• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Solaris17 Warhead review unbias

Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.31/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
#51
This might be old news to everyone, but I hate waiting through/clicking through the start up videos. I found this to disable these vids:

To launch the game, the DVD is not required. But before you will see the menu, Warhead shows seven videos and that takes some time. We have a tip for you: Just rename, delete or relocate the files below to get directly to the menu when launching the new Crysis:

• CryTek.sfd
• Trailer_Crytek.sfd
• Trailer_CrytekC.sfd
• Trailer_EA.sfd
• Trailer_Intel.sfd
• Trailer_Nvidia.sfd
• Trailer_PEGI.sfd
• Trailer_Rating_Full.sfd

All those files are located in: \Crysis WARHEAD\Game\Localized\Video.

It may not work with DL versions, but can anyone confirm if this will work with other games? Thanks for the help, and great review Solaris! I didn't notice one spelling error :toast: Just kidding :p
 

Trizmatic

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#52
Nice job Solaris. The lighting and fog effects in the Enthusiast mode look a lot more realistic than in gamer mode. Performance mode is freaky...there is a serious lack of vegitation. Looks like they just take it out entirely and leave behind the terrain paint.
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
3,921 (1.10/day)
Likes
892
Location
West Chester, OH
#53
This might be old news to everyone, but I hate waiting through/clicking through the start up videos. I found this to disable these vids:

To launch the game, the DVD is not required. But before you will see the menu, Warhead shows seven videos and that takes some time. We have a tip for you: Just rename, delete or relocate the files below to get directly to the menu when launching the new Crysis:

• CryTek.sfd
• Trailer_Crytek.sfd
• Trailer_CrytekC.sfd
• Trailer_EA.sfd
• Trailer_Intel.sfd
• Trailer_Nvidia.sfd
• Trailer_PEGI.sfd
• Trailer_Rating_Full.sfd

All those files are located in: \Crysis WARHEAD\Game\Localized\Video.

It may not work with DL versions, but can anyone confirm if this will work with other games? Thanks for the help, and great review Solaris! I didn't notice one spelling error :toast: Just kidding :p
THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!! I hated seeing those stupid intro clips every time. :respect:
Also, Solaris, thank you again! Awesome thread. :rockout:
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.60/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#54
Deleting those files did work with my Steam copy. I just finished the game, it was brilliant!
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.31/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
#55
Glad I could help, it was kinda a stumble from Fud's review.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,376 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,288
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#56
kk here is a taskmanager report after getting into a firefight etc btw while playing vista task bar was gone im not a dork i dont use both at the same time :p

 
W

wolf2009

Guest
#57
kk here is a taskmanager report after getting into a firefight etc btw while playing vista task bar was gone im not a dork i dont use both at the same time :p

total 200% , optimized for duals .

be glad you have a quad, so that with 200% gone, you still have 200% of the cpu to run vista
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,376 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,288
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#58
ya you guys with duals in might run into lower frames due to OS overhead Also i have 4GB of ram look at my ram usage id say while playing including used vid ram i had about 600mb-1GB left
 
Last edited:

ghost101

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
1,328 (0.31/day)
Likes
164
Location
London
#59
I've been playing it on Enthusiast settings and while in Crysis Very High wasnt smooth enough to be playable, in warhead I'd say it is with my card at 1680*1050. However, it is clear that they have reduced the graphical quality. The most noticeable setting is the draw distance. It is absolutely awful. You can see rocks on the road appearing out of nowhere 20m in front of you. The hills and cliffs look nowhere near as beautiful. I hope this is tweakable, because I know people with powerful systems (not me) will complain about this reduction in quality at the top end.

This isnt "optimisation", its simply a reduction in graphical quality.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,376 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,288
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#60
I've been playing it on Enthusiast settings and while in Crysis Very High wasnt smooth enough to be playable, in warhead I'd say it is with my card at 1680*1050. However, it is clear that they have reduced the graphical quality. The most noticeable setting is the draw distance. It is absolutely awful. You can see rocks on the road appearing out of nowhere 20m in front of you. The hills and cliffs look nowhere near as beautiful. I hope this is tweakable, because I know people with powerful systems (not me) will complain about this reduction in quality at the top end.

This isnt "optimisation", its simply a reduction in graphical quality.


go to

X:\Electronic arts\crysis warhead\games\config\CVarGroups\sys_spec_objectdetail.cfg change these lines in the first group

Code:
e_view_dist_ratio_detail=50
e_view_dist_ratio_vegetation=65
e_view_dist_ratio=60
e_max_view_dst_spec_lerp=1
to around 100 and try running in enthusiest mode. but change "e_max_view_dst_spec_lerp=1" to bout 3 or 4
 

ghost101

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
1,328 (0.31/day)
Likes
164
Location
London
#61
go to

X:\Electronic arts\crysis warhead\games\config\CVarGroups\sys_spec_objectdetail.cfg change these lines in the first group

Code:
e_view_dist_ratio_detail=50
e_view_dist_ratio_vegetation=65
e_view_dist_ratio=60
e_max_view_dst_spec_lerp=1
to around 100 and try running in enthusiest mode. but change "e_max_view_dst_spec_lerp=1" to bout 3 or 4
Thanks. Its nice to know draw distance can be corrected. I'll try 2 or 3 and see which will be best for my system. Obviously dont want to bring the game to a crawl.

edit: rendering is a lot better now
 
Last edited:

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,376 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,288
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#62
Thanks. Its nice to know draw distance can be corrected. I'll try 2 or 3 and see which will be best for my system. Obviously dont want to bring the game to a crawl.
tell me how it goes i havent personally tested these settings but iv modded CFG's before so it shouldnt have a prob the one were i reccomended at like 3-4 those types of settings that start at a low number usually max at 5 anything over isnt recognized and it wont load the line or it defaults to lowest settings the others would probably top at 100
 

ghost101

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
1,328 (0.31/day)
Likes
164
Location
London
#63
tell me how it goes i havent personally tested these settings but iv modded CFG's before so it shouldnt have a prob the one were i reccomended at like 3-4 those types of settings that start at a low number usually max at 5 anything over isnt recognized and it wont load the line or it defaults to lowest settings the others would probably top at 100
Nope, they work very well and as expected theres a performance hit. How do these settings compare to the original crysis? I'd check but I don't have it installed at the moment.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,376 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,288
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#64
looks a tad bit more rough than it should (jpeg) but the PNG images were huge this is 16AAQ sli or xfire rigs oc'd could probably cope better



 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,376 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,288
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#66
Nope, they work very well and as expected theres a performance hit. How do these settings compare to the original crysis? I'd check but I don't have it installed at the moment.
um their a little diff ill leave the modding to jrob ill PM him later he knows the commands better im sure i could do it but their are alot to mod and i would need to go through them one at a time were he has a better idea of were to start and what needs to be done...i just tried them after you did and like you said they did improve it but im sure jrob can push the veiw distance further.

What console command gives the info on the top right?
same as crysis um

Code:
r_displayinfo=1
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,376 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,288
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#67
i contacted jrob we'll see what happens.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,350 (1.70/day)
Likes
1,108
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#68
This might be old news to everyone, but I hate waiting through/clicking through the start up videos. I found this to disable these vids:

To launch the game, the DVD is not required. But before you will see the menu, Warhead shows seven videos and that takes some time. We have a tip for you: Just rename, delete or relocate the files below to get directly to the menu when launching the new Crysis:

• CryTek.sfd
• Trailer_Crytek.sfd
• Trailer_CrytekC.sfd
• Trailer_EA.sfd
• Trailer_Intel.sfd
• Trailer_Nvidia.sfd
• Trailer_PEGI.sfd
• Trailer_Rating_Full.sfd

All those files are located in: \Crysis WARHEAD\Game\Localized\Video.

It may not work with DL versions, but can anyone confirm if this will work with other games? Thanks for the help, and great review Solaris! I didn't notice one spelling error :toast: Just kidding :p
You can apply that same method to most games.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,160 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,651
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#69
it runs smooth on enthusiast for me (about 40-45 fps) all the way through... untill i get to the beach scene... then its like 20 fps no matter if the setting is enthusiast, gamer, or mainstream... :( anyone else had this?
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,376 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,288
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#70
it runs smooth on enthusiast for me (about 40-45 fps) all the way through... untill i get to the beach scene... then its like 20 fps no matter if the setting is enthusiast, gamer, or mainstream... :( anyone else had this?
cant say i have can i have a screenshot of the place in question?
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
3,302 (0.91/day)
Likes
713
Location
BC.CAN
#72
cant say i have can i have a screenshot of the place in question?
I'm pretty sure he talking about the scene near the beginning where you have raid the beach bar to get the explosives. Once you get the rocket launcher there's a checkpoint and a well timed quote "here's a present from uncle sam"


@ phanbuey I noticed massive drops in performance there too. Specifically in 2 places here. One the beach with the view distance, water, and distance explosions my FPS too a hit, it wasnt too bad but still noticable. Once I got the explosives from the bar my performance hit the floor. I believe this was from the number of enemies being rendered and approaching your character. Kill them and get your FPS back. :wtf:
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
6,560 (1.72/day)
Likes
835
System Name Vintage
Processor i7 - 3770K @ Stock
Cooling Scythe Zipang II
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage M4 124GB SSD// WD Black 640GB// WD Black 1TB//Samsung F3 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung SM223BW 21.6"
Case Generic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software Windows 7
#73
Very nice review Solaris - very nice indeed.

Thanks

The game does look interesting and later on in the year i might do a bit of upgrading so i can actually play it.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.95/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
#74
U should be able to run it now wl accodring to ya specs not supa but be able to run.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
6,560 (1.72/day)
Likes
835
System Name Vintage
Processor i7 - 3770K @ Stock
Cooling Scythe Zipang II
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage M4 124GB SSD// WD Black 640GB// WD Black 1TB//Samsung F3 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung SM223BW 21.6"
Case Generic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software Windows 7
#75
U should be able to run it now wl accodring to ya specs not supa but be able to run.
Yea but it's the only reason i have given myself so i don't go out and buy it where i should be spending my free time learning about forensics!:D