• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Some icons missing in W7

Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.55/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
#1
Why are some of my icons missing? Not just the shortcuts of those pinned in the start menu, the programs themselves lost their icons. Yet other times they re-appear.

 
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
508 (0.20/day)
Likes
108
Location
Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
System Name Frankenstein v7
Processor Intel i7 2600K (@ stock)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 7870 WindForce 2GB
Storage Samsung F3 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung S24C750
Case Antec P280
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Pro - 64-bit
#2
It's a W7 bug I haven't found a way around yet either..
Most of the time it's all fine, but, of all things, the GPU-Z icon disappears at a steady rate of once a week.
I use Icon Cache Rebuilder if this happens.
A nuisance, for sure :/
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.55/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
#3
3 days ago the ones with missing icons were CPU-Z, GPU-Z, HWMonitor, Realtemp and CCleaner. :laugh:

I'll be trying that out then.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,666 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,247
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#4
This sounds like the old icon cache bug in XP which has been around for years and has no cure. I can't believe it's still around. Microsoft? :mad: :slap:

I haven't noticed this in 7 and I've been applying all the patches since day one. Are you applying all the patches?
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.55/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
#5
This sounds like the old icon cache bug in XP which has been around for years and has no cure. I can't believe it's still around. Microsoft? :mad: :slap:

I haven't noticed this in 7 and I've been applying all the patches since day one. Are you applying all the patches?
The only thing I haven't applied yet is the Service Pack itself. :p
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
508 (0.20/day)
Likes
108
Location
Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
System Name Frankenstein v7
Processor Intel i7 2600K (@ stock)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 7870 WindForce 2GB
Storage Samsung F3 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung S24C750
Case Antec P280
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Pro - 64-bit
#6
This sounds like the old icon cache bug in XP which has been around for years and has no cure. I can't believe it's still around. Microsoft? :mad: :slap:

I haven't noticed this in 7 and I've been applying all the patches since day one. Are you applying all the patches?
Agreed.
I run all the updates as they come out, but this bug is still there :/
Minor, but still intrusive.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,666 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,247
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#7
The only thing I haven't applied yet is the Service Pack itself. :p
That's a pretty big "only thing"! :eek: lol Apply it without delay, regardless of this bug or not. Just make sure to have a backup of your data first.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.11/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#8
Same here, a pinned icon looked ugly as yours and I deleted it. Have 7 retail since a week SP1 and updated but still dabbling in it coming from Vista Ultimate. I would like to keep my desktop as clean as possible so I pin the progs I normally everyday use and run others by searching them. All our games run from Steam so no need to shortcut to desktop.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.73/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#9
I had it on an old install. There is a way of increasing the allotted amount of icons allowed and a simple batch file that can be created to refresh them all back. I can not for the life of me find the links I used before, sorry.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
508 (0.20/day)
Likes
108
Location
Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
System Name Frankenstein v7
Processor Intel i7 2600K (@ stock)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 7870 WindForce 2GB
Storage Samsung F3 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung S24C750
Case Antec P280
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Pro - 64-bit
#10
I had it on an old install. There is a way of increasing the allotted amount of icons allowed and a simple batch file that can be created to refresh them all back. I can not for the life of me find the links I used before, sorry.
As far as I know, it's actually a case of Windows 'forgetting' where the icon is and never bothers with looking for it (or bothering to apply it after a manual search). The amount of cache doesn't seem to be an issue as such in W7 (it's, supposedly, dynamic).
However.. one never knows for sure I suppose :/
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,666 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,247
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#11
It's amazing how they can't fix a little thing like this. I mean, they fix lots of other stupid bugs and have advanced features in their software, so why they can't manage a tiddly thing like this is a mystery to me.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
508 (0.20/day)
Likes
108
Location
Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
System Name Frankenstein v7
Processor Intel i7 2600K (@ stock)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 7870 WindForce 2GB
Storage Samsung F3 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung S24C750
Case Antec P280
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Pro - 64-bit
#12
It's amazing how they can't fix a little thing like this. I mean, they fix lots of other stupid bugs and have advanced features in their software, so why they can't manage a tiddly thing like this is a mystery to me.
Good point.
Perhaps.. not enough people have made MS aware of it?
From memory, less than 10% of user-based complaints = no change in policy.
So.. who knows?
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.73/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#13
As far as I know, it's actually a case of Windows 'forgetting' where the icon is and never bothers with looking for it (or bothering to apply it after a manual search). The amount of cache doesn't seem to be an issue as such in W7 (it's, supposedly, dynamic).
However.. one never knows for sure I suppose :/
Oh right I suppose Windows is getting on a bit now, I forget why I walked into a room sometimes :laugh:

That said, the batch file and cache size actually prevented any icons going missing again so it was doing something right:)
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
508 (0.20/day)
Likes
108
Location
Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
System Name Frankenstein v7
Processor Intel i7 2600K (@ stock)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 7870 WindForce 2GB
Storage Samsung F3 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung S24C750
Case Antec P280
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Pro - 64-bit
#14
Oh right I suppose Windows is getting on a bit now, I forget why I walked into a room sometimes :laugh:

That said, the batch file and cache size actually prevented any icons going missing again so it was doing something right:)
Sweet :)
Now, if only you could remember those links :p