• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Speed up Vista boot time on dual/quad core CPU's

Oliver_FF

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
544 (0.13/day)
Likes
65
Processor Intel q9400 @ stock
Motherboard Lanparty P45-T2RS
Cooling Zalman CNPS-9500
Memory 8GB OCZ PC2-6400
Video Card(s) BFG Nvidia GTX285 OC
Storage 1TB, 500GB, 500GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung T200HD
Case Antec Mini P180
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply 700w Hiper
Software Ubuntu x64 virtualising Vista
#1
One of my mates (total MS fanboy) found this on a Microsoft blog someplace:

1. Start -> Run
2. Type "msconfig" and hit Ok
3. Go to the Boot tab
4. Click Advanced Options
5. Tick the box by "Number of Processors"
6. If you're running a dual core, pick 2 - if you're running a quad, pick 4
7. Restart Vista
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#2
does this actually make a difference? Wouldnt vista auto-detect it anyway?
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.24/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#3
One of my mates (total MS fanboy) found this on a Microsoft blog someplace:

1. Start -> Run
2. Type "msconfig" and hit Ok
3. Go to the Boot tab
4. Click Advanced Options
5. Tick the box by "Number of Processors"
6. If you're running a dual core, pick 2 - if you're running a quad, pick 4
7. Restart Vista
Nifty, don't notice any difference, but nifty nonetheless.
 

Oliver_FF

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
544 (0.13/day)
Likes
65
Processor Intel q9400 @ stock
Motherboard Lanparty P45-T2RS
Cooling Zalman CNPS-9500
Memory 8GB OCZ PC2-6400
Video Card(s) BFG Nvidia GTX285 OC
Storage 1TB, 500GB, 500GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung T200HD
Case Antec Mini P180
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply 700w Hiper
Software Ubuntu x64 virtualising Vista
#4
My laptop with an early dual core boots much much much faster, it sits on the blue/green "Please Wait" screen for maybe 6 seconds? Beats the h3ll out of like 20 previously :D
 

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.74/day)
Likes
379
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
#5
Kewl, don't want to boot now, but did do that :)
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,817 (0.80/day)
Likes
604
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
#6
Nice: have yet to restart, though!

Question: does the memory tab have any effect (more/less RAM)?
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#7
will do a comparison now. Mine boots pretty fast as it is, but I'm not saying no to it being faster!
 

Oliver_FF

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
544 (0.13/day)
Likes
65
Processor Intel q9400 @ stock
Motherboard Lanparty P45-T2RS
Cooling Zalman CNPS-9500
Memory 8GB OCZ PC2-6400
Video Card(s) BFG Nvidia GTX285 OC
Storage 1TB, 500GB, 500GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung T200HD
Case Antec Mini P180
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply 700w Hiper
Software Ubuntu x64 virtualising Vista
#8
Nice: have yet to restart, though!

Question: does the memory tab have any effect (more/less RAM)?
I don't have a clue, but apparently Vista defaults to just one cpu
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2008
Messages
297 (0.09/day)
Likes
36
Location
Serbia, Nis
System Name Fedora-bluesky
Processor Intel P4 531+ @ 3.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P5LD2-VM/C
Memory Kingston 2x512MB 667MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte NV8600GT 256MB
Storage WD 640GB
Display(s) ViewSonic 22"
Case Codegen 403
Audio Device(s) integrated Realtek 882
Software Ubuntu, Fedora, Open Source Software...
#10
Then way is there an option to tick it in the first place?!
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,817 (0.80/day)
Likes
604
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
#11
It appears that, after the password has been entered, it loads all the startup progs way faster: it doesn't seem to affect prior to the password entry phase, judging by the only time i restarted, thus far.

EDIT

I unticked the memory option, in my test.
 
Last edited:

Fastmix

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
627 (0.18/day)
Likes
115
Location
The Kingdom of Heaven
#12
I was reading a while ago that if you have more than 2g of ram in vista you could get the green screen on the media center/player but if you tic the ram and enter a lower value for the ram...it fixes the issue.