• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

[Solved] CPU temperature?

Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
330 (0.19/day)
Likes
77
#1
I water cooled my PC today. It does not leak, but I think I may have done something wrong.

Before with the heat sink and fan I got about 30C on all cores
Now I get about 28-30C on 2 cores (0 and 3) and 32-40 on 4 cores (1, 2, 4, and 5)
I am using CPUID HWMonitor to watch the temps.

It also jumps up about 20C under load.

Not sure if I messed up on the thermal paste or if the block is does not sit on the CPU just right.
I am getting ready to start overclocking my PC but I wanted to make sure the new cooling system would work correctly 1st.

I will update my PC info for today's changes.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,481 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,640
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#2
tighten all the screws 1st if not

remove and re seat your cpu cooler/block.

its uneven
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,481 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,640
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#4
Will try that, how tight should they be?

use fingers till you cant turn them anymore then a slight tiny turn more with a screw driver all evenly turned
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
330 (0.19/day)
Likes
77
#5
tightened the screws and it helped, 1, 3 are the same @28-30C, and the rest are 29-34C. I am not 100% sure I installed the CPU block correctly. It does have the correct bracket but no instructions to install it on socket 2011 CPUs.

EDIT
I looked at the instructions again, and I installed the CPU block following the instructions with the exception that I used the provided studs that attach to the 2011 socket instead of the screws that were provided for other sockets.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,481 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,640
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#6
Might want to use some fresh thermal paste and re seat it later.

Yeah the screws sometimes are confusing in a multipack, you sometimes get a tiny mm gap.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
330 (0.19/day)
Likes
77
#7
I used new thermal paste when I installed it earlier. Sorry I always leave something out, but I don't know why. The CPU block uses giant thumb nuts (for lack of a better term) to hold it on, It may still need to be tighter but I cant do that with my fingers.

PS
I disabled c stepping and turbo boost correctly this time (I forgot to hit save last time...), now core 0 is about 31-33C cores 1-5 area about 33-36C
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,481 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,640
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#8
There you go looks just about even temps now. From what I know of intel chips, always 1-2 core run slightly higher temp than the rest.

Also don't forget cure time on your paste, the temps should drop a few degree usually after a day or so.

So no worries now
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,481 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,640
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#10
What temps would be acceptable for load?
I'm not familiar with that chip, but my rule is no more than 20 degrees over idle when under load/stressed.

Hopefully some lurkers with give proper temp input on this for you.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,338 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,950
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#11
anything under a 90c is fine also its haswell so a few of the cores will run warmer then others
come on natr0n you should know that
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
330 (0.19/day)
Likes
77
#12
What about Ivy Bridge-E? I ran IntelBurntest on High (Not sure if there is something better) and it ran for about 7 minutes highest temp I saw was 60c
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,338 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,950
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#13
What about Ivy Bridge-E? I ran IntelBurntest on High (Not sure if there is something better) and it ran for about 7 minutes highest temp I saw was 60c
all of intel's chips of the last few years are spec`d to 100c
tho generally its wiser to keep them below that anything under 85c is nominal
welcome to TPU fellow chevy owner
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
330 (0.19/day)
Likes
77
#14
What is the vcore on this CPU I have been reading it is 1.3 something, but I cant find it. I am also seeing that the motherboard has it at 1.110.
Not sure what I did wrong here. The bios remembers the changes but they don't seem to take effect.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,338 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,950
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#15
What is the vcore on this CPU I have been reading it is 1.3 something, but I cant find it. I am also seeing that the motherboard has it at 1.110.
Not sure what I did wrong here. The bios remembers the changes but they don't seem to take effect.
the 1.3v setting is most likely the load line calibration kicking in that ups the voltage as load increases 1.3 is a bit overkill for stock clocks try reducing the load line calibration and vcore target tho if you simply up the multiplyer
or you can simply raise the multiplier 1.3v should be good for 4.5Ghz or so
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
330 (0.19/day)
Likes
77
#16
I cant seem to get any change to clock speeds to be used. The setting changes are seen in the bios, but are not used anywhere.
I wanted to know about the vcore for reference, as I could not find it online.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,338 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,950
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#17
being a asus board you may need to disable the AI suite stuff in the bios
I cant seem to get any change to clock speeds to be used. The setting changes are seen in the bios, but are not used anywhere.
I wanted to know about the vcore for reference, as I could not find it online.
setting explained for your board here
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/x79-extreme4-dx79to-p9x79-benchmark,3138-5.html
make sure you aren't using any of that Automagic overclocking crap asus cramms into there firmware set everthing on manual if its not it would explain why nothing is sticking
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
330 (0.19/day)
Likes
77
#18
No I'm not using the auto overclock stuff. I don't know if it is because of a different bios version or motherboard model but I don't have most of the settings that your link was referring to.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
330 (0.19/day)
Likes
77
#20
The final result on what fixed the temperatures is here.

As noted before there the cpu block was uneven, but in addition to that I did not use enough thermal paste.
After re-applying the thermal paste using the needed amount the temperature are now about 26-28C at factory speeds.