• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

soundbar?

CD82

New Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2019
Messages
4 (0.09/day)
Likes
0
#1
so I am looking at getting a sound bar it is the LG SK6y with Dolby Virtual X they can also be upgraded with satalite spakers
I have a decent little gaming system built with the Asus Maximus Hero X it has the supreme fx audio..
so im wondering if this little set up might sound decent for gaming is all...
are there any unlocked drivers for my mb that support the dolby virtual x?
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
19,039 (4.34/day)
Likes
7,089
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.IV
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x Corsair ML120 Pro |3x ML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#2
If thats what suits your needs and sense of style then get it. Hook it up via TOSLink or a spare HDMi port on your graphics card.

By the looks of it, Virtual X is a very new tech, supposedly competing with Dolby Atmos. I doubt any sound card manufacturer will have support for that yet. However, most sound cards released in the last 5-10years still have a Dolby Virtual Surround feature. I dont know if this helps your endeavours but if i was to guess, they are basically the same tech. upmixing 2.1 channels into a 'fake' or 'virtual' 5.1 -- Not a setting youd really want for gaming TBH. You always what to hear which direction your enemy is coming from and fake 5.1 from 2.1 speakers wont give you that edge.

I digress. it really depends on what your needs, wants and desires are when it comes to how you use your PC and what games you play.
 

CD82

New Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2019
Messages
4 (0.09/day)
Likes
0
#3
I may play one or two first person shooters not really big on them anymore..
I mainly play WoW and the sound bar does come with a TOSLink.
there are a separate satalite speakers I can get that connect to this sound bar as well
i also use the computer to listen to music..
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
19,039 (4.34/day)
Likes
7,089
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.IV
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x Corsair ML120 Pro |3x ML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#4
its totally upto you. the greatest thing about that LG is when you get bored of it you can plug it into your TV or hook your gaming console upto it if you have one. Its $380 USD though, you'd probably be better off buying an entry level AV receiver for the same money. Tonnes of more connections and a lot better sound too. The downside is the main unit is about the side of two old VCRs taped together.
 

CD82

New Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2019
Messages
4 (0.09/day)
Likes
0
#5
I have an av receiver hooked up to my tv polk audio speakers etc...
just looking for something standalone for my computer to replace my older set up
thought about trying a sound bar
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
19,039 (4.34/day)
Likes
7,089
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.IV
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x Corsair ML120 Pro |3x ML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#6
If you got the money to burn then go for it. Otherwise maybe look at getting a Klipsch 2.1 set up if they are available in your region.
 

CD82

New Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2019
Messages
4 (0.09/day)
Likes
0
#7
shoot I really wish dolby atmos card or something would get release lol .. thanks for the info im still deciding
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
19,039 (4.34/day)
Likes
7,089
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.IV
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x Corsair ML120 Pro |3x ML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#8
shoot I really wish dolby atmos card or something would get release lol .. thanks for the info im still deciding
Get a receiver that supports Atmos, Problem solved. I doubt that will ever be a tech that is introduced to sound cards. Im not sure why. You normally find it on AV receivers so im guessing the hardware needed to process atmos is beyond what can be put on a regular sound card.
 

INSTG8R

My Custom Title
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,420 (1.03/day)
Likes
2,458
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#9
Get a receiver that supports Atmos, Problem solved. I doubt that will ever be a tech that is introduced to sound cards. Im not sure why. You normally find it on AV receivers so im guessing the hardware needed to process atmos is beyond what can be put on a regular sound card.
Technically you can buy it for Win10 on the store. I have no use for it but it’s available anyway.
 

Frederik S

Staff
Staff member
Joined
Mar 30, 2006
Messages
1,288 (0.27/day)
Likes
501
#10
Soundbars with virtual surround only really work when the room gives good reflections and you sit in the sweet spot. Some have calibration software but there is only so much you can do with beam forming. A good active speaker setup will run circles around most sound bars when it comes to stereo playback and in quite a few cases 2-channel will sound better for games. Mixing for Atmos is super complicated and since there is no standard for the playback devices you get very different results from the different speakers.
 
Top