• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[Solved] Bricked HD 7850 (Wrong ID) (Adapter not found) Need help

romain895

New Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2015
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#1
Hello,

I flashed my HD 7850 with a wrong bios and now I can't manage to recover the bios.
Results of some commands I tried:
atiflash -ai: Adapter not found
atiflash -ai 0: Adapter not found
atiflash -ai 1: Adapter not found
I also tried with AtiWinFlash the result is still the same...

I heard about something that could be done to trick the card using a wire but I have no idea how to do it

I uploaded some pictures of my graphics card (SAPPHIRE HD7850 OC).
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,909 (4.00/day)
Likes
11,180
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#2
from what i recall hearing from others, your best bet is to
#1 get the factory bios for Your card(if you dont already have it.
#2 get a second working GPU to install in a second PCIE port, You need a working one, and the broken one in the SAME motherboard @ the Same time.
#3 display out of Working card....once up and running Flash Busted GPU with Factory BIOS....Shut down, remove newer working card, put busted card in "0" or Main position , reboot, and Should be good.
#4 for More info, there MUST be hundreds of threads JUST like this one, but for other cards, either way though, the solution is the same. Look HERE ignore the top post, its yours

Good Luck.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
6,528 (4.38/day)
Likes
3,880
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#3
With the card in your system, flick the dual BIOS switch to the other one, boot up then restore the one that you corrupted.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,896 (4.38/day)
Likes
6,042
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#4
With the card in your system, flick the dual BIOS switch to the other one, boot up then restore the one that you corrupted.
If you take a peak at the pictures, it doesn't look like the OP has a second BIOS or a switch to control it.

@romain895 : You said that you ran those commands in attempt to recover it. I take it you got the machine to boot with another GPU on another PCI-E slot?

If the card isn't detected, you're in bad shape.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
6,528 (4.38/day)
Likes
3,880
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#5
If you take a peak at the pictures, it doesn't look like the OP has a second BIOS or a switch to control it.
The last picture clearly shows the bios switch, I saw it after taking a peek at the pictures, that's why I mentioned it.
It's right beside the crossfire connection.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,896 (4.38/day)
Likes
6,042
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#6
The last picture clearly shows the bios switch, I saw it after taking a peek at the pictures, that's why I mentioned it.
It's right beside the crossfire connection.
Touche. It's hard to see with how blurry the pictures are. That's probably what the OP should try.
 

romain895

New Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2015
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#7
The last picture clearly shows the bios switch, I saw it after taking a peek at the pictures, that's why I mentioned it.
It's right beside the crossfire connection.
Oh my goodness, it worked !

All I did was to switch the button !

I'm using the second bios, how can I manage to restore the first one ?

PS: For those of you who have the same problem as me here's a picture on which you can see the switch button.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,909 (4.00/day)
Likes
11,180
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#8
when it comes to bios altering, its best to Do the research First, Then the actual switching....Im glad it worked out for You.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,896 (4.38/day)
Likes
6,042
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#9
Oh my goodness, it worked !

All I did I switch the button !

I'm using the second bios, how can I manage to restore the first one ?

PS: For those of you who have the same problem as me here's a picture on which you can see the switch button.
Once the machine is booted and in Windows. Switch the BIOS back to the first and flash. That *should* fix the first BIOS. The BIOS only needs to be intact to boot, once you're booted, you can switch it and do some magic.

@jboydgolfer is right though. You really need to be more careful when doing this. You got lucky. Hopefully your heart sank enough to teach you a valuable lesson without hurting your wallet. :)
 

CAPSLOCKSTUCK

Spaced Out Lunar Tick
Joined
Feb 26, 2013
Messages
8,579 (4.10/day)
Likes
18,449
Location
llaregguB...WALES
System Name Party On
Processor Xeon w 3520
Motherboard DFI Lanparty
Cooling Big tower thing
Memory 6 gb Ballistix Tracer
Video Card(s) HD 7970
Case a plank of wood
Audio Device(s) seperate amp and 6 big speakers
Power Supply Corsair
Mouse cheap
Keyboard under going restoration
#10

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,896 (4.38/day)
Likes
6,042
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
Top