• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

software to change FSB on-the-fly (from within WinXP)

Joined
Jun 11, 2007
Messages
192 (0.05/day)
Likes
81
Processor i7-3770K @ 45x100
Motherboard P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1600/F3-1600C9D-16GXM
Video Card(s) Onboard HD4000
Storage Vertex 4 128 GB + other HDDs
Case P183
Power Supply Seasonic SS-560KM
#1
I've seen people who posted screenshots of some software that allows you to change your FSB from within WinXP on-the-fly, but now that I actually want to try it, I can't find the name of the thing! Can someone post a link or give me the name of it? I have a P5B-Deluxe if that matters.

Thanks!
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,528 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,161
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#3
clockgen? systool?
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,952 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,062
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#4
You can change FSB on the fly in windows, but be careful as you may over-do it and go beyond what your current voltage settings are supporting. I still recommend if you plan on overclocking/adjusting your FSB, to do it in BIOS. Unless you want to do a manual version of EIST/C1E (i.e. slow the FSB down...eist/c1e usually adjust bios and dividers to slow the CPU down) to save power and keep idle temps down for 2D/Internet/Word Processor mode.

I did it with my old system, and still found I liked changing settings in BIOS better. On my old board I could even change voltages in windows (Abit AS8 w/Uguru chip), if I am remembering correctly, was kind of cool..but the program was buggy at best. Systool and Clockgen both work well, though I preferred Systool for what I was using it for.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#5
If you have older hardware you could get away with using CPUCool.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#6
you have a p5b-dlx,as do i.why cant you do it in the bios? otherwise use systool,it has an option for the right clockgen ic for our board.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2007
Messages
192 (0.05/day)
Likes
81
Processor i7-3770K @ 45x100
Motherboard P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1600/F3-1600C9D-16GXM
Video Card(s) Onboard HD4000
Storage Vertex 4 128 GB + other HDDs
Case P183
Power Supply Seasonic SS-560KM
#7
Thanks for the suggestions, all. SetFSBu_P5Bdeluxe is what I wanted and it has commandline options as well.

@tigger69: I usually do but I want a way to go between several settings on-the-fly.