• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Some Sapphire Radeon HD 7870 Cards Affected by "Black Screen" Issue

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,332 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
According to an investigative report by BeHardware, some Sapphire-made Radeon HD 7870 GHz Edition graphics cards may be affected by a "black screen" issue. Some Sapphire HD 7870 users could notice random screen blackouts. A collaboration with AMD unveiled the cause of the screen blackouts to be caused due to a "noisy" GPU electrical signal (voltage is controlled by pulse-width modulation). The cause for GPU electrical signal noise is found to be bad quality ceramic capacitors responsible for conditioning power to the GPU.

Show full news post
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,197 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#2
so R2 boards are in the works and if a R1 is affected to immediately RMA it. Good Stuff, Atleast AMD is actually taking responsibility and same with Sapphire
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#3
I was so close to buying a Sapphire HD7870.
Went for ASUS instead but still the drivers are flaky.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,197 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#4
perhaps it was your choice of video card, aka Asus...
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#5
perhaps it was your choice of video card, aka Asus...
There are threads on the issue of graphic anomalies with the 7xxx series in various forums.
All varying to different degrees based on the card model, game and driver version.

Sapphire's cards also exhibit the same graphic anomalies but also black screen with any card made before May this year.

I would have purchased a Sapphire HD7870 due to never having problems with them, but saw the ASUS model on special.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,197 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#6
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#7
so anomalies even with the beta 4 of the Never Settle Driver (12.11)?

Seems most at this topic have no complaints of any graphic corruption or even blankouts?

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=173865
12.10 and 12.11 beta show significant flickering and corruption in Skyrim and Tribes: Ascend while other games do not from my experience.
12.8 will show a black poly for less than half a second on rare occasion in Skyrim and Tribes: Ascend.

People have RMA'ed their cards to find the replaced card has the same issue.

This thread at GURU 3D is one of the two there which is all about the flickering.
There are probably links within that thread going to other forums as well.
i think there is a forum over in Germany talkng about the issue as well.

AMD forums have been removing threads on the topic for a while now not that there is any evidence besides dead links left by posters of other forums.
There are videos on youtube about the issue.
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
615 (0.32/day)
Likes
75
System Name [WIP]
Processor Intel Pentium G3420 [i7-4790K SOON(tm)]
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling [Corsair H100i]
Memory G.Skill TridentX 2x8GB-2400-CL10 DDR3
Video Card(s) [MSI AMD Radeon R9-290 Gaming]
Storage Seagate 2TB Desktop SSHD / [Samsung 256GB 840 PRO]
Display(s) [BenQ XL2420Z]
Case [Corsair Obsidian 750D]
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro / Linux Mint 15 / SteamOS
#8
I never had issues like these while I benched and played with a friend's R7870 a while back, ran plenty of games on it, don't think TES V was one of them tho... or maybe it was, or maybe I'm thinking of my old GF8800GTS 320 on my ex's PC, damn I miss having my own rig.

Soon...
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#9
I could replace all the capacitors on the card within an hour, it is very simple.

Atleast they are making up for it, and 'relaxing their RMA policy'
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
2,736 (0.73/day)
Likes
856
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
#10
12.10 and 12.11 beta show significant flickering and corruption in Skyrim and Tribes: Ascend while other games do not from my experience.
12.8 will show a black poly for less than half a second on rare occasion in Skyrim and Tribes: Ascend.

People have RMA'ed their cards to find the replaced card has the same issue.
Disabling anistrophic, surface format, and trilinear optimizations probably fixes this. I would rarely see that on T:A and figured it was due to my OC. I've had the optimizations disabled for a while (definitely improves quality on T:A) and haven't seen it.

Although, that unreal engine is bad, and the devs should feel bad.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2011
Messages
149 (0.07/day)
Likes
30
Processor Intel i7-3770k
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V LX
Cooling GeminII S524
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz
Video Card(s) R9 290 with NZXT G10
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 120Gb, 1.5 TB Seagate Barracuda, 3TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 27" Achieva Shimian
Case NZXT Switch 810
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W
#11
And here I thought it was an issue with my monitor...
 
Joined
May 13, 2008
Messages
538 (0.15/day)
Likes
146
System Name HTPC whhaaaat?
Processor 2600k @ 4500mhz
Motherboard Asus Maximus IV gene-z gen3
Cooling Noctua NH-C14
Memory Gskill Ripjaw 2x4gb
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 FTW @ 2037/11016
Storage 2x512GB MX100/1x Agility 3 128gb ssds, Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Vizio P 65'' 4k tv
Case Lian Li pc-c50b
Audio Device(s) Denon 3311
Power Supply Corsair 620HX
#12
Holy crap...Oddly enough I'm glad to hear this is an actual issue and not something I was mucking up.

I have a Powercolor 7870 (that originally came with the stock amd cooler), and almost certain this issue has happened twice. I kept messing with my HDMI cable and checking the seating of the card trying to figure out what the hell was going on...thinking perhaps I had lost the ability to do simple tasks like installing a video card, until it finally came on. Up until yesterday, it worked fine...when it happened again on a restart. I messed with the cable again, and the seating...and it magically came back on. I was pretty sure everything was fine before-hand since it's pretty hard to screw up plugging in an hdmi cable...now I'm sure of it.

Thanks TPU for reporting on the issue.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,197 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#13
Holy crap...Oddly enough I'm glad to hear this is an actual issue and not something I was mucking up.

I have a Powercolor 7870 (that originally came with the stock amd cooler), and almost certain this issue has happened twice. I kept messing with my HDMI cable and checking the seating of the card trying to figure out what the hell was going on...thinking perhaps I had lost the ability to do simple tasks like installing a video card, until it finally came on. Up until yesterday, it worked fine...when it happened again on a restart. I messed with the cable again, and the seating...and it magically came back on. I was pretty sure everything was fine before-hand since it's pretty hard to screw up plugging in an hdmi cable...now I'm sure of it.

Thanks TPU for reporting on the issue.
HDMI cable connections are weak and sensitive. But Id say request an RMA then. thats all you gotta do, just record your pn and sn down before sending it off
 
Joined
May 13, 2008
Messages
538 (0.15/day)
Likes
146
System Name HTPC whhaaaat?
Processor 2600k @ 4500mhz
Motherboard Asus Maximus IV gene-z gen3
Cooling Noctua NH-C14
Memory Gskill Ripjaw 2x4gb
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 FTW @ 2037/11016
Storage 2x512GB MX100/1x Agility 3 128gb ssds, Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Vizio P 65'' 4k tv
Case Lian Li pc-c50b
Audio Device(s) Denon 3311
Power Supply Corsair 620HX
#14
HDMI cable connections are weak and sensitive. But Id say request an RMA then. thats all you gotta do, just record your pn and sn down before sending it off
Totally true in all respects.

The card has been working fine in games...and while you are absolutely right hdmi cables/connections can be flaky, this set (I tried two) has worked fine for a long time. I used to use the current one on my ps3 for over a year. I'm fairly certain the issue is related to this, as the screen did randomly display a very unsettling 'not-off black' while the tv still registered a connection to the port. It also automagically turned back on afaict. I'll wait for it to happen again, and if it does will probably follow that advice.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,197 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#15
Totally true in all respects.

The card has been working fine in games...and while you are absolutely right hdmi cables/connections can be flaky, this set (I tried two) has worked fine for a long time. I used to use the current one on my ps3 for over a year. I'm fairly certain the issue is related to this, as the screen did randomly display a very unsettling 'not-off black' while the tv still registered a connection to the port. It also automagically turned back on afaict. I'll wait for it to happen again, and if it does will probably follow that advice.
ya ever since 1080p became big etc EDID tables have been way off too. normally black screens for me atleast meant either refresh or resolution was being changed.

this is just a reason why I buy a Separate monitor and then a TV.
 
Joined
May 13, 2008
Messages
538 (0.15/day)
Likes
146
System Name HTPC whhaaaat?
Processor 2600k @ 4500mhz
Motherboard Asus Maximus IV gene-z gen3
Cooling Noctua NH-C14
Memory Gskill Ripjaw 2x4gb
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 FTW @ 2037/11016
Storage 2x512GB MX100/1x Agility 3 128gb ssds, Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Vizio P 65'' 4k tv
Case Lian Li pc-c50b
Audio Device(s) Denon 3311
Power Supply Corsair 620HX
#16
ya ever since 1080p became big etc EDID tables have been way off too. normally black screens for me atleast meant either refresh or resolution was being changed.

this is just a reason why I buy a Separate monitor and then a TV.

What really I need to do is get off my ass and go back to dvi/audio out like I was before...it's what most people do that use this tv (it's a pretty popular option on AVS) as a monitor. I have been trying hdmi out just to see if the clutter convenience was worth it considering most of the edid issues have been worked out these days so there is little compromise. If nothing else, it may isolate my particular issue. Sorry for thread-jacking peeps!

FWIW, I totally respect the desktop devotees...was one for years. Now I really dig sitting on my couch with a keyboard remote most of the time (like now). If need-be I can still grab my keyboard/mouse off the shelf,raise the top of the coffee table, and game in a similar way. It's truly worth it for the media convenience imho.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,197 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#17
What really I need to do is get off my ass and go back to dvi/audio out like I was before so...it's what most people do that use this tv (it's a pretty popular option on AVS) as a monitor. I have been trying hdmi out just to see if the clutter convenience was worth it considering most of the edid issues have been worked out these days so there is little compromise. If nothing else, it may isolate my particular issue. Sorry for thread-jacking peeps!

FWIW, I totally respect the desktop devotees...was one for years. Now I really dig sitting on my couch with a keyboard remote most of the time (like now). If need-be I can still grab my keyboard/mouse off the shelf,raise the top of the coffee table, and game in a similar way. It's truly worth it for the media convenience imho.
nah this pertains to the flash etc no worries
 
Joined
May 13, 2008
Messages
538 (0.15/day)
Likes
146
System Name HTPC whhaaaat?
Processor 2600k @ 4500mhz
Motherboard Asus Maximus IV gene-z gen3
Cooling Noctua NH-C14
Memory Gskill Ripjaw 2x4gb
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 FTW @ 2037/11016
Storage 2x512GB MX100/1x Agility 3 128gb ssds, Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Vizio P 65'' 4k tv
Case Lian Li pc-c50b
Audio Device(s) Denon 3311
Power Supply Corsair 620HX
#18
nah this pertains to the flash etc no worries
Ah, I follow what you're saying now. I don't think this was that, as I've certainly dealt with that before and this occurred during strectches I had not messed with any settings, but it's always possible. I am one of those guys constantly messing with everything though (as you say lining up edid, getting rid of panel processing etc can kind of be a fickle chore) so I can't rule out that having something to do with it. Perhaps I'll just stop messing with it for a while. :laugh:

Either way, regardless if the core issue of this thread pertains to me or not...guess those capacitors replacements MSI et al pushes are doing somebody some tangible good!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,625 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#19
My 7970 is in RMA right now for a black screen problem.Might not only be 7870s
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#20
I could replace all the capacitors on the card within an hour, it is very simple.

Atleast they are making up for it, and 'relaxing their RMA policy'
They have to "relax" an RMA policy to deal with a defective product? Don't most companies cover defective products with their standard RMA service? :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
3,112 (1.16/day)
Likes
1,553
System Name The "Oh shit we have competition"
Processor Core i7 8700K @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Ultra Gaming
Cooling Custom WC & 240MM Rad
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4 DDR4 2666Mhz 16GB
Video Card(s) Palit Jetstream GTX 1080 OC 8GB
Storage 5TB HDDs + 1TB SSDs
Display(s) U2713HM + 2433T + XL2430T 144Hz
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Antec Edge 750W
Mouse The almighty Logitech G400
Keyboard Cougar 600K Cherry-MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Pro
#21
My HD7970 Vapor-X Ghz Ed. Exploded for no reason....

:(
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2011
Messages
149 (0.07/day)
Likes
30
Processor Intel i7-3770k
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V LX
Cooling GeminII S524
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz
Video Card(s) R9 290 with NZXT G10
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 120Gb, 1.5 TB Seagate Barracuda, 3TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 27" Achieva Shimian
Case NZXT Switch 810
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W
#22
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,625 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#23
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#24
Anyone know if I just email rma@althonmicro.com about the issue?
Start a thread in Sapphire for8ums as well.
hopefully the fanboi members will not try and blame every other part of your PC at fault or attempt to say who ever made your PC is lacking in skill.

Will be lucky to get a response but yeah doesn't hurt.
Best to go through the vender you bought the card from or find a way to RMA with Sapphire.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,625 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#25
Start a thread in Sapphire for8ums as well.
hopefully the fanboi members will not try and blame every other part of your PC at fault or attempt to say who ever made your PC is lacking in skill.



Will be lucky to get a response but yeah doesn't hurt.
Best to go through the vender you bought the card from or find a way to RMA with Sapphire.
I currently have a RMA with saphi re so I do know how it works with them. All their RMA's go through Althonmicro. I talked to sapphire support first, who then sent me to althon micro. Althon responded in less than an hour. My 7970 is currently with them in Los Angeles and I am awaiting any news.