforce4 boards simaler

both ar asus a8n-sli
#1 a8n-sli-se

#2 ----sli-premium

i dont use the premium on my main system cus i hate useing on board crap any way mainly [lan/sound]

but im wondering if i should be and just disable every thing

i miss my epox nforce3 board it ran 366fsb no prob about 375fsb was max on the epox

so do i need to swap my boards around [or do i need a hard wire chip set volt mod]

i allready found a cpu volt mod wich i now dont need lmao
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
2,807 (0.72/day)
Likes
230
Location
US
Processor Intel Q9400
Motherboard asus p5q-pro
Cooling Ultra120
Memory 6GB ddr2
Video Card(s) NVS 290
Storage 3TB + 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung F2380
Case Silverstone Fortress FT02B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply 750W PC P&C
Software win 7 ultimate 64bit
#2
"ishews"? :)
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,908 (0.65/day)
Likes
656
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#3
yea welcome to the hell that is 939 opteron these damn chips are so picky and they dont like any mobos i can get mine to 2.8 no problem temp wise or volt wise something with the mobo is causing it to reboot every 5 min and i cant figure out what it is
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.25/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
There are very few nForce 4 boards that actually break 300Mhz...which considering nForce 3 did it quite often is very very strange.
 

curt

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
584 (0.15/day)
Likes
13
Processor amd phenom II x4 955be @4.2gh 1.4v 24/7 max so far 4.6gh 1.5v in windows
Motherboard asus crosshair V well cooled
Cooling dd mc tdx block with 10000btu a/c rad with cold air piped from outside
Memory ocz low volt reapers 1600mh @ 1667mh 8.8.8.20 1.6v
Video Card(s) bfg gtx 280 1gig core has hit over 733mh
Storage 2 intel 40gb ssd.s in raid 0/ 1tb seagate 7200.12
Display(s) 2x 19inch non wide lcd.s
Case none sits on back plate from a case lol
Audio Device(s) sb xfi extream music [pci]
Power Supply #1corsair tx850 for mobo/vid #2 enermax true 460wat for hd.s/cd/fans
Software xp pro/7 64bit [biggest comp out of 3 i run]
Benchmark Scores the marks ar well ownage lol
#5
booo yaaaa

i got it after alot of serching an b.s the chip set mod is here

they dident say it works for the a8n sli but it does my chip set now runs 4c hotter so it did something [the mod is actuly for a a8n-e] an it works [i only tryed it cus the capasitors an chips ar allmost identical

as u can see in the pic now all i had to change up is the conection board that u gota make is over slightly look for [pr67 (marks 2 pins/solder dobs)]

from the bottem of the board its the left pin on [pr67]

u can allso see the pr66 an pr64 unused but ther in the pic an on ower boards just moved slightly as i sead so left pin on [pr67] to the pin shown in pic on the vr chip

if u look close in the pic u can see the pr64/66 an 67 lables near the spots
 

Attachments

curt

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
584 (0.15/day)
Likes
13
Processor amd phenom II x4 955be @4.2gh 1.4v 24/7 max so far 4.6gh 1.5v in windows
Motherboard asus crosshair V well cooled
Cooling dd mc tdx block with 10000btu a/c rad with cold air piped from outside
Memory ocz low volt reapers 1600mh @ 1667mh 8.8.8.20 1.6v
Video Card(s) bfg gtx 280 1gig core has hit over 733mh
Storage 2 intel 40gb ssd.s in raid 0/ 1tb seagate 7200.12
Display(s) 2x 19inch non wide lcd.s
Case none sits on back plate from a case lol
Audio Device(s) sb xfi extream music [pci]
Power Supply #1corsair tx850 for mobo/vid #2 enermax true 460wat for hd.s/cd/fans
Software xp pro/7 64bit [biggest comp out of 3 i run]
Benchmark Scores the marks ar well ownage lol
#6
oh yeah

first fsb test passed 333mh fsb so far at 1.7v on the chip set i think i duno how to cheak it lol dident get that far


k allso my ram has to be on the lowest setting to run 333 im not shure y yeat so im still messing with it cus at the lowest ram setting 200mh im getting like 151mh evin with the 333fsb an for some reason 266mh crashes me in the boot up

as i sead my target speed is 338mh stable ill tweak the ram later

i think evin 335 would do
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
2,717 (0.67/day)
Likes
445
Location
Blighty
System Name Skylake / Sandybridge
Processor i7 6700k@4.8 / i5 2500k@4.6
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger / Asrock z68 Extreme4 g3
Cooling EK Supremacy MX, CoolGate 240,EK D5pwm Revo Res/ EK Supreme, swiftech 240 rad, D5 non vario
Memory 16gb G.Skill Trident Z 16gb cl16 / 16gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400@2133cl9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 1070 / Powercolor R9 390 PCS+
Storage Samsung SM961 256gb,BX100 250gb ,kc400 512gb/ 120gb Corsair Force GT, HyperX Savage 240gb,
Display(s) Panasonic 50dx700 tv + Dell u2515 / Dell u2312
Case TTake Suppressor F51/F31
Power Supply EVGA 1000 P2 / EVGA 650 G2
Mouse G900 / G700s
Keyboard Roccat Suora FX Brown / Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Win 10 / Win 10
#7
im sure i've seen that voltmod used on the sli before (i used to have an a8n-e, so remember reading about the mods) so no worries there, any improvement?
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
2,276 (0.57/day)
Likes
230
Location
Cairns QLD, Aussie
System Name GaMEr / HTPC
Processor FX8320 4.5ghz so far NB- 2815mhz / X2 255 @ 3.2ghz (Temp till BD)
Motherboard 990FX-UD5 / GA-MA785GPMT-US2H
Cooling XSPC - 240rad 480rad 5 x 120mm out, 6 x 80mm in / H220-edge 1/2" & 2 x 120mm Magma
Memory 4gb PI 6,8,6,18 1T 1706mhz / 4gb Crucial D9's 1400 @ 6,6,6,18,1T
Video Card(s) 3gb HD7950 / Onboard
Storage 2 x 120gb Sandisk ultra plus 2tb WD / 60gb vertex 2 + 2 x 2tb WD Greens
Display(s) 3x24in Dell Ultra (portrait) / NEC 32" FullHD LCD
Case LL PC71A Full tower / Antec fusion black with Imon remote Modded for WC
Audio Device(s) OB / Auzentech cinema 7.1
Power Supply TT 700w TR2 / TT 600w Litepower modded with Noctua S12 fan.
Software 7 Ult / 7 premium x64
#8
those crashes you are getting with those memory dividers bring back memories of my last 939 system. I think my rig didn't like certain combinations of memory dividers... you may have the same prob. It may not be any component crapping out just a strange mem divider.. Keep trying but. My opty 165 took about 3 months to set up properly.
 

curt

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
584 (0.15/day)
Likes
13
Processor amd phenom II x4 955be @4.2gh 1.4v 24/7 max so far 4.6gh 1.5v in windows
Motherboard asus crosshair V well cooled
Cooling dd mc tdx block with 10000btu a/c rad with cold air piped from outside
Memory ocz low volt reapers 1600mh @ 1667mh 8.8.8.20 1.6v
Video Card(s) bfg gtx 280 1gig core has hit over 733mh
Storage 2 intel 40gb ssd.s in raid 0/ 1tb seagate 7200.12
Display(s) 2x 19inch non wide lcd.s
Case none sits on back plate from a case lol
Audio Device(s) sb xfi extream music [pci]
Power Supply #1corsair tx850 for mobo/vid #2 enermax true 460wat for hd.s/cd/fans
Software xp pro/7 64bit [biggest comp out of 3 i run]
Benchmark Scores the marks ar well ownage lol
#9
lol

not yeat still having ram probs but it does run 333fsb now so its a good start

allso i tryed a volt mod wich was suposed to be for the chip set an it wasent it was a seconed mod for vcore wich some how locked the bios at 1.55v i was like ouch an tore it off an fucked sumthin in the proses

so i set my volts for the cpu in my bios for 1.350 an cheak an it seas 1.180 lol humm odd set to 1.500 an i got 1.320v lol im like shi* as/ f*uck

so i just installed the volt mod to get me to 1.850v an i now get what the bios says agean lmao thank fully i doubt this 165 would need over 1.55v 1.8v dident help my 180

i allso thout about it being just stuped ram multy set up but then the chip set boast wouldent have helped
 
Last edited:

curt

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
584 (0.15/day)
Likes
13
Processor amd phenom II x4 955be @4.2gh 1.4v 24/7 max so far 4.6gh 1.5v in windows
Motherboard asus crosshair V well cooled
Cooling dd mc tdx block with 10000btu a/c rad with cold air piped from outside
Memory ocz low volt reapers 1600mh @ 1667mh 8.8.8.20 1.6v
Video Card(s) bfg gtx 280 1gig core has hit over 733mh
Storage 2 intel 40gb ssd.s in raid 0/ 1tb seagate 7200.12
Display(s) 2x 19inch non wide lcd.s
Case none sits on back plate from a case lol
Audio Device(s) sb xfi extream music [pci]
Power Supply #1corsair tx850 for mobo/vid #2 enermax true 460wat for hd.s/cd/fans
Software xp pro/7 64bit [biggest comp out of 3 i run]
Benchmark Scores the marks ar well ownage lol
#10
here it is runnin 338mh

yep i got it cpu at 1.400v coudent get it down to 1.350v

338mh an 3xht link

note the vcore difernce on the 2 cores an 2927 is max for that opty 180 never evin got to windows at 3gh

:shadedshu my ram speed is 169mh i wana cry lol [set at 200mh] 200 266 333 400

ima try 266mh agean lol or maby can get 233 threw software like ntune
 

Attachments

curt

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
584 (0.15/day)
Likes
13
Processor amd phenom II x4 955be @4.2gh 1.4v 24/7 max so far 4.6gh 1.5v in windows
Motherboard asus crosshair V well cooled
Cooling dd mc tdx block with 10000btu a/c rad with cold air piped from outside
Memory ocz low volt reapers 1600mh @ 1667mh 8.8.8.20 1.6v
Video Card(s) bfg gtx 280 1gig core has hit over 733mh
Storage 2 intel 40gb ssd.s in raid 0/ 1tb seagate 7200.12
Display(s) 2x 19inch non wide lcd.s
Case none sits on back plate from a case lol
Audio Device(s) sb xfi extream music [pci]
Power Supply #1corsair tx850 for mobo/vid #2 enermax true 460wat for hd.s/cd/fans
Software xp pro/7 64bit [biggest comp out of 3 i run]
Benchmark Scores the marks ar well ownage lol
#11
ok i got it down the the ram mutiplyer it has to be dam fsb is doing 350 stable with the ram at 175mh woht lol

wish the cpu had 10x stead 9 probly be all good

bios goes 200 266 333 400 433 466 500 533 550 600

im guna try an find one with a slower start if i can

like 166 200 210 225 233 250 266

i wish i knew what 266 is trying to do can my ram can do like 290mh stable in my last board [ocz platnum el
 

curt

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
584 (0.15/day)
Likes
13
Processor amd phenom II x4 955be @4.2gh 1.4v 24/7 max so far 4.6gh 1.5v in windows
Motherboard asus crosshair V well cooled
Cooling dd mc tdx block with 10000btu a/c rad with cold air piped from outside
Memory ocz low volt reapers 1600mh @ 1667mh 8.8.8.20 1.6v
Video Card(s) bfg gtx 280 1gig core has hit over 733mh
Storage 2 intel 40gb ssd.s in raid 0/ 1tb seagate 7200.12
Display(s) 2x 19inch non wide lcd.s
Case none sits on back plate from a case lol
Audio Device(s) sb xfi extream music [pci]
Power Supply #1corsair tx850 for mobo/vid #2 enermax true 460wat for hd.s/cd/fans
Software xp pro/7 64bit [biggest comp out of 3 i run]
Benchmark Scores the marks ar well ownage lol
#12
all hale the opty 165

i cant beleave this opteron 165 is doing the speeds it is an only the board is unstable

but i mean askin 356mh outa a lil nf4 chip set is a lil pushy lol

and the cpu is taken it like a champ as u can see i evin got a bench at 3212mh

ram speed was still a hurtin 176mh
 

Attachments