• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

[SOLVED](55 error) Asrock z77 extreme 4

syedimty

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#1
Hi all,
I recently got an asrock extreme 4 z77 mobo , intel 3570k and gskill 4gb x 2 1600MHZ(not dual channel, separate kit but same model, brought them together)

I have update the mobo bios through internet.

There are four ram slots, and they are a1,a2,b1,b2.
In manual its said that a1,b1 - dual channel and a2 - b2 dual channel.

But the problem is when add the ram to these following slots i am getting 55 error(that is memory not install). But the ram works only when i insert them in a1 and a2 slot.

When try them in below configuration, i am getting 55 error
1. a1 , b1
2 b1, b2
3 a2,b2
4, b2,a1
5, a1,a2
6, a1,b2

I just want to know , whether my mobo is faulty. or everything is just fine.
 
Last edited:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#3
Code 55 is "memory not installed". If you know your memory is good, it is most likely the motherboard at fault.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#6
Last edited:

syedimty

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#7
Those specific sticks are not supported in this list:

http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Z77 Extreme4/?cat=Memory

Also from that ASRock:

It is recommended to install a memory module in DDR3_A2 or DDR3_B2 slot first!

On the other hand G-skill says they are:

http://www.gskill.com/products.php?index=355
i think ram slots are faulty.

I just took one ram, and tried them in every slots.
a1 slot working
a2 slot working
b1 not working
b2 not working.

Seems like slot b1 and b2 are faulty.
 

syedimty

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#8
Seems like mobo is problem
I have tried with single ram, in all slots
only slots a1, and a2 working
slots b2,b1 not working
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
1,645 (0.46/day)
Likes
217
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Current
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia
Memory 2x4G G-skill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage 128 Crucial M4, 1 TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) Shimian Achieva 27"
Case Corsair 400R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsais HX-620
Software Windows 7
#9
I have the G-Skill Snipers (believe they might be identical with shorter heat spreaders) and this same board. So yours should work just fine.

Mine had the same error and it was the boards fault, I had a single bent CPU socket pin. Symptoms were odd, single stick would work in 3 of the memory channels, two sticks would produce the error every time.

So in all, the memory should work fine. I experienced this issue, but it was likely a one off problem.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#10
Seems like mobo is problem
I have tried with single ram, in all slots
only slots a1, and a2 working
slots b2,b1 not working
Good find. Since this motherboard is not quite the ATX standard I would suggest before RMA to try to take the mobo down and re-mount it in the case taking particular care of the correct use of the standoffs. The mobo might be bent or when pushed/forced, the 24pin power cord which is close to to those slots might have caused some damage. Of course a clear CMOS also might be tried. Then RMA.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,346 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#11
inspect the socket for bent pins asrock seems to have a issue with there memory slots not working due to bad sockets
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#12
If a channel as a whole isn't working and there are no physical deformities you can see on the motherboard it could be a channel on the IMC on your processor, but I would guess that it is the motherboard before that.
 

syedimty

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#13
Problem solved :D

Hey you guys are right. The problem was with the mobo socket,
I took my proccy out of mobo today. To check the cpu socket. What i found was a bent pin.
I carefully made the pin straight. Now all four ram slots working fine.
No i am running my rams on slot a1 and b1 :D.

Thanks a lot guys.

For everyone who planing to buy Asrock z77 Extreme :
I searched online everyhwere. Many reporting that mobo having faulty ram slots. So beware.
 
Last edited:

syedimty

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#14
inspect the socket for bent pins asrock seems to have a issue with there memory slots not working due to bad sockets
Thanks man, this helped. It was indeed bent pin. Cant thank you enough

Hey guys, how to give reputation
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#15
Thanks man, this helped. It was indeed bent pin. Cant thank you enough

Hey guys, how to give reputation
Boom goes the dynamite. :p
Glad to hear that it was only a bent pin. I remember when I took out my cooler off of the motherboard with my Phenom II 940, I ended up ripping the CPU out of the socket (another reason why I love LGA and Intel's retaining bracket (SB-E has two brackets that lock together on each side!)) and I ended up bending about 30 pins on it (!!). Took me an hour but I straightened them all out.

The "Thanks" button is like reputation on other sites. It's just based on the particular post.

Let that baby fly and have fun. :cool:
 

syedimty

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#16
@Aquinus thanks mate :D.
Thanked everyone helped.

@MODS - Please add [solved] to thread title, so others having same problem can refer this thread
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
1,645 (0.46/day)
Likes
217
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Current
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia
Memory 2x4G G-skill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage 128 Crucial M4, 1 TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) Shimian Achieva 27"
Case Corsair 400R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsais HX-620
Software Windows 7
#17
Wasn't aware it was a consistent problem with this board. Glad that was the solution!
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#18
OneMoar gets a cookie! :D

Title changed to [Solved] as requested.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,346 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#19
I have seen quiet a few complaints of asrock boards with dimm slot issues because of faulty sockets seems to be a common issue with asrock boards shame because there dam good boards at a affordable price. then again hard to say how many of the complaints are a factory defect and what ones are user error
always install the CPU strait down never tip it in or slide in it always set it in strait and square [<^>]
 
Last edited: