• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Soft clicking HDD issue

Doorways

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2014
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi, I have an issue with my internal HDD. It's a Hitachi Travelstar 5K750 and is prone to a soft clicking noise. This click tends to happen when the laptop is idle but also when it's simply been on a long time. The clicks can range from intermittent (every 10-15 secs.) to quite rampant (every 2 secs.)

Putting the laptop under heavy use can silence the clicking but it is still there and quite torturous when I'm using Word or Photoshop as concentration is effected by this irritating sound.

I've been reading various things around forums about messing around with Advanced Power Management but my laptop doesn't have any APM feature.

Does anybody have any solution to this?. Laptop cost $1200 and it seems quite a shoddy piece of hardware for this price.

Thanks in advance!
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#2

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#3
What @95Viper said. First thing is first, check SMART.
 

Doorways

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2014
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#4
What @95Viper said. First thing is first, check SMART.
Thanks for the responses. I should have mentioned I have done full diagnostics checks and used SMART thru HD Tune, but nothing has shown up. The HDD is working perfectly except for the soft clicking noise. With regard to using HDPARM, I have read this only gives temporary relief (http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Problem_with_hard_drive_clicking), is this true? I have also read it can pose other dangers (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hdparm) and that the reduction of noise might come at the expense of weaker performance.

My laptop is still under warranty and when all else fails I will return it but my fear there too is that they will says its acting like normal which I have also read across the internet. However, this contradicts Hitachi Support who say there should be no noise at all. I want to be prepared.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,033 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,637
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#5
Crystal Disk will read smart data when HDTune won't. If the data is good then run it. If not then replace it. You can't fix a bad drive
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#6
Run an extended SMART diagnostic test on it. Even drives that work perfectly fine will complain about bad LBAs if they exist. So I recommend doing that. Also can you post your SMART for the drive? Even if it doesn't say it is failing, there could be indicators that it may fail without failing SMART. Such as time to spin up, raw read error rates, etc.
 

Doorways

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2014
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#7
Run an extended SMART diagnostic test on it. Even drives that work perfectly fine will complain about bad LBAs if they exist. So I recommend doing that. Also can you post your SMART for the drive? Even if it doesn't say it is failing, there could be indicators that it may fail without failing SMART. Such as time to spin up, raw read error rates, etc.
Thanks Aquinus. Can you point me in the direction of a download for an extended SMART diagnostics? I'm a bit concerned about getting the correct download. Thanks.
 

Doorways

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2014
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#8
Thanks Aquinus. Can you point me in the direction of a download for an extended SMART diagnostics? I'm a bit concerned about getting the correct download. Thanks.
It would be cool if somebody could help me out on this. Cheers :)
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#9
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#11
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954 (0.61/day)
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#12
No tried that before, doesn't work for me. When it downloads, a box opens with buttons that do nothing when you click them. See image.
Most likely the application isn't getting the rights to read what drives are on the computer.

Right click the exe and run as administrator.
 

Doorways

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2014
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#13
Most likely the application isn't getting the rights to read what drives are on the computer.

Right click the exe and run as administrator.
Hi, it got the rights and the image I showed was all it came up with. I've also done a SMART check now without any errors. Having checked the BIOS there is no APM option to change any of those settings.

Is this issue originally stated something anybody here is at all familiar with? I keep coming up with info that changing the APM settings solves the problem but if there is no APM option is there an answer? Thank you.
 

Doorways

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2014
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#14
Just returning to this and this problem, as common as it appears is obviously one of the most trickiest issues for any techies out there. The entire internet has no answers to this subject, as of yet.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,804
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#15

Doorways

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2014
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#16
its not a problem with the hdd afaik, Windows does optimize itself when idle, but you could have something on there that is not letting that hdd rest.


http://www.hgst.com/support/downloads/legacy-downloads
Thanks for the response eidairaman1. Have you any idea what that something could be? I've contacted Hitachi and they don't know what it is either and just said to bring it back but I've been told the machine is operating as normal. The issue is proving to be quite a pain. My only solution has been to run HD Tune constantly which fortunately silences it.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,804
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#17
You can try FeatureTool, or DFT, which is more comprehensive at scanning for issues, but that small click could be Windows using its idle cycle to optimize the drive-indexing is the biggest ive noticed in past.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,314 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,723
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#18
maybe it's just windows defraging and sorting ou data to be read from HDD\ram.
 

Doorways

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2014
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#19
@eidairaman1, I tried installing the Feature Tool but it won't run on my laptop for some reason. It appears from the description though that it would grant access to the HDD settings. I've read that by changing the power setting on the HDD, that could solve the issue. I'll have to look into DFT, have you any further information on this?

Thanks for your input AsRock but the problem is a lot more complicated unfortunately.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2005
Messages
431 (0.09/day)
Likes
62
#20
Thanks for the responses. I should have mentioned I have done full diagnostics checks and used SMART thru HD Tune, but nothing has shown up. The HDD is working perfectly except for the soft clicking noise. With regard to using HDPARM, I have read this only gives temporary relief (http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Problem_with_hard_drive_clicking), is this true? I have also read it can pose other dangers (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hdparm) and that the reduction of noise might come at the expense of weaker performance.

My laptop is still under warranty and when all else fails I will return it but my fear there too is that they will says its acting like normal which I have also read across the internet. However, this contradicts Hitachi Support who say there should be no noise at all. I want to be prepared.
Disabling head parks with HDPARM is what i've been doing for many years now. There is no performance impact. It's safe as long as you don't drop your laptop when it's running. Create a shortcut and put it in your "Startup" folder and it will automatically run when you turn on your laptop. Having your laptop come out of sleep may require you to manually select the shortcut to disable head parking.

Try it out and see if you like it. It's not difficult to configure.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319 (0.64/day)
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
#21
I can get this clicking sound if I install latest leaked Intel Rapid storage AHCI driver v 13.0.0.1098whql, beta does it too.. I have 1 Samsung F3 1tb and 500Gb Hitachi. I thing spinpoint is doing it, cant really tell..

Once it starts clicking it does it in bios as well, to fix it i have to swap sata ports and uninstall this RST 13 and go back to 12.9whql.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
1,469 (0.45/day)
Likes
381
Location
Toronto
Processor i7-2670QM / Q9550 3.6ghz
Motherboard laptop / Asus P5Q-E
Cooling laptop / Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 2x4gb ddr3sd / 2x2gb ddr2
Video Card(s) 570m / MSI 660 Gaming OC
Storage ST9750420AS / ST1000DM003
Display(s) BenQ FP241VW / BenQ GW2265HM
Case MSI gx780 / Corsair 500r
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply laptop / Corsair 750tx
Mouse Steelseries Kinzu V2 / Logitech M120
Keyboard Logitech Deluxe 250 / Logitech K120
Software Windows 7
#22
can you show us the SMART values in their entirety? can you make an acceptable sounding audio recording?

i know & use some seagates from 2008 that seem to head park randomly with the 'high fly writes' value going up over time

mine actually have a couple sounds, one is like a mouse click that is more often than the full head park
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,804
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#23
@eidairaman1, I tried installing the Feature Tool but it won't run on my laptop for some reason. It appears from the description though that it would grant access to the HDD settings. I've read that by changing the power setting on the HDD, that could solve the issue. I'll have to look into DFT, have you any further information on this?

Thanks for your input AsRock but the problem is a lot more complicated unfortunately.
its easiest to use feature tool as a boot CD, in DOS Mode Pretty Much, DFT is designed for Hitachi/IBM drives, so it should be able to sort out any hardware issues, but honestly i think Your HDD is fine just that Windows is Indexing when youre not doing anything with it, no HDD is free of noise
 

Doorways

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2014
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#24
its easiest to use feature tool as a boot CD, in DOS Mode Pretty Much, DFT is designed for Hitachi/IBM drives, so it should be able to sort out any hardware issues, but honestly i think Your HDD is fine just that Windows is Indexing when youre not doing anything with it, no HDD is free of noise
Yeh I never believed there was anything actually wrong with the HDD but just that this noise was a bit OTT and reflected some bad setting. I tried booting the Feature Tool from a DVD but it wouldn't open up on restart and pressing the correct F keys. The laptop just comes on as usual after several attempts.
 

Doorways

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2014
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#25
Disabling head parks with HDPARM is what i've been doing for many years now. There is no performance impact. It's safe as long as you don't drop your laptop when it's running. Create a shortcut and put it in your "Startup" folder and it will automatically run when you turn on your laptop. Having your laptop come out of sleep may require you to manually select the shortcut to disable head parking.

Try it out and see if you like it. It's not difficult to configure.
Thanks MikeMurphy. I will try out the HDPARM as a last resort and hopefully I'll be onto a "winning streak" but does anybody know if using such programs to alter hardware performance can interfere with my warranty?